Category Archives: Previews

Preview: Batman: Last Knight on Earth

Batman: Last Knight on Earth

Written by Scott Snyder
Art by Jonathan Glapion
Purchase: AmazonKindlecomiXologyTFAW

Twenty years in the future, Bruce Wayne wakes up in Arkham Asylum. Young. Sane. And… he’s never been Batman. So begins this sprawling tale of the Dark Knight as he embarks on a quest through a devastated DC landscape, featuring a massive cast of familiar faces from the DC Universe. As he tries to piece together the mystery of his past, he must unravel the cause of this terrible future and track down the unspeakable force that destroyed the world as he knew it… From the powerhouse creative team of writer Scott Snyder and artist Greg Capullo, the team that reinvented Batman from the emotional depths of Batman: Court of Owls to the epic power of Dark Nights: Metal, DC presents what could be the last Batman story ever told… Collects Batman: Last Knight on Earth #1-3.

Batman: Last Knight on Earth

Preview. Mr. Beaver Vol. 1

MR. BEAVER VOLUME 1

Writer: Pablo Verdugo Muñoz
Artist Name(s): Pablo Verdugo Muñoz (Pencils and Inks), Jose Expósito (Colors)
Cover Artist(s): Pablo Verdugo Muñoz
128 pgs./ T+ / FC
$5.99
Digital-First

The world’s most powerful crime organization – “The Twelve” – managed to evade justice for far too long and in desperation, the police reach out to the one individual who just might be able to turn things around. Enter special agent Mr. Beaver, returning to his hometown fresh from the Alpha Academy and itching to take down the dark underbelly… after taking care of his own rumbling belly, of course. In his confrontation with an old acquaintance, Richard, and his henchmen from “The Twelve”, a mysterious power known as ‘Theos Lampsi’, or ‘God’s Shining’, will come to light, requiring Mr. Beaver to dig deep in order to overcome his adversaries.

MR. BEAVER VOLUME 1

Preview: Killswitch #4

KILLSWITCH #4

Writer(s): Jeffrey and Susan Bridges
Artist Name(s): Walter Geovani (pencils, inks), Brittany Peer (colors), Ed Dukeshire (letters)
Cover Artist(s): Natasha Alterici
30 pgs./ M / FC
$2.99
Digital-First

It’s chaos on the comet exterior as Marcella and the Augurs make their final bid for freedom. Even if they succeed, they’ll have to deal with a society that hates and fears them, and that may be too much for them to bear… and not everyone makes it out alive.

KILLSWITCH #4

Preview: Cut-Man #1

CUT-MAN #1

Writer(s): Alexander Banks-Jongman 
Artist Name(s): Robert Ahmad 
Cover Artist(s): Robert Ahmad
25 pgs./ M / FC
$2.99
Digital-First

Hank Kelly cannot die. With this revelation, his life is thrown into a world of fame and fortune. But can fame and fortune repair his broken family? Meanwhile, detective Rosalind Lovejoy makes a fateful discovery: Kelly’s immortality has a dark cost.

CUT-MAN #1

Preview: Little Josephine: Memory In Pieces

HumanoidsLife Drawn has released a book that explores the end of our days. Little Josephine: Memory In Pieces by writer Valérie Villieu and artist Raphaël Sarfati is a moving and visually arresting memoir chronicling the relationship between a caregiver and her patient Josephine, who is living with Alzheimers.

Little Josephine is an account of the author’s experience caring for the elderly Josephine. Though vastly different in age, their connection is instantaneous—and despite the debilitating disease that Josephine faces every single day, they’re able to form a beautiful friendship that transcends the reaches of modern medicine. Equal parts heartwarming, whimsical, and chilling, Little Josephine charts the highs and lows of their relationship as Valérie attempts to care for, understand, and communicate with the loving and capricious Josephine in the face of her escalating dementia and an indifferent elder care system. 

Sarfarti’s incredible artwork embraces what is unique about the graphic novel medium: panels scatter, disappear and loop just like Josephine’s mercurial memory.

As Josephine escapes the boundaries of the page in search of clarity, readers are forced to reckon with the same instability and uncertainty she faces daily—as well as reckon with the realities of an overburdened system that makes the lives of Alzheimer’s patients far harder than they need to be. This first-hand account of an unlikely friendship between a visiting nurse and her patient becomes a much bigger story as the author draws poignant connections to love, memory, society, and what we owe to one another. 

Little Josephine: Memory In Pieces is the latest addition to the Life Drawn imprint and will be available where books are sold on April 7.

Little Josephine: Memory In Pieces

Dark Horse Comics Reveals an All-New Baltimore story from Baltimore Omnibus 2

The second Baltimore Omnibus from Dark Horse Comics features an all-new eight-page story by Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden, featuring art by Ben Stenbeck, colors by Dave Stewart, and lettering by Clem Robins. The never-before-published story features the adventures of a giant ape.

In addition to the new story, the second Baltimore Omnibus collects Baltimore: The Witch of Harju #1-#3, Baltimore: The Wolf and the Apostle #1-#2, Baltimore: The Cult of the Red King #1-#5, Baltimore: Empty Graves #1-#5, and Baltimore: The Red Kingdom #1-#5.

Finally armed with the identity of the being responsible for the vampire plague, Baltimore and his band of allies take on the evil around them with a new fervor. Enemies old and new, desperate battles, and strange horror await the reader as they follow Baltimore toward his ultimate destiny.

From writers Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden, with art by Ben Stenbeck and Peter Bergting comes the culmination of the Baltimore series, published for the first time in an omnibus format. Baltimore Omnibus 2 is available in bookstores as of April 7, 2020.

Baltimore Omnibus 2

Preview: Burning Rubber

BURNING RUBBER ONE-SHOT

Writer(s): Hannu Kesola
Artist Name(s): Randy Valiente, Lala Narita, Jerome Gagnon
Cover Artist(s): Randy Valiente
25 pgs./ M / FC $2.99
Digital-First

Being a getaway driver is supposed to be easy. But when you unknowingly steal drug money from the Russian mob — money guarded by an outlaw biker — troubles can’t be far away. 

This hard-boiled one-shot tells its high-octane crime story from the perspectives of the getaway driver and the outlaw.

Preview: The Argus #2

THE ARGUS #2

Writer(s): Mark Bertolini
Artist Name(s): Darryl Knickrehm (Art, Colors)
Cover Artist(s): Darryl Knickrehm
33 pgs./ T+ / FC $2.99
Digital-First

The inexperienced young Randall Patton is put through the wringer by the older versions of himself in order to toughen him up to go after the murderous Killer Patton, who is warping other versions of Randall to his evil ways! Will Randall learn how to defend himself from those who want his head? And just who is the real enemy here anyway? Get ready for a full reality reset!

THE ARGUS #2

Preview: World of Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #98

WORLD OF ARCHIE JUMBO COMICS DIGEST #98

Script: Bill Bettwy
Art: Pat and Tim Kennedy, Bob Smith, Glenn Whitmore, Jack Morelli
Cover: Jeff Shultz, Rosario “Tito” Peña
On Sale Date: 4/8
192-page, full color comic
$7.99 U.S.

NEW CLASSIC-STYLE STORY: “The CamPAIN!” Mr. Lodge is running for Riverdale City Council, and Archie is determined to help canvass. Will he help win Mr. Lodge votes, or run the entire campaign into the ground?

WORLD OF ARCHIE JUMBO COMICS DIGEST #98

Preview: A House Divided: The Accursed Inheritance of Henrieta Achilles

Are you ready for the new graphic novel series that’s recommended for fans of RPGs and high adventure—and perfect for readers of Lumberjanes and The Adventure Zone graphic novels? Welcome to A House Divided: The Accursed Inheritance of Henrieta Achilles, the action-packed first volume of a brand new, 4-part graphic novel series created by two lifelong friends, Haiko Hörnig and Marius Pawlitza

Haiko Hörnig spent his childhood in his parents’ comic book store, Comicothek, where he developed a love for sequential art at an early age. In middle school, he quickly became friends with Marius Pawlitza. The two of them first enjoyed role-playing games together and later started to make comics. And now their cult favorite graphic novel series is making its English language debut from Lerner Books. 

A House Divided: The Accursed Inheritance of Henrieta Achilles is a magical and dynamic romp that takes its cues from the role-playing games the creators played as kids. When 15-year old Henrietta Achilles is plucked from the orphanage and taken to a mysterious town called Malrenard, she’s surprised to learn that the death of an uncle she’s never met means she’s inherited his home. But Henrietta quickly learns that this inheritance is more of a burden than a gift. The house holds a powerful, magical secret—and now it’s plagued by bandits and strange creatures intent on possessing the house and its treasures. Henrietta is quickly swept up in their antics as she is thrown headlong into an ominous but kooky adventure full of stolen quiche, talking statues, and roving pirate gangs. 

Hörnig and Pawlitza make fantastic collaborators, and their lifelong friendship and love for role-playing games imbues A House Divided with a sense of infectious fun that makes the book a delightful and entertaining read. An epic war? Check. A determined heroine? Yes! A missing treasure? An enchanted castle? Recipes in the back of each volume? Yes, yes, and yes. Get ready to discover the magical world of A House Divided.

A House Divided: The Accursed Inheritance of Henrieta Achilles will be available from Lerner Publishing Group where books are sold on April 7, 2020.

« Older Entries