Tag Archives: m.k. perker

Search for Hu banner ad

The Rez Detectives Are on the Case! A New Graphic Novel from Steven Paul Judd, Tvli Jacob, and M.K. Perker and Literati Press

The Rez Detectives is a ground-breaking, middle-grade graphic novel from Steven Paul Judd, Tvli Jacob, and M.K. Perker, published by Literati Press Comics & Novels and available through Diamond Comic Distributors, GlobalComix, and Comixology on December 8, 2021. In the tradition of Harriet the Spy, Encyclopedia Brown, and yes, Scooby-Doo, comes the first case for the Rez Detectives: “Justice Served Cold.”

Judd and IllumiNative, a native-led nonprofit that works to increase the visibility of Native peoples in American society, will supply free copies of Rez Detectives to all public and reservation libraries in Alaska and North and South Dakota.

It’s a hot summer on the Reservation. When the Ice Cream Man is a no-show, Tasembo joins forces with his neighbor, Nuseka, and his dog, Billy Jack, to take on their first case. With twists around every corner, this case won’t crack itself, but when you combine Nuseka’s brains, Billy Jack’s loyalty, and Tasembo’s . . . persistence, justice will be served. Cold, that is.

Preview: The Dreaming: Waking Hours #10

The Dreaming: Waking Hours #10

Written by: G. Willow Wilson
Art by: Nick Robles, M.K. Perker

The new ruler of the Kingdom of Faerie stands revealed-and it’s…Nuala? She may be one of the most beloved characters in the Sandman mythos, but she sure does seem, uh…how shall we say this…different? And amid this chaos, what secret from Heather After’s past will re-emerge when she needs it most?

The Dreaming: Waking Hours #10

Scout Comics Reveals Firewater from Ken Kristensen Lifting the Veil on a Dark Chapter in American History

Award-winning writer Ken Kristensen and Eisner-nominated artist M.K. Perker take inspiration from one the darkest chapters of American criminal history with Firewater, a gritty and disturbing crime series from Scout Comics.

In the release Kristensen said:

Terrorizing and murdering Indians – let’s face it – was a disgustingly profitable business for centuries. But never more disgusting or more profitable than during what was called the Osage Reign of Terror. This series is a dramatic interpretation of that long period of horror and the epic struggle to bring justice to one of the most corrupt places on earth. I have unique connection to this story because my wife and son are Osage.

We’re talking about killing on an immense scale – hundreds of murders, made even more egregious because so often it involved a white man marrying an Indian woman and then murdering her to inherit her oil rights.

This story is as relevant today as when it happened. This singular time and place was a heightened microcosm of America’s social schism — income inequality, ethnic persecution, racism, gender inequality, institutional corruption, and environmental issues. It was a reflection of the nation’s material success and spiritual failure.

Firewater is centered around the FBI’s first deep-cover investigation, an effort that attempted to unravel a genocidal conspiracy perpetrated by some of the most powerful people in the state and some of the most notorious outlaws of the day.

The story is set in Osage County, Oklahoma in the 1920s – a time when the Osage were the richest people on earth, thanks to the largest oil field in the world being discovered on their reservation. The reservation was a criminal playground because of its “sovereign nation” status – state cops had no jurisdiction. Kidnappers, drug dealers, bootleggers, con artists, pimps, bank robbers — every conceivable criminal flocked to this lawless reservation that was generating billions of dollars.

Firewater immerses the reader in a full ensemble of cops, criminals, activist citizens, and everyone caught in the crossfire.

Firewater #1 will feature this amazing variant cover by Taylan Kurtulus.

Preview: Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #7

Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #7

Story By: Ken Kristensen
Art By: M.K. Perker
Cover By: M.K. Perker
Price: $2.99
Diamond ID: SEP130645
Published: November 20, 2013

“CHARLIE ROSE’S TABLE: PUBLIC BROADCASTING SATAN,” Part Three

Charlie Rose’s insidious brainwashing scheme turns Gus and the town into mindless PBS-starved zombies, with Todd and Marxman-the-demon-hunter helpless to stop him. And when the world’s most dangerous cosmetologist fails to improve Peggy’s looks, there’s nowhere to go but down. Meanwhile, Satan’s son, Craig, has a breakthrough during family counseling.

toddugliest07_cover

Preview: Todd, the Ugliest Kid on Earth #6

Todd, the Ugliest Kid on Earth #6

Story By: Ken Kristensen
Art By: M.K. Perker
Price: $2.99
Diamond ID: AUG130720
Published: October 2, 2013

“CHARLIE ROSE’S TABLE: PUBLIC BROADCASTING SATAN,” Part Two
Todd gets caught in the crossfire between Charlie Rose and a half-crazed demon hunter. Meanwhile, Chief Hargrave continues searching for his ideal black partner. Peggy sees a back-alley cosmetologist about improving her looks. And Gus finds a way to hide the fact that Sandy has, well, been dragged to hell.

toddugliest06_cover

Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth Gets Animated

Image Comics‘ hit comic book Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth is the latest addition to the stable of geek animation god Titmouse, Inc.  An adaptation of the monthly comic book series is being developed with veteran comedy producers Krysia Plonka and Tracey Baird of Thank You, Brain! Productions, and Todd creators M.K. Perker and Ken Kristensen.

This is the latest in a string of TV development pacts for Kristensen, who earlier this year signed deals with Ryan Seacrest Productions, Discovery Studios, and whose one-hour pilot is currently in production at A&E.

Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth sold out of the first print runs of issues 1 and 2 in the first twenty four hours of release. The trade paperback collecting the first four-issue story arc will hit stores August 7, 2013. Issue 5 hits stores September 4.

The Ugliest Kid on Earth Gets Collected and Ongoing

Image Comics and the creators of Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth have discovered that the endless hopefulness of a cheerful kid unaware of the rampant dysfunction in the world around him cannot be contained in a four-issue miniseries. Starting in September, Todd will become an ongoing series, following the publication of the trade paperback collection of the first, critically lauded story arc in August.

The new Todd arc by MK Perker and Ken Kristensen takes a look at the unholy intersection of comic book conventions, public television, and paranormal investigation, as Todd unwittingly uncovers a conspiracy that literally goes as deep as the depths of Hell.

Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth Volume One (ISBN 978-1-60706-777-1) will be in stores on August 7. The new arc of Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth will start in September.

ToddUgliest05_cover

Preview: Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #4 (of 4)

Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #4 (of 4)

Story by: M.K. Perker & Ken Kristensen
Art By: M.K. Perker
Price: $2.99

“CANDY WITH STRANGERS,” Conclusion
When his best friend and mentor gets thrown in solitary confinement, Todd becomes an easy target for an Aryan Nation assassin. Meanwhile, his father accepts a marriage proposal that was never given, and his mom comes face-to-face with the Maniac Killer.

toddugliest04_cover

Todd, the Ugliest Kidd on Earth #2 Gets Second Printing

Selling out the same week as its release, Todd, the Ugliest Kidd on Earth #2 continues the success of the new Image Comics mini-series by Ken Kristensen and MK Perker. The issue will receive a second printing, to be in stores on March 27.

The third issue of Todd, the Ugliest Kidd on Earth, which focuses on an infectiously upbeat kid caught in an epically dysfunctional world, will be in stores on March 13.

Preview – Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #2 (of 4)

Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #2 (of 4)

Story by: Ken Kristensen Art By: M.K. Perker
Price: $2.99

CANDIE WITH STRANGERS,” Part Two
Todd, imprisoned for a murder he didn’t commit, falls into the crosshairs of the Aryan Nation. Meanwhile, his father stalks a celebrity Scientologist, his mom gets laid in a parking lot, and a headless Girl Scout is mauled by junkyard dogs.

toddugliest02_cover

Almost American
« Older Entries