Prism Comics Awards the 2016 Queer Press Grant

The recipient of the 2016 Prism Comics Queer Press Grant was announced at the ALPHABET -10 Years of the Prism Comics Queer Press Grant panel by Prism Comics Queer Press Grant chair Jon Macy, at WonderCon. This year was a tie between Catherine Esguerra for Eighty Days and Elizabeth Beier for I Like Your Headband.

The Queer Press Grant is awarded to assist comics creators in self publishing comics with LGBT characters or themes. Entries are judged first and foremost by artistic merit, followed by concerns such as financial need, proposal presentation, and the project’s contribution to the LGBT community. They are reviewed by the Prism Board, past recipients of the Grant, and Prism’s Advisory Board.

The Queer Press Grant is an all volunteer organization funded entirely by donations from comic book professionals and readers. Since its inception, the Queer Press Grant has been awarded to –

2005: Steve MacIsaac – Shiftlifter                       2010: Jon Macy – Fearful Hunter        
2006: Megan Gedris – YU+ME                                 2011: Robert Kirby – Three  
2007: Justin Hall – True Travel Tales                    2012: Christine Smith – The Princess
2007: Tommy Roddy – Pride High                         2012: Blue Delliquanti – O Human Star      
2008: Pam Harrison – House of the Muses         2013: Hazel Newlevant – If This Be Sin
2009: Ed Luce – Wuvable Oaf                                 2014: Calvin Gimplevich                    
2009: Eric Orner – Storybox                                   2014:Emiliano Quale 
2010: Tana Ford – Duck                                           2015:  Dave Davenport -Stray Bullet

Prism Comics is an all volunteer organization dedicated to promoting LGBTQ comics. You can help greatly by making a donation to the Queer Press Grant.