Tag Archives: hastings

Search for Hu banner ad

Around the Tubes

ThinkTankCD04_CoverASo, anything going on in geekdom? We’re still at San Diego Comic-Con, so make sure to follow us for lots of announcements and cool stuff!

While you await it, here’s some comic news and reviews from around the web!

Around the Tubes

LA Times – San Diego Police Department sniper monitors Comic-Con  – So crazy!

CBLDF – Turkish Leman Censored in Post-Coup Crackdown – Sad to see.

ICv2 – Asmodee Acquiring F2Z Entertainment – This is huge news going into Gen Con.

ICv2 – Hastings Closing All Stores – This could have a ripple affect.

 

Around the Tubes Reviews

Comic Attack – A-Force #7

Culture Vultures – Bullet Gal

Around the Tubes

This Damned BandThe weekend is almost here! What geeky things are folks doing? Anyone going to any conventions? Sound off in the comments below!

While you wait for the hours to wind down and work to end, here’s some comic news and reviews from around the web!

Around the Tubes

The Hollywood Reporter – Paramount Says ‘Star Trek’ Fan Film Lawsuit Lives On – Until a deal is made, it’s not over. And shocker! The lawyers want it to continue! Ka-ching!

CBR – Future Of DC-Based Video Games Addressed by WB Games President – Sounds like lessons have been learned!

The Beat – Analysis: Bankrupt bookstore chain Hastings owes Diamond $1.6 million – Ouch.

Panels – America, Bunker, and LGBTQ+/Latinx Visibility: Affirmation in Tragedy – A very good read.

 

Around the Tubes Reviews

Comic Attack – Black Eyed Kids #3

Comic Attack – Civil War II: X-Men #1

IGN – Dark Knight: A True Batman Story

Comiconverse – The Spire #8

ICv2 – This Damned Band

Hastings and Valiant Present “Comics College” – A Weekly Instructional Workshop Beginning January 30th!

HASTINGS_COMICS COLLEGEThis winter, Hastings stores across the nation are joining forces with comics publisher Valiant Entertainment for “Comics College” – a fun-filled, educational workshop exploring every corner of the comic book industry! Following in the footsteps of last year’s “The Craft of Comics” series, Hastings is taking fans even deeper into the world of comics with brand-new video seminars that detail all the tricks of the trade – as revealed by one of Valiant’s leading writers or illustrators each week! The month-long “Comics College” in-store event begins on Saturday, January 30th at 2pm ET at a Hastings location near you and continues with new episodes every Saturday through February 20th.

Broadcasting into more than 140 Hastings locations nationwide, each installment of “Comics College” offers an inside look at the process of creating comics from start to finish. Featuring a new conversation with a different Valiant creator each week, join us here as some of the brightest talents in comics today examine the most important aspects of working in the comics industry today – from getting your first big break and writing your first script to the finer points of portfolio reviews for artists and editors alike…and much more!

Plus: Valiant is giving each Hastings viewer their shot at their chance to win the prize of a lifetime – their first professional published comics debut – with the official “Comics College” contest! Over the course of the “Comics College” event, aspiring artists nationwide are encouraged to illustrate and submit their favorite Valiant comics character in a captivating scene of their own choosing. From there, the winning piece will then be published as the official art for Hastings’ exclusive variant cover for the VALIANT: 4001 A.D. FCBD SPECIAL – hitting Hastings stores everywhere for Free Comic Book Day 2016!

Creators scheduled to stream during the workshop include:

WEEK ONE – HOW TO WRITE COMICS
Fred Van Lente (Writer, Archer & Armstrong; Ivar, Timewalker)
January 30th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK TWO – HOW COMICS ARE MADE
Robert Venditti (Writer, X-O Manowar; Wrath of the Eternal Warrior)
February 6th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK THREE – HOW TO BREAK INTO COMICS
Jody Houser (Writer, Faith)
February 13th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK FOUR – PORTFOLIO REVIEW
David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
February 20th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

Beginning on January 30th, prepare yourself for a crash course in making comics like a pro with a priceless treasure trove of behind-the-scenes insights…coming soon to a Hastings location near you!

A New Alien Minimates Box Set Infiltrates Hastings Stores!

A New Alien Minimates Box Set Infiltrates Hastings Stores!

Diamond Select ToysAliens Minimates line has been creeping up on people, thrilling both movie lovers and Minimates collectors with its detailed mini-figures of the Colonial Marines and Warrior Aliens from the 1986 action film Aliens. But there has only been one set of Minimates based on the original 1979 Alien film… until now! Hastings and MovieStop stores are now offering an all-new Alien Minimates box set, with three new characters and a brand-new version of the “Big Chap” alien!

Titled “Crew of the USCCSS Nostromo,” this four-pack of Minimates mini-figures includes the Nostromo’s captain, Dallas; ship’s navigator Lambert; and engineer Brett in their on-ship looks, as well as a new Xenomorph figure with a glossy black paint scheme. Called the “Big Chap” on set, this alien has a clear dome over his painted skull details. Each 2-inch Minimates mini-figure features 14 points of articulation as well as fully interchangeable parts and accessories, including an alien egg, a chestburster alien, a facehugger and a flamethrower, all packaged on a full-color blister card.

This Alien set joins the previously released Alien 35th Anniversary box set, with Ripley, Kane, Parker and a matte version of the Big Chap, and will be followed by Aliens Minimates Two-Packs Series 3, which will add the 1979’s film’s distinctive space suits and the ship’s synthetic human Ash to the line-up. Offerings based on the 1986 sequel Aliens include Aliens Two-Packs Series 1 and 2, Aliens Single Packs Series 1, and Aliens Deluxe Minimates Series 1, with the Power Loader and Alien Queen.

And if you’re an Aliens fan, be on the lookout for the new, glow-in-the-dark Warrior Alien Vinyl Bust Bank, also available exclusively from Hastings and MovieStop! It’s got the same detailed sculpt as the regular Warrior Alien bank, but it is cast entirely in glowing material! In stores and online now!

Hastings and Valiant Entertainment Team for “The Craft of Comics”

The Craft of ComicsHastings stores across the nation have joined forces with Valiant Entertainment for “The Craft of Comics” – a groundbreaking comic book workshop live-streaming with live audience Q&A for four weeks this fall. The month-long in-store event will launch Saturday, September 19th and continue every Saturday through October 10th.

Broadcasting live into more than 140 Hastings locations nationwide, each installment of “The Craft of Comics” will feature a live tutorial with an all-star Valiant creator as they detail the practice and principles underlying one of the four key disciplines involved in the creation of comics: writing, penciling, inking, and coloring.

Each Hastings guest will receive a free exclusive “The Craft of Comics” workbook produced by Valiant Entertainment to create and refine their skills over the course of the four-week workshop. Inspired guests can then enter “The Craft of Comics” contest, where one lucky contestant will emerge victoriously and earn immortal bragging rights by having his or her work published in an upcoming Valiant comic.

Creators schedule to stream live during the workshop include:

WEEK ONE – WRITING: 
James Asmus (Writer, Quantum and Woody)
September 19th at 6pm ET (5pm CT, 4pm MT, 3pm PT)WEEK TWO – PENCILING: 

Clayton Henry (Artist, Archer & Armstrong)
September 26th at 5pm ET (4pm CT, 3pm MT, 2pm PT)

WEEK THREE – INKING: 

Ryan Winn (Inker, Divinity)
October 3rd at 5pm ET (4pm CT, 3pm MT, 2pm PT)

WEEK FOUR – COLORING: 

David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
October 10th at 7pm ET (6pm CT, 5pm MT, 4pm PT)

Contact your local store that will be participating in these events regarding streaming times and other details. Come ready for fun weekends of learning invaluable comic skills and experiencing your exclusive chance to become a published comic book artist!

Around the Tubes

The weekend is almost here! I’m spending it reading some comics, and generally relaxing… plus there’s a game night too. Hope everyone else has a fun weekend!

Around the Tubes

ICv2 – NECA/WizKids Owner Buys Hastings – This could be interesting.

Kotaku – Marvel Superheroes, Recreated As Custom LEGO Minifigures – Very cool! I want them all.

 

Around the Tubes Reviews

Collected Editions – A Game of Thrones Vol. 1

Comic Vine – Elektra #4

Comic Vine – Nova #19

Talking Comics – Robin Rises: Omega #1

Comic Vine – Secret Avengers #5

Comic Vine – Silver Surfer #4

Talking Comics – The Squidder #1

CBR – The Squidder #1

Talking Comics – Teen Titans #1

Comic Vine – Ultimate FF #4

Comic Vine – Uncanny X-Men #23

Around the Tubes

It’s new comic book day! What’s everyone excited for and getting?

Around the Tubes

Pando Daily – Machinima’s new CEO digs in, lays out a plan to return the MCN to its former glory – It’ll be interesting to see what they do to improve.

iO9 – The 12 Weirdest Comic Crossovers Ever – Yup, these are weird.

ICv2 – Hastings CEO, CFO Out – I really want to see where this goes.

JoBlo – We interview Kevin Feige about Captain America 2, Hulk, Avengers 2, & more! – Some good details.

The Mary Sue – Agents of SHIELD Showrunners Respond to Criticism, Blame Unrealistic Fan Expectations – Nope, can’t be bad writing, acting, plots. Nope, not at all.

Around the Tubes Reviews

The Beat – Inhuman #1

ICv2 – The Simon & Kirby Library: Horror HC

Around the Tubes

It’s new comic book day! What’s everyone looking forward to this week?

Around the Tubes

Kansas City Star – Planet Comicon: Where nerds are cool – Nice read.

ICv2 – NECA to Acquire Retailer Hastings – Interesting.

The Verge – Disney is planning sequels to ‘The Incredibles’ and ‘Cars’ – Yes please on The Incredibles!

The Verge – ‘Star Wars: Episode VII’ will take place 30 years after ‘Return of the Jedi’ – Counting down.

 

Around the Tubes Reviews

Talking Comics – Rat Queens Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery

Around the Tubes

The weekend is almost here. What’s everyone have on their schedule?

Around the Blogs

Comics Bulletin – We Hear You – So Shut Up Already!Solid article on the Cassandra Cain and Stephanie Brown DC Comics issue.

Bleeding Cool – Hastings Puts Its Comics Online – Including The VariantsThere goes that market.

Kotaku – Stan Lee’s Latest Superhero Creation Has the Power to Fall From the Sky. Hey, Me Too!Okay then.

Around the Tubes Reviews

Talking Comics – Avengers Assemble #9

Talking Comics – Batgirl #14

Examiner – Fantastic Four #1

Talking Comics – Fantastic Four #1

CBR – Where is Jake Ellis? #1

Comics Alliance – ‘Scene of the Crime’ and ‘Rock Bottom’ Find New Homes At Image

Paste Magazine – Comic Book & Graphic Novel Round-up 11/14/12

Marvel and Hastings Define Irony With Their Captain America #1 Variant

i·ro·ny [ahy-ruh-nee, ahy-er-]

the use of words to convey a meaning that is the opposite of its literal meaning: the irony of her reply, “How nice!” when I said I had to work all weekend.

The variant cover of Captain America #1 that’ll appear in Hastings stores has been released. And, while I generally like the cover, there’s something that made me chuckle and immediately thought of the words “irony” and “hypocrisy.”

Notice Captain America batting away bullets, including one with the word “censorship.” The problem is, Hastings Entertainment and Marvel’s parent company Disney both supported last year’s legislation, SOPA and PIPA that would have severely censored the internet. Marvel also has a history of censoring works after public outcries, no matter how ridiculous they may be.

Almost American