Category Archives: Marketing

You Can Stay Valiant at Home with the Valiant Hero of the Week

VALIANT HERO OF THE WEEK

There’s a new way to stay Valiant while you stay home: Valiant Hero of the Week!

We want to offer some entertainment and escapism for Valiant fans during this challenging period. Every Monday for the next several weeks, Valiant will post a poll on Twitter that features four heroes, and the fans will determine who becomes the Valiant Hero of the Week! Once a hero is selected by the end of Monday, they will be celebrated throughout the week with:

  • Engaging social content encouraging fans to share their favorite art, covers, stories, and more
  • Free PDFs featuring the hero
  • Videos from Valiant staff saying why they love the hero and suggesting ways to celebrate
  • Giveaways
  • And more!

Valiant Hero of the Week kicks off on Monday (March 30th) and the first poll will feature Bloodshot, Punk Mambo, Quantum & Woody, and Ninjak. Who will you vote for?

An Investigation Begins in X-Factor #1. Check out the Trailer!

Mutants have conquered death, but who investigates when they don’t come back? All all-new team of detectives comes together to solve mutant murders across the globe in the X-Factor #1 trailer, featuring writer Leah Williams, Senior Editor Jordan D. White, and Assistant Editor Annalise Bissa

Death may no longer be permanent for mutantkind, but that doesn’t mean their killers go unpunished. X-Factor is reformed to look into mutant fatalities of all sorts to determine the cause of death, if anyone is responsible, or if a life was truly lost at all. A brand new line-up has assembled for this task, including Northstar, Daken, Eye-Boy, Prestige, Prodigy, and the returning Polaris.

X-Factor #1 is by Leah Williams and David Baldeón.

A New Super Team is Born in The Children of the Atom #1 Trailer

A new team of young mutant heroes have formed in the tradition of some of the original X-Men but there are many questions as to their origins and how they are related to Xavier’s greatest students. Are they clones? Are they androids? Are they from the future? As the mystery of these new heroes unfolds, you’ll see that the Children of the Atom are more than just sidekicks in the Children of the Atom #1 trailer, featuring writer Vita Ayala and Editor Chris Robinson

The events of House of X and those in its wake have caused an unprecedented paradigm shift for mutants in the Marvel universe. Now more free to live openly without the fear of oppression, gifted youngsters from around the world are following in the X-Men’s footsteps and striving to make the world a safer place for both mutants and humans.

Children of the Atom #1 by Vita Ayala and Bernard Chang is on sale April 2020.

Cable #1 Blasts its Way Into Stores with a Trailer

It’s a new dawn for mutantkind’s toughest soldier. Not quite the grizzled old war veteran from the future but still just as rebellious and hardheaded, Cable is back in a new solo series. See Nathan Summers confront his destiny in the Cable #1 trailer featuring Editor Jordan D. White, Assistant Editor Annalisse Bisa, and writer Gerry Duggan.

On sale now, Cable #1 is delighting fans with its high dose of action, fun, and shocking twists. Duggan’s writing combined with Phil Noto’s iconic art results in a high energy adventure where readers will get to see one of Marvel’s most famous X-Men in an exciting and revelatory way.

Cable #1 by Gerry Duggan and Phil Noto is on sale now.

A Great Intergalactic Alliance Heads to Earth in the Empyre #1 Trailer

The return of the Celestial Messiah to the Blue Area of the Moon sets off a new chapter in the Kree/Skrull War—only this time, it’s a Kree/Skrull Alliance aimed directly at Earth, and only the Avengers, the Fantastic Four and more of Earth’s heroes stand in their way… Behold what awaits in Empyre #1 with this new trailer featuring Executive Editor Tom Brevoort and writers Al Ewing and Dan Slott.

Empyre #1 written by Al Ewing and Dan Slott with art by Valerio Schiti, goes on sale April 15th.

The Oracle Code Gets a Trailer

In celebration of International Wheelchair Day March 1,­­ DC revealed the official trailer for the publisher’s highly anticipated young adult (YA) graphic novel, The Oracle Code, written by Marieke Nijkamp and illustrated by Manuel Preitano. Set within a mysterious thriller, this moving coming-of-age tale follows teenager Barbara Gordon as she adapts to a new normal after a tragic accident and begins her path to becoming Oracle, one of DC’s fiercest Super Heroes.

The Oracle Code is available to preorder now and hits stores and online retailers everywhere books are sold March 10, 2020.

Valiant’s X-O Manowar Gets a Trailer

A 4th-Century Visigoth warrior-prince, Aric of Dacia was abducted and enslaved by aliens known as The Vine. Escaping their control, Aric bonded with the unique sentient armor Shanhara, becoming X-O Manowar — the most powerful weapon in the universe. Returning to Earth in the modern day, Aric and Shanhara use their incredible capabilities for the good of mankind, but mankind may have other intentions…

Written by Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum, with art by Emilio Laiso, colors by Ruth Redmond, and letters by Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou, X-O Manowar #1 is out on March 29, 2020.

DC Takes You on Strange Adventures with a New Trailer

After winning five Eisner Awards and topping year-end “best of lists,” the comic book of 2019 was Mister Miracle. The comic book of 2020 will be Strange Adventures.

The Mister Miracle team of writer Tom King and artist Mitch Gerads are joined by fan-favorite artist Evan “Doc” Shaner to bring you an epic tale in the tradition of Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns, and DC: The New Frontier—a story of blood, war, and love that readers will be talking about for years to come.

Adam Strange is the hero of Rann, a man famous throughout the galaxy for his bravery and honor. After leading his adopted home to victory in a great planetary war, Adam and his wife Alanna retire to Earth, where they are greeted by cheers, awards, and parades. But not all is as happy and nice as it seems, as the decisions Adam made during battles on Rann come back to haunt his family and threaten the entire DC Universe. And now a surprise DC hero will have to choose between saving Adam Strange and saving the world.

A story like no other, Strange Adventures is an ambitious, thrilling, shocking, and beautiful 12-issue saga that will push Adam Strange to the breaking point—and beyond!

Strange Adventures

BOOM! Studios Announce a Winter Book Tour for Big Black: Stand at Attica

Big Black: Stand at Attica Winter Book Tour

BOOM! Studios has announced the Big Black: Stand at Attica Winter Book Tour, in support of the new graphic memoir written by Frank “Big Black” Smith and Jared Reinmuth and illustrated by Améziane, available in comic shops on February 12, 2010, and in bookstores on February 18, 2020. 

Big Black: Stand at Attica is an unflinching look at the true story about the price of standing up to injustice in what remains one of the bloodiest civil rights confrontations in American history, told for the very first time from the man at the center of it all – Frank “Big Black” Smith. Co-writer Jared Reinmuth will visit bookstores and libraries across New York state to meet with readers and sign copies of this historic release, with select appearances by special guests Daniel Meyers, one of the key lawyers in the decades-long lawsuit following the events of the 1971 Attica Prison Uprising, and Pearl “Battle” Smith, Frank “Big Black” Smith’s wife.

In the summer of 1971, New York’s Attica State Prison was a symbol of everything broken in America – prisoner abuse, rampant racism and a blind eye turned towards the injustices perpetrated on the powerless. But when the guards at Attica overreacted to a minor incident, the prisoners decided they’d had enough – and revolted against their jailers, taking them hostage and making demands for humane conditions. 

A natural leader, Frank “Big Black” Smith found himself at the center of this uprising, struggling to protect hostages, prisoners and negotiators alike. But when the only avenue for justice seemed to be negotiating with Governor Nelson Rockefeller, Big Black soon discovered that a peaceful resolution for the prisoners in Attica was unattainable.

The Big Black: Stand at Attica Winter Book Tour stops include several locations, beginning with the New York City institution, Strand Bookstore, on February 17, to celebrate the release of the graphic memoir.

Big Black: Stand at Attica Winter Book Tour

Get Ready for the First Semester at Strange Academy

Pack up all of your textbooks and talismans; classes are about to commence! A new school for a different type of gifted youngsters is about to open in the Strange Academy #1 trailer featuring writer Skottie Young and Executive Editor Nick Lowe

With the threat of mystical mayhem looming on the horizon, Doctor Strange enlists the magical elite to help him found Strange Academy – a place where students of any background can come to study under the planet’s most powerful mages. Can these young sorcerers learn to control their supernatural talents, or could one of them prove to be an even greater threat than what Strange has been dreading!

Strange Academy #1 by Skottie Young and Humberto Ramos is on sale March 4th in comic shops.

« Older Entries