Tag Archives: john stanisci

They Were Cast Aside, But They May Be the Ones to Save the World in Foundlings

Foundlings

John Stanisci and Emma Kubert have teamed together to create Foundlings, a brand new dystopian young adult comic book series in the vein of Stranger Things and The Goonies, tackling issues of diversability and empowerment. The series follows a group of children cast aside by their families and society…until they were possibly the only ones capable of saving it. Funding exclusively on Kickstarter, and if successful, planned for a full graphic novel, Foundlings is a timely story tackling themes of global politics and ableism in a story that will keep readers on immersed for 28 pages.

The comic is currently being offered through Kickstarter. The campaign ends on November 13 and has an $8,000 goal.

Years in the future, a virus has been weaponized by a Russian government hell-bent on destroying America from within. This deadly new strain has been perfected to kill within 24 hours of contact, and only small groups of children carry immunity to the effects. They are the Foundlings; a diverse group of children under the age of 16, who alone carry the hope for a possible cure, and a solution to extinction.

Foundlings centers around one very special group of kids, all who still dream of the families that long ago abandoned them, and instead find family in each other in order to survive and find a way to save the Earth from destruction. The story is inspired by The Foundlings Hospital in New York City, which is a real-life home to children, many of whom are challenged with physical and emotional issues. The story is rich with themes of empowerment and inspiration for teenagers and adults alike, in a fun adventure story that recalls some of the most beloved films and television series.

Funding exclusively through this Kickstarter campaign is a self-contained comic book story, published in a 28 page, full-color comic format, written by John Stanisci, and drawn by Emma Kubert, with two covers available.

Currently on Kickstarter, $5 gets you a digital copy of the comic with $10 getting a “Kickstarter Edition” physical copy. Other tiers feature pins, variants, signed copies, and even the ability to be drawn into the comic.

Preview: The Curse of Brimstone #12

The Curse of Brimstone #12

(W) Justin Jordan (A) Denys Cowan, John Stanisci (CA) Eduardo Pansica
In Shops: Mar 06, 2019
SRP: $2.99

It’s the epic finale! As Brimstone struggles to fight the Dark Multiverse beings who managed to come through from their “home office” to our world, the chance to lift the curse of Brimstone is offered! But with Annie’s life in the grip of the Salesman, Brimstone is forced to choose between his only family left and the sanity left in him.

The Curse of Brimstone #12

Preview: The Curse of Brimstone #11

The Curse of Brimstone #11

(W) Justin Jordan (A) Denys Cowan, John Stanisci (CA) Eduardo Pansica, Julio Ferreira
RATED T
In Shops: Feb 06, 2019
SRP: $2.99

Part one of the epic two-part series finale! After unleashing his raw dark-matter energy and melting Doctor Fate’s helmet, Brimstone’s newfound powers have alerted forces much darker than the ones he’s come across so far. As the home office opens its doors to finally enter into our reality, you’ll never believe the first fiery presence to step through!

The Curse of Brimstone #11

Preview: The Curse of Brimstone #6

The Curse of Brimstone #6

(W) Justin Jordan (A) Denys Cowan, John Stanisci (CA) Philip Tan
In Shops: Sep 05, 2018
SRP: $2.99

Nothing is creepier than possessed children. Wait, no, possessed dolls. Those are worse. Anyway, our heroes Joe and Annie find themselves under assault from a horde of possessed kids, all under the command of the mystical baddie Slackjaw. In reality, Slackjaw’s a possessed child himself, so it might be time to call in Brimstone for an exorcism. Unfortunately, Joe’s having a crisis of conscience because he doesn’t want to fight children, even if they’re possessed by the devil. So how do you stop a child-devil army without hurting the innocent possessed?

John Stanisci’s LifeDeath Debuts on Kickstarter

John Stanisci introduces a graphic novel 20 years in the making today in an exclusive Kickstarter campaign to publish his original science fiction epic, LifeDeath!

In the year 2211, Dr. Emil Heydrich, a fugitive scientist on Mars, discovers that humans invented the afterlife long before man existed on Earth. The ‘afterlife matrix’ is an ancient computer program, an uploading device to preserve human consciousness. After many millennia, that matrix grew to sentience and now, like anything that lives, the afterlife matrix is dying.

Deke Renner, an elite Martian soldier, is slowly going insane. His mind is being torn apart by his memories of a past life where he was Lucet, a Jewish 14 year-old female resistance fighter in World War II. An ancient evil has entered Deke’s past life as Lucet, in hopes of corrupting his past life soul. If it succeeds, and Deke dies in his current life, he will be erased by the Lifedeath. The story takes place over two timelines: the future year of 2211, and the year 1944, during the Jewish uprising of the Warsaw Ghetto. Lifedeath is an action packed thrill ride where the spirit world collides with a future science spiraling out of control.

LifeDeath debuts as a 140 page graphic novel, written and drawn entirely by Stanisci, and produced through LifeDeath Media LLC, co-owned with editor Joseph Navarra. LifeDeath has added three-time Emmy award winner Jared Safier, and veteran actor/producer Stelio Savante to help the graphic novel find a home as a series and to explore its development as a feature.

LifeDeath is currently available exclusively on Kickstarter, with a release slotted for early 2018.

Preview: Judge Dredd: City Limits, Vol. 2

Judge Dredd: City Limits, Vol. 2

Duane Swierczynski (w) • Nelson Daniel, John Stanisci, Staz Johnson, Andy Belanger, Steve Scott, Shane Pierce (a) • Jimbo Salgado (c)

In the 22nd century, crime runs rampant in Mega-City One, home to over 800 million citizens, robots, criminals, and lunatics. The only line of defense between order and chaos are… the Judges. Contains stories such as “The American Way of Death,” “Black Light District,” and “Mega-City Manhunt” from issues #13–30 of the Judge Dredd series as well as all of the short back-ups.

TPB • FC • $34.99 • 404 pages • ISBN: 978-1-63140-770-3

judgedredd_citylimits_02-cover