Category Archives: Previews

X-O Manowar Returns this November

Valiant‘s flagship hero returns this November in X-O Manowar #2!

Aric of Dacia, aka X-O Manowar, is back and heading in a bold new direction with Harvey Award-winner Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum, astonishing artist Emilio Laiso, colorist Ruth Redmond, and letterer Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou. The first issue earned a spot in the top 100 best-selling comics when it debuted. Now, the action-packed second issue is set to arrive in comic shops on November 25th, 2020, with covers by Eisner Award-winning artist Christian WardNetho Diaz, and a 1:25 variant by Daniel Warren Johnson.

Check out the first four pages of X-O Manowar #2, below.

X-O Manowar #2

Detective Comics #1027 Features a “Fractured” Future for Batman and the DC Universe and What is the “Black Casebook?”

When DC announced that Detective Comics #1027 would feature some of comics’ greatest storytellers, there was also mention that this must-have comic book would contain …”a few early hints at what’s in store for the future of the Caped Crusader!”

DC also said that fans would have to wait until September 15 to find out, but that’s not fair, so here’s a first look at two stories revealing more about what’s to come, not just the Dark Knight, but all of the DC Universe!

Written by Dan Jurgens with layouts and finished art by Jurgens and Kevin Nowlan, “Generations: Fractured” pits Batman against a would-be gang of museum vandals, led by Calendar Man. As the Dark Knight tries to stop him from torching priceless artifacts, a mysterious flash of light appears to break reality, and Batman finds that everything is different in Gotham, as he’s transported back to 1939!

Eisner award-winning writer Mariko Tamaki and artist Dan Mora team up to tell a tie-in story to “The Joker War.” In “A Gift,” The Joker’s attack on Batman and Gotham City leaves a GCPD officer dead. His partner identifies the perpetrator as the Caped Crusader, swearing that he’ll bring him to justice. This tragedy forces Batman to reluctantly open the pages of a mysterious “black casebook,” the contents of which are yet to be known.

Hardcore Batman fans can look forward to some of their favorite writers and artists taking part in this landmark issue, including Greg Rucka/Eduardo Risso, Grant Morrison/Chris Burnham, James Tynion IV/Riley Rossmo, Tom King/Walter Simonson, and Scott Snyder/Ivan Reis. They’re also joined by Kelly Sue DeConnick with John Romita Jr. and Klaus Janson, Marv Wolfman/Emanuela Lupacchino/Bill Sienkiewicz, Brian Michael Bendis/David Marquez and more top creators!

Detective Comics #1027 arrives at open and operating comic book stores and participating digital retailers on Tuesday, September 15 with a retail price of $9.99.

Preview: Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow #2

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow #2

(W) Mariko Tamaki (A) Natacha Bustos (CA) Jen Bartel
In Shops: Aug 12, 2020
SRP: $3.99

After the events of Hellmouth, Willow has set out on a world trip to find herself, and maybe some answers about her powers along the way. Now, in the magical-and we mean that literally-town of Abhainn, Willow seems to have found a home. Afterall, they tell her, the outside world is dangerous. Afterall, isn’t it easier just to stay in Abhainn?

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow #2

Preview: Seven Secrets #1

Seven Secrets #1

(W) Tom Taylor (A/CA) Daniele Di Nicuolo
In Shops: Aug 12, 2020
SRP: $3.99

For fans of Once & Future and Undiscovered Country comes an all-new original series from #1 New York Times best-selling author Tom Taylor (DCeased) and artist Daniele di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) about seven powerful secrets-words, wonders, weapons, and worse-with the power to change the world..

For centuries, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm, but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear-an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants.

Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything.

Seven Secrets #1

Preview: The Harrowing of Hell

The Harrowing of Hell

WRITER: Evan Dahm 
ILLUSTRATOR: 
Evan Dahm
TRIM: 8 x 10
AGE RANGE: General Adult
GENRE: Religion / Philosophy
SRP: $15
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGE COUNT: 128
PUB DATE: August 11, 2020

A modern reinterpretation of the apocryphal tale of Christ’s descent into Hell after his death, The Harrowing Of Hell is a densely illustrated allegorical tale of the world’s most famous political revolutionary. Evan Dahm draws upon a wide array of texts to create a brand new window into the life and death of Christ, a vision of a dying man’s revolutionary drive and fervent belief in humanity’s salvation from all manner of jailers. A richly symbolic, densely illustrated allegorical tale that echoes back to us from ancient times, this is a fascinating reinterpretation of one of the most important religious figures in history.

The Harrowing of Hell

Los Angeles’ Zoot Suit Riots Are Reimagined by Latinx Cartoonist Marco Finnegan

Across America, there’s widespread unrest and growing racial tensions. On the morning of August 2, 1942, the body of José Gallardo Díaz is discovered unconscious and dying on a road near a swimming hole in Commerce, CA. Diaz dies in Los Angeles County General Hospital, without making a statement or even regaining consciousness. Despite the fact that the cause of his death is never determined and there’s insufficient evidence, 17 Mexican-American youths are arrested. On January 13, 1943, twelve of the defendants in what the tabloids called the “Sleepy Lagoon murder” are convicted of second-degree murder. They are sentenced to serve time in San Quentin Prison. 

The Sleepy Lagoon murder provides the backdrop for Latinx Cartoonist Marco Finnegan’s dynamic new YA graphic novel Lizard in a Zoot Suit, his first full-length work as a writer/artist, in which history, race, class, and science fiction collide in unexpected ways. The all-new, original graphic novel is set in LA’s Chavez Ravine neighborhood, two decades before the neighborhood was torn down to make way for Dodger Stadium. In June 1943, long-simmering tensions between the Chicano community and white servicemen led to the Zoot Suit Riots, fueled by months of fear and tension following the Sleepy Lagoon murder trial.

In Lizard in a Zoot Suit, twin sisters Flaca and Cuata have a problem. It’s bigger than being grounded by their strict mother. It’s bigger than tensions with the soldiers stationed nearby. And it’s shaped like a five-foot-tall lizard. When this lost member of an unknown underground species needs help, the sisters must scramble to keep their new friend away from a corrupt military scientist―but they’ll do it in style. 

With striking two-color artwork and snappy dialogue, Marco Finnegan’s full length graphic novel debut re-imagines a notorious event in LA’s history to deliver a timely story about race and social unrest.

Lizard in a Zoot Suit

Preview: Wonder Woman #760

Wonder Woman #760

Written by: Mariko Tamaki
Art by: Mikel Janin

Wonder Woman’s quest to bring justice to Man’s World has seen her take on many devastating opponents-but none so vicious as Maxwell Lord! Max represents the worst that humanity has to offer…so when he’s drafted by the military to help save the day, what’s a warrior for the truth to do?

Wonder Woman #760

Preview: Green Lantern Earth One Vol. 2

Green Lantern: Earth One Vol. 2

by Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman

Hal Jordan and John Stewart must team up to save the last Green Lantern Guardian from an evil force!

Manhunters, alien races, rings of power–it’s a lot for the people of Earth to absorb. Especially when an interplanetary incident forces their protector, Hal Jordan, to leave on a rescue mission that results in the discovery that there’s a new player in the galaxy: Yellow Lanterns!

While they seem a benign force for peace, Jordan can’t get comfortable with how much power they wield, or their bizarre, lockstep behavior. When fellow Earthling John Stewart ends up with a yellow ring, he and Hal must work together to confront the being who destroyed the original Green Lantern Corps–the last surviving Guardian.

Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman feature two of the most famous DC characters, Hal Jordan and John Stewart, like you’ve never seen them before!

Green Lantern: Earth One Vol. 2
« Older Entries