Tag Archives: Comics

Titan Reveals Character Sketches and All the Covers For Blade Runner Origins #1

Following the announcement by Titan Comics and Alcon Media Group that a brand new series Blade Runner Origins will be launching on February 24, 2021, they have now revealed the full cover line-up for issue 1 of this new title as well as a first look at two characters from this new series.

Blade Runner Origins is being writtern by DC Comics veteran K. Perkins, and screenwriter Mellow Brown with the award-winning co-writer of Titan’s Blade Runner 2019 Mike Johnson providing script supervision.

Blade Runner Origins
LAPD Detective Cal Moreaux – a war-scarred veteran of the bloody Off-world conflict, called in to investigate the apparent suicide of a Tyrell Corporation scientist
Blade Runner Origins
Ilora Stahl – an executive at the Tyrell Corporation. She’s the head of the research division into Replicant behaviour and the transference of memories.

A senior bioengineer for the Tyrell Corp is found hanging in her sealed laboratory, the victim of an apparent suicide. LAPD Detective Cal Moreaux—a war-scarred veteran of the bloody Off-world conflict known as Kalanthia, as depicted in the “Blackout 2022” Blade Runner anime—is sent to write it up, quickly, quietly and with the minimum of fuss. But something doesn’t sit right with the detective, and it soon becomes apparent that this is anything but a “normal” suicide. Did the scientist’s ground-breaking research on Nexus-model Replicants somehow contribute to her death? And is the apparent disappearance of a prototype Nexus unit also connected to the case? Det. Moreaux’s investigation will draw him into a dark conspiracy behind Dr. Tyrell’s Replicant empire.

Blade Runner Origins #1 will debut with a selection of amazing variant covers, including artwork by artists Peach MomokoStanley “Artgerm” Lau, a set of retro pulp-style covers by Robert Hack as well as covers by Piotr Kowalski and series artist Fernando Dagnino.

Former Blade Runner Ash has Rejoined the LAPD to Hunt Down Fugitive Replicants and it Starts in Blade Runner 2029 #1

It is 2029 and Blade Runner Ash continues to hunt the streets of the rain-soaked dystopian world of Los Angeles for renegade Replicants, but this time she’s trying to protect as many as she can find…

The officially sanctioned graphic novel prequel to the cult 1982 science fiction movie Blade Runner, directed by Ridley Scott. Co-written by the Oscar-nominated writer of Blade Runner 2049, Logan, and Murder on the Orient Express Michael Green and New York Times Bestselling author Mike Johnson. Blade Runner 2029 #1 features art by Andres Guinaldo and covers by Peach Momoko, Syd Mead, Rian Hughes, Giovanni Valletta, and a cosplay cover.

Blade Runner 2029 #1

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

The Recount #1

Wednesdays (and now Tuesdays) are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in!

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this week.

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night #1 (Behemoth Comics) – Bad City is an Iranian ghost town filled with prostitutes, junkies, and pimps, and other sordid souls. A lonely vampire, The Girl, stalks the town’s inhabitants. The concept and unique location have us intrigued to find out more.

Children of the Grave #1 (Scout Comics) – Earth has been reset and the populace lives in bliss receiving all they need from “Providers”. One person wants to find out the truth.

Dead Day #5 (AfterShock) – The series has been amazing at building its world where the dead return for a night.

Frank At Home On the Farm #1 (Scout Comics) – Frank returns from World War I to find his family missing and only the animals waiting for him.

Ginseng Roots #7 (Uncivilized Comics) – Craig Thompson’s exploration of his childhood and ginseng continues. Absolutely amazing work.

Legacy of Mandrake the Magician #2 (Red 5 Comics) – The debut really surprised us and has us excited to read more. It’s a great update to the classic character while honoring what has come before.

The Recount #1 (Scout Comics) – A President is assassinated and the conspirators turn their sites into those who helped get him into power… and that includes ordinary citizens who got him elected. The nation is on the brink of chaos and civil war.

Rorschach #2 (DC Comics/DC Black Label) – The Watchmen follow up had an intriguing start and works better as a straight-up crime/noir/political mystery than Watchmen. We want to see where it goes from its debut and how it all unravels.

Snowpiercer: The Prequel Part 2: Apocalypse (Titan Comics) – The story of how the world plunged into a frozen tundra is revealed.

We Live #2 (AfterShock) – The debut had us in literal tears and we’re excited to dive into more of this world. It’s the end of humanity and children are heading to a pick up point to get off the planet and hopefully survive.

Preview: Life is Strange: Partners in Time #2

Life is Strange: Partners in Time #2

Author(s): Emma Vieceli
Artist(s): Claudia Leonardi, Andrea Izzo
Cover Artist(s): Claudia Leonardi (CVR A), Sarah Graley (CVR B), T-Shirt (CVR C), Iolanda Zanfardino (CVR D)

Max, Chloe and Rachel hit High Noon in Tombstone! As the road trip continues with two simultaneous tours, it’s time for a showdown between Cowboys and… Pirates?

Original creative team returns with acclaimed writer Emma Vieceli (Doctor Who), and fan-favorite artists Claudia Leonardi & Andrea Izzo!

Life is Strange: Partners in Time #2

Preview: Blade Runner 2019 #12

Blade Runner 2019 #12

Author(s): Michael Green, Mike Johnson
Artist(s): Andres Guinaldo
Cover Artist(s):
Cover A: Fernando Dagnino
Cover B: Syd Mead
Cover C: Andres Guinaldo

After six years off-world, ex-Blade Runner Ash has returned to Los Angeles, but now the hunter has become the hunted. New story by Academy award-nominated screenwriter MICHAEL GREEN (Blade Runner 2049, Logan) and co-writer MIKE JOHNSON (Supergirl)!

Blade Runner 2019 #12

Preview: Doctor Who Comics #1

Doctor Who Comics #1

Author(s): Jody Houser
Artist(s): Roberta Ingranata
Cover Artist(s): Peach Momoko (A), Photo Cover (B) Christopher Jones (C) Mirka Andolfo (D) Rachael Stott Doctor Who Comics Day Variant (E) Blank Sketch (F) Peach Momoko Sketch Variant (G)

Doctor Who returns with the comic debut of iconic 70s TV Villain!
After narrowly escaping the Weeping Angels and the Autons in 1960s London,
the Tenth and Thirteenth Doctor must team-up once again to save present-day Earth from being overrun by the classic aquatic villain, the Sea Devils!

Who else can they turn to for help but Rose Tyler: leader of the human resistance!

Doctor Who Comics #1

Preview: Cutting Edge: The Siren’s Song #1

Cutting Edge: The Siren’s Song #1

Author(s): Francesco Dimitri
Artist(s): Mario Alberti
Cover Artist(s): Butch Guice (CVR A), Mario Alberti (CVR B) B&W Variant (CVR C)

Tomb Raider meets The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen in brand new series by renowned fantasy author and award-winning Italian artist.

Brought together by a clandestine corporation, the world’s greatest minds are set a challenge of epic proportions: the dodecathlon. Unlikely alliances are made in order to fulfill the quest, and uncover the mysterious truth behind it all. But as the conspiracy is unveiled, how many will survive…?

Cutting Edge: The Siren's Song #1

Preview: Horizon Zero Dawn #4

Horizon Zero Dawn #4

Author(s): Anne Toole
Artist(s): Ann Maulina
Cover Artist(s):
Cover A: Peach Momoko
Cover B: Game Art Wraparound
Cover C: Loish
Cover D: Stanley Artgerm Lau Blue Virgin Variant

A brand-new comic series based on the award-winning game by Guerrilla. Aloy and Talanah return in a new story set after the events of the game! Nature has reclaimed the planet. Awe-inspiring machines dominate the land, as humanity fights for survival on this new earth. Co-created by one of the writers of Horizon Zero Dawn game Anne Toole.

Horizon Zero Dawn #4

Preview: Adler #5

Adler #5

Author(s): Lavie Tidhar
Artist(s): Paul McCaffrey
Cover Artist(s):
COVER A: Gary Erskine
COVER B: Paul McCaffrey

THE FINAL BATTLE BEGINS!
Adler and her team of Victorian heroines face-off against AYESHA’S army of AMAZONS!
Written by World Fantasy Award Winner, Lavie Tidhar. In the vein of Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen!

Adler #5

Titan Comics Reveals Blade Runner Origins #1!

Titan Comics and Alcon Media Group have announced the February 2021 debut of Blade Runner Origins. Set ten years before Titan’s current bestselling and award-winning Blade Runner 2019, the year-long comic book series will follow the events leading up to the creation of the Blade Runner division, reflecting the world, characters, and events first seen in the genre-defining films Blade Runner and Blade Runner 2049.

A senior bioengineer for the Tyrell Corp is found hanging in her sealed laboratory, the victim of an apparent suicide. LAPD Detective Cal Moreaux—a war-scarred veteran of the bloody Off-world conflict known as Kalanthia, as depicted in the “Blackout 2022” Blade Runner anime—is sent to write it up, quickly, quietly and with the minimum of fuss. But something doesn’t sit right with the detective, and it soon becomes apparent that this is anything but a “normal” suicide. Did the scientist’s ground-breaking research on Nexus-model Replicants somehow contribute to her death? And is the apparent disappearance of a prototype Nexus unit also connected to the case? Det. Moreaux’s investigation will draw him into a dark conspiracy behind Dr. Tyrell’s Replicant empire.

The Blade Runner Origins series is being helmed by Mike Johnson, the award-winning co-writer of Titan’s Blade Runner 2019, joined here by DC Comics veteran K. Perkins, and screenwriter Mellow Brown.

Origins #1 will debut with a selection of amazing variant covers, including artwork by superstar artists Stanley “Artgerm” Lau and Peach Momoko, as well as a set of retro pulp-style covers by Robert Hack, plus much more!

Blade Runner Origins #1 is set for release in comic stores and digital devices on February 24, 2021.

Blade Runner Origins #1
« Older Entries