Category Archives: Comics

General DC

Man Arrested for Comic Theft at C2E2

Stephen Bowles, 51, of Remington, Indiana was charged with three felony accounts of theft in related to rare comic books take at this past weekend’s Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo (C2E2).

Bowles is accused of stealing over $9,000 in comics from three vendors. He was ordered held on $10,000 bail and being held at a Cook County Jail until he can post a $1,000 bond.

A vendor alerted Chicago police and Bowles was arrested. He was found with some of the reported stolen comics. He is alledged to have taken $4,500 worth of comics from one vendor, $3,500 from another, and a third for $1,200.

Bowles admitted to the theft after being arrested.

Joe Illidge and Lisa Y. Wu Join the A Wave Blue World Team

A Wave Blue World, an independent publisher is expanding its staff to continue connecting people through storytelling and provide a platform for a multitude of creative voices. In their mission to use comics and graphic novels as a medium for change, they have appointed Lisa Y. Wu as Vice President of Sales and Marketing and Joe Illidge as Editorial Director.

Experienced in community outreach for diverse organizations and leveraging innovative dynamic marketing strategies to maximize brand awareness, Lisa previously utilized her skills to impact audience and sales growth as Director of Retailer Relations at AfterShock Comics. Among other roles, Lisa also worked as Social Media/Promotions for Saga Communications and Marketing Coordinator for Dave & Busters. Lisa holds a B.A. in English and M.A. in Teaching from The Citadel and is an M.B.A. candidate at Fordham University’s Gabelli School of Business.

As Editorial Director for A Wave Blue World, Joe will work with creators from the comic book and global entertainment industries to develop groundbreaking books celebrating inclusion and heroism.

In his career, Joe served as an editor on the Batman for DC Entertainment, Senior Editor for Lion Forge Comics, and Executive Editor for Valiant Entertainment. Joe’s first job in the industry was at Milestone Media, Inc., a publisher of inclusive superhero stories, best known for the award-winning animated series “Static Shock” from Warner Bros.

Preview: Lumberjanes Vol. 11 SC

Lumberjanes Vol. 11 SC

Publisher: BOOM! Box, an imprint of BOOM! Studios
Writer:  Shannon Watters & Kat Leyh
Artist: Ayme Sotuyo
Colorist: Maarta Laiho
Letterer: Aubrey Aiese
Cover Artist: Kat Leyh
Price: $14.99
S

When Molly makes a deal with a mysterious Voice in the woods surrounding Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady Types to slow down time, all she wants is more time to spend with her friends at camp, hiking and doing crafts, and playing music and having fun.

Unfortunately there are… side effects, and it’s up to Roanoke Cabin to set time right again, and save camp!

Collects issues #41-44.

Lumberjanes Vol. 11 SC

Preview: The Ballad of Sang

The Ballad of Sang

(W) Ed Brisson
(A) Alessandro Micelli
(C) Shari Chankhamma

(CA) Alessandro Micelli with Shari Chankhamma
Age Rating: Mature Audiences — Genre: Action/Adventure
Price: $19.99 — Page Count: 120

Hit writer Ed Brisson (Old Man Logan, Cable) and newcomer Alessandro Micelli present a homage to Takashi Miike films with THE BALLAD OF SANG, the story of a child assassin raised in violence and out for revenge after his master is murdered. When a mistake on a job brings the wrath of Don Minchella down on him, Sang barely escapes with his life. While Sang swears revenge for his fallen mentor, every gang in the city mobilizes to return him to Minchella… dead or alive.

Ballad of Sang

Preview: Guerillas Omnibus Edition

Guerillas Omnibus Edition

(W/A/CA) Brahm Revel
Age Rating: Mature Audiences — Genre: Sci-Fi, Action/Adventure

Price: $39.99 — Page Count: 760

Brahm Revel’s critically acclaimed series is collected for the first time in one volume in the Guerillas: Omnibus Edition! Private John Francis Clayton is on his first tour of duty in Vietnam, facing death at every turn in the middle of a war he doesn’t understand. Clayton is just trying to stay alive when he encounters an elite platoon of…. simian soldiers?!? This squad of chain-smoking chimps is the most dangerous fighting force in the jungle… but whose side are they on?

Guerillas Omnibus Edition

Preview: Our Super Adventure: Press Start to Begin

Our Super Adventure: Press Start to Begin

(W/A/C/CA) Sarah Graley
Age Rating: Young Adult Audiences — Genre: Humor/Romance

Price: $19.99 — Page Count: 224

Fans of Kate Beaton and Sarah Andersen will love this collection of the hit webcomic OUR SUPER ADVENTURE by Sarah Graley (Rick and Morty, Kim Reaper)!

Eating too much pizza together. Smelling your cats. Figuring out how to spend your evening when the internet has suddenly stopped working. Relationships are full of sweet and quirky little moments!

Sarah Graley’s first collection of the hit diary webcomic Our Super Adventurechronicles two years of these strange, relatable instances, as she navigates life with four cats and one cat-like boy.

Whether it’s that feeling of getting the entire bed when your partner gets up before you, or the heartbreaking realisation that the love of your life has burned the microwave popcorn, Press Start To Begin documents all the weird little everyday flashes of shared absurdity that make up a relationship.

Our Super Adventure: Press Start to Begin

Preview: Cretaceous

Cretaceous

(W/A/C/CA) Tadd Galusha
Age Rating: All Ages — Genre: Action/Adventure

Price: $14.99 — Page Count: 168

When a Tyrannosaurus Rex is separated from its family, it embarks on a harrowing journey to reunite with them before the raw, real dangers of the Cretaceous Era separate them for good. This heart-wrenching story takes to the skies and dives into the sea—and explores everywhere in between—in this research-based, fictional account written and illustrated by Tadd Galusha (TMNT/Ghostbusters 2).

Cretaceous

Preview: Spider-Man: Far From Home Prelude #1

Spider-Man: Far From Home Prelude #1

(W) Will Corona Pilgrim (A) Luca Maresca
Rated T
In Shops: Mar 27, 2019
SRP: $3.99

DOES WHATEVER A SPIDER CAN!

PETER PARKER has already fought with the AVENGERS, but now he faces his biggest challenge: HIGH SCHOOL! Having the proportionate strength and agility of a spider doesn’t help Peter fit in, but when a piece of alien CHITAURI technology falls into the wrong hands, his abilities just may be the only thing standing between New York City and annihilation! Well, that and the expert tutelage of one TONY STARK, A.K.A. IRON MAN! Get ready for this summer’s SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME with this adaptation of the smash-hit SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING!

Spider-Man: Far From Home Prelude #1

Preview: Spider-Man/Deadpool #48

Spider-Man/Deadpool #48

(W) Robbie Thompson (A) Jim Towe (CA) Will Robson
Rated T+
In Shops: Mar 27, 2019
SRP: $3.99

“INFINITE HOUSE OF CIVIL yet SECRET CRISIS WAR INVASIONS” marches on!
• Who is this new, mysterious and OMNIPOTENT villain who has restored the fourth wall?
• If he can stop Deadpool from seeing and talking to readers, WHAT ELSE CAN HE DO?!
• Can Spider-Man pull it all together by #50?!

Spider-Man/Deadpool #48
« Older Entries