Preview: Garfield #33

Garfield #33: His 9 Lives Part 1 (of 4)

Imprint: KaBOOM!

Author: Scott Nickel
Artists: David DeGrand, K. Lynn Smith, and Andy Hirsch

In 1984, Jim Davis created a groundbreaking series of illustrated short stories called Garfield: His 9 Lives, setting the Fat Cat in various eras, that became an instant classic.

Even if you’ve never read the original His 9 Lives stories or watched the 1988 animated special, you’ll enjoy these unique interpretations by an all-star cast of cartoonists, including Andy Hirsch, Yehudi Mercado, Roger Langridge, Frazer Irving, and Genevieve FT, as they depict Garfield through the ages, from prehistoric times, to the reaches of outer space.

“Garfield: His 9 Lives, Part 1.” The journey begins with “Cave Cat,” as David DeGrand (Spongebob Comics) takes us back to Garfield’s first life, during the earliest days of life on Earth! Then, K. Lynn Smith (Plume) illustrates “King Cat,” as we see how Garfield got down in Ancient Egypt.


One comment

  • KaBOOM do a great job on those licensed comics. America still falls behind in having good all ages comics when you look at Europe and Japan. I love Superheroes, but when I have kids I’d rather get them into Tintin and Astro Boy and Carl Barks Duck comics, all brilliant.