Tag Archives: hyeondo park

Review: Snow White: Zombie Apocalypse #1

Snow White: Zombie Apocalypse #1

Take your favorite fantasy tales and characters and throw them into a zombie apocalypse. That’s Snow White: Zombie Apocalypse #1. Despite that pretty clear title, the comic still held some surprises, like how far into it before Snow White shows up. While her name is on the title, the real stars are Prince Charming and Rapunzel.

Written by Brenton Lengel, Snow White: Zombie Apocalypse #1 takes so much of what we grew up with and skewers it… in numerous ways. There’s the over the top violence as Charming and “Zel” get their zombie-killing on. Then there’s just the poking fun of the tropes and characters of these classic stories. Rapunzel is a tough as nails ass-kicking zombie slayers. Prince Charming follows his libido where ever and comes close to dying multiple times over it. Then there’s Snow White who sticks to the script until the script is torn up in front of her.

The art by Hyeondo Park is interesting. There’s a manga influence to it in some aspects. The battles are over the top featuring crazy movies that light up the panels. Close up punches and a focus on the combat creates an interesting juxtaposition with the characters presented. With it being a zombie story, there’s just enough gore. The zombies look rotted but aren’t over the top in design. It’s a feature, not there to gross the reader out and distract. There’s also some really well thought out designs and details for the characters that makes things really interesting visually, especially when Snow White is introduced. Add in some standout page layouts and this is a comic whose art matches the interesting nature of the concept.

Snow White: Zombie Apocalypse #1 is the comic you didn’t know you needed. If you like the idea of mashups or just zombie stories in general, this is one to check out.

Story: Brenton Lengel Art: Hyeondo Park
Story: 7.75 Art: 7.75 Overall: 7.75 Recommendation: Read

Scout Comics provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review

Scout Comics Announces Seven New Comics for 2017

Scout Comics has announced seven incredible comic book series for 2017! They run the gamut as far as genres and styles. Check out some of what you’ll find on shelves this year.

ELLA by Alex Giles and Ammar Al-Chalabi

When Ella’s Great Grandma passes away and she is left a gift, her world turns upside down. This twelve-year-old is now the legacy holder of the ‘Amulet of Sharzim,’ which grants her the ability of anthropomorphism and sends her on an adventure with talking animals, both good and bad, culminating in an epic battle!

ella-1-cover

HEAVENLY BLUES by Ben Kahn and Bruno Hidalgo

What happens when the souls of the greatest thieves in Hell team up to pull the ultimate heist in Heaven? The answer (and so much more) can be found in HEAVENLY BLUES by Ben Kahn and Bruno Hidalgo, the creators of the critically-acclaimed book SHAMAN.

heavenly-blues-1-cover

LONG LOST by Matthew Erman and Lisa Sterle

Two estranged sisters must reunite and return to their Appalachian hometown after their mother goes missing.  In the vein of Stranger Things, LONG LOST, created by a husband and wife team, is a horror mystery about the pains of estrangement and the overwhelming nature of being lost.  And monsters.

long-lost-1-cover

SMOKETOWN by Phillip Kennedy Johnson and Scott Van Domelen

From acclaimed writer Phillip Kennedy Johnson (Warlords of AppalachiaLast Sons of America), and introducing artist Scott Van Domelen, comes the first in an interconnecting series of chapters in the tradition of David Lapham’s Stray Bullets, Brubaker/Phillips’ Criminal, and Pulp Fiction. Each chapter explores the final days of a murdered soldier from a new perspective, each one exposing the criminal side of a small industrial Pennsylvania town.

smoketown-1-cover

SNOW WHITE ZOMBIE APOCALPYSE by Brenton Lengel and Hyeondo Park

Snow White awakens to Prince Charming’s kiss 28 days after the zombie apocalypse, only to find herself locked in a vicious love triangle and hunted by the reanimated corpse of the Big Bad Wolf.  Based on the hit 2012 play by the same name, written by critically-acclaimed playwright Brenton Lengel and illustrated by Dark Horse-alum Hyeondo Park.

swza-1-cover

SOLAR FLARE by James Haick and Branko Jovanovic

After a massive x-class solar flare hits Earth, wiping out all electronics and electricity, Jake Clifford desperately travels from Florida to Tennessee in this new electronic-less world in the hopes of reuniting with his daughter.  During his journey, Jake is recruited by a scientist to reach a secret military base.  The base will act as ground zero in re-establishing the country’s electrical infrastructure. However, as society starts to quickly unravel right before their eyes, their journey becomes more and more dangerous with every day that passes.

solar-flare-1-cover

TINKERS OF THE WASTELAND by Raul Trevino

“Tinkers of the Wasteland is like Mad Max and The Goonies jumping around inside your brain and causing nothing but trouble. I love it!” – Skottie Young, two-time Eisner Award winner.  Nuff said!

tinkers-1-cover

Preview: Amazing Forest #3

Amazing Forest #3

Writer: Ulises Farinas, Erick Freitas
Art: Hyeondo Park, Sean Pryor
Price: $.99
Pages: 20
Rating: 17+

A collection of the greatest stories ever told. Tales for the bold. Ideas for the strange. Wicked concepts that stir the minds of those with darkness in their hearts. A modern anthology that lends itself to a time when stories were short and ugly. Written by Erick Freitas & Ulises Farinas, each comic is drawn by a different amazingly talented artist, each lending their unique talents to bring horrible happiness to the reader’s skulls.

Amazing_Forest_03-1