Tag Archives: Comics

Horizon Zero Dawn Comes to Comics

Titan Comics and Guerrilla embark on an exciting adventure together with their first original comic book series set in the world of the global smash-hit PS4 game Horizon Zero Dawn. The hotly-anticipated debut issue is set to arrive in stores summer 2020 with a cover by superstar artist Stanley “Artgerm” Lau

Set on a far future Earth, where nature has reclaimed the planet but massive, animal-like machines now rule the land, Horizon Zero Dawn follows the story of Aloy, an extraordinary young woman whose quest to solve the riddle of her mysterious origins takes her deep into the ruins of the ancient past.

Released in 2017, Horizon Zero Dawn garnered praise from both fans and critics alike, receiving numerous awards including the 2018 Writers Guild of America Award for Achievement in Videogame Writing and the 2018 BAFTA Games Award for Original Property.

Titan’s new comic book series – co-created by Anne Toole, one of the writers of Horizon Zero Dawn, with artwork by fan-favorite artist Ann Maulina – takes place after the events of the game as Talanah, a strong and determined hunter, struggles to find purpose after her trusted friend Aloy disappears. When a mysterious threat emerges in the wilds, she sets out to hunt and to defeat it, only to learn that a whole new breed of killer machines stalk the land!

Issue #1 is set to debut in comic stores on July 22, 2020, with a range of amazing variant covers to collect, including artwork by superstar artist Stanley “Artgerm” Lau, fan-favorite digital illustrator LoishPeach Momoko, original game art, plus much more! Fans of Horizon Zero Dawn can also look forward to a one-shot prequel comic book, which leads into this brand-new issue #1 to be released as part of Free Comic Book Day 2020

Horizon Zero Dawn #1 hits comic stores and digital devices on July 22, 2020.

Horizon Zero Dawn #1

Preview: Minions Paella!

Minions Paella!

Author(s): Stephane Lapuss
Artist(s): Renaud Collin
Cover Artist(s): Renaud Collin

The Minions are back and they’re going global! Join the world’s most-loved henchmen in an all-new epic adventure of misdeeds and chaos across multiple continents. Mishaps are everywhere in the fifth installment of this hilarious series.

Minions Paella

Preview: Blade Runner 2019 #7

Blade Runner 2019 #7

Author(s): Michael Green, Mike Johnson
Artist(s): Andres Guinaldo
Cover Artist(s): John McCrae (CVR A), Syd Mead (CVR B), Andres Guinaldo (CVR C)

Michael Green, the Oscar-nominated screenwriter for Blade Runner 2049, and co-writer Mike Johnson (Star Trek, Supergirl) continue the smash hit sci-fi comic set in the iconic world of Blade Runner! From the rain soaked dystopic world of Los Angeles 2019 to the never-before-seen promised land of the Off-World colonies, Replicant-hating ex-Blade Runner ASH’s missions take her where no other Blade Runner would dare to go.

Blade Runner 2019 #7

Preview: Shades of Magic – The Steel Prince: The Rebel Army #4

Shades of Magic – The Steel Prince: The Rebel Army #4

Author(s): V. E. Schwab
Artist(s): Andrea Olimpieri, Enrica Eren Angiolini
Cover Artist(s): Jesus Hervas

The Rebel Army (4 of 4). New York Times bestseller V. E. Schwab brings The Steel Prince trilogy to a dramatic conclusion! Prince Maxim finally earns his title and vanquishes his enemies – but at what cost? A canonical prequel to the award-winning fantasy novel series, Shades Of Magic, illustrated by hit art team Andrea Olimpieri (Dishonored) and Enrica Eren Angiolini (Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor)!

Shades of Magic – The Steel Prince: The Rebel Army #4

Preview: Adler #2

Adler #2

Author(s): Lavie Tidhar
Artist(s): Paul McCaffrey
Cover Artist(s): Butch Guice (CVR A), Paul McCaffrey (CVR B), Victorian Homage Cover (CVR C)

After uniting some of the most famous heroines of the Victorian age including Jane Eyre, Miss Havisham and Marie Curie, Irene Adler must finally come face-to-face with Sherlock Holmes’s greatest nemesis, Moriarty!  World Fantasy Award winning writer Lavie Tidhar and TMNT artist Paul McCaffrey present an alternate history of the greatest literary characters of the 19th Century in the vein of Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen!

Adler #2

Preview: Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #3

Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #3

Author(s): Jody Houser
Artist(s): Roberta Ingranata
Cover Artist(s): Karen Hallion (A), Photo Cover (B) Andy Walker (C)

Eisner-nominated writer Jody Houser and Witchblade artist Roberta Ingranata return for a brand new story in the 13th Doctor comic series. The terrifying weeping angels and the mysterious autons are locked in a deadly battle, with Earth caught in the middle. Fan-favorite Tenth Doctor must join forces with the Thirteenth Doctor and risk imploding time, in order to save the human race!

Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #3

Preview: Blade Runner 2019 #6

Blade Runner 2019 #6

Author(s): Michael Green, Mike Johnson
Artist(s): Andres Guinaldo
Cover Artist(s): Rian Hughes (CVR A), Syd Mead (CVR B), Andres Guinaldo (CVR C)

Michael Green, the Oscar-nominated screenwriter for Blade Runner 2049, and co-writer Mike Johnson (Star Trek, Supergirl) begin a new story in the smash hit sci-fi comic set in the iconic world of Blade Runner! Seven years after her disastrous last case, veteran Blade Runner Ash is low on cash and short on options… Illustrated by Andres Guinaldo (Justice League Dark, Captain America).

Blade Runner 2019 #6

Review: Adler #1

Adler #1

Adler #1 is kind of a nerdfest for anyone who enjoys Victorian literature with such luminaries as Jane Eyre, Estella Havisham, the vampire Carmilla, and even Ayesha from H. Rider Haggard’s She. Writer Lavie Tidhar and artist Paul McCaffrey let the women of these (For better or worse) long enduring late 19th century British novels have just as much fun as the male characters as they engage in shoot outs, witty repartee, and cloak and dagger scheming.

The story begins in the dark, PTSD-inducing imperalist haze of the Second Boer War in South Africa, which establishes Jane as a capable protagonist, who is relegated to the position of nurse even though she does the work of a doctor. While Irene Adler is much more verbose, Jane is a keen observer with McCaffrey giving he quick glances and facial expressions that look like processing or deep thinking. She is a sympathetic POV character and is much more than the sidekick that Adler monologues to as shown by the last several intrigue-filled pages.

Paul McCaffrey has already worked on the comic adaptation of Kim Newman’s fantastic Victorian alternate history novel Anno Dracula (Seriously, it kept me awake on a 10 hour drive from Washington, DC to Louisville, Kentucky.) so cobblestone streets, corsets, cravats, and steampunk blimps come naturally to him. His art is easy to follow and is naturalistic, but a little messed up just like Steve Dillon’s work. McCaffrey’s one weakness is a case of same face with the female characters who aren’t Ayesha, but thankfully, he emphasizes their different hair colors and fashion choices. Carmilla has a Goth thing going for her, Irene Adler is more steampunk, and Estella is an upper class mad scientist. Fashion and costume choice definitely helps establish character in Adler #1.

Another amusing part of Adler #1 is how minimized, and honestly pathetic, the role of the male characters are in the narrative. Irene Adler trolls Moriarty, who comes across as a villain of the week instead of a conniving Big Bad like Andrew Scott’s portrayal in BBC’s Sherlock that had the Internet shrieking every time he was even hinted to appear on the screen. Also, Holmes himself is a non-entity that doesn’t even appear on-panel because he’s too busy chasing rumors of giant hounds on the moors. Instead Adler #1 is about the extreme competence of Irene Adler as well as Jane Eyre trying to find her place in early 20th century England while Ayesha and Carmilla scheme and hint at plots just beginning to unravel.

With more of an emphasis on action, flashy, yet readable visuals, and character personality instead of mystery, Adler #1 is wonderful first course into Lavie Tidhar and Paul McCaffrey’s female-fronted world of Victorian character crossovers. The relationship between Jane and Adler is intrigued, there’s some gunplay, and Tidhar and McCaffrey definitely left me wanting more. Adler is a penny dreadful for the 2020s. I’m looking forward to see the relationship between Jane and Irene Adler develop just as much as the next cool late 19th century/early 20th century female historical figure or literary character cameo.

Story: Lavie Tidhar Art: Paul McCaffrey Letters: Simon Bowland
Story: 8.5 Art: 8.0 Overall: 8.3 Recommendation: Buy

Titan Comics provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review

Preview: Tank Girl Full Color Classics #6

Tank Girl Full Color Classics #6

Author(s): Alan Martin
Artist(s): Jamie Hewlett
Cover Artist(s): Jamie Hewlett (A), Jamie Hewlett (B), Jamie Hewlett (C)

Tank Girl creators Alan Martin and Jamie Hewlett (of Gorillaz fame) present the next batch of original stories from the eponymous character’s heyday. Now readers can enjoy these classic stories in glorious full color, whether experiencing them again or for the first time!

Tank Girl Full Color Classics #6

Preview: Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor Year 2 #2

Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor Year 2 #2

Author(s): Jody Houser
Artist(s): Roberta Ingranata
Cover Artist(s): Hannah Templar  (A), Photo Cover (B) Arianna Florean (C) Claudia Ianniciello (D)

Eisner-nominated writer Jody Houser and Witchblade artist Roberta Ingranata return for a brand new story in the 13th Doctor comic series. As the Tenth and Thirteenth Doctor begin to cross timelines, the two become entwined in the machinations of their deadly enemies – the Weeping Angels and the Autons!

Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor Year 2 #2
« Older Entries