Tag Archives: emma kubert

They Were Cast Aside, But They May Be the Ones to Save the World in Foundlings

Foundlings

John Stanisci and Emma Kubert have teamed together to create Foundlings, a brand new dystopian young adult comic book series in the vein of Stranger Things and The Goonies, tackling issues of diversability and empowerment. The series follows a group of children cast aside by their families and society…until they were possibly the only ones capable of saving it. Funding exclusively on Kickstarter, and if successful, planned for a full graphic novel, Foundlings is a timely story tackling themes of global politics and ableism in a story that will keep readers on immersed for 28 pages.

The comic is currently being offered through Kickstarter. The campaign ends on November 13 and has an $8,000 goal.

Years in the future, a virus has been weaponized by a Russian government hell-bent on destroying America from within. This deadly new strain has been perfected to kill within 24 hours of contact, and only small groups of children carry immunity to the effects. They are the Foundlings; a diverse group of children under the age of 16, who alone carry the hope for a possible cure, and a solution to extinction.

Foundlings centers around one very special group of kids, all who still dream of the families that long ago abandoned them, and instead find family in each other in order to survive and find a way to save the Earth from destruction. The story is inspired by The Foundlings Hospital in New York City, which is a real-life home to children, many of whom are challenged with physical and emotional issues. The story is rich with themes of empowerment and inspiration for teenagers and adults alike, in a fun adventure story that recalls some of the most beloved films and television series.

Funding exclusively through this Kickstarter campaign is a self-contained comic book story, published in a 28 page, full-color comic format, written by John Stanisci, and drawn by Emma Kubert, with two covers available.

Currently on Kickstarter, $5 gets you a digital copy of the comic with $10 getting a “Kickstarter Edition” physical copy. Other tiers feature pins, variants, signed copies, and even the ability to be drawn into the comic.

Inkblot #1 Heads Back to Print and Gets a New Cover by Andy Kubert

Image Comics has rushed Inkblot #1 by Rusty Gladd and Emma Kubert back to print in order to keep up with the overwhelming customer demand for the enchanting fantasy adventure series. The second printing cover will feature art by Andy Kubert and be available this month.

This new ongoing series follows a powerful sorceress attempting to correct her greatest mistake—the creation of a magical cat that can travel through time, space, and reality. The cat threatens to unravel the fabric of the universe, doesn’t care, and just won’t listen!  

Inkblot #1, second printing (Diamond Code JUL209306) will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, September 30.

Inkblot #1, second printing

Inkblot Sees a Magical Cat Threatening to Unravel the Fabric of the Universe

Third-generation comic artist Emma Kubert partners with up-and-coming writer Rusty Gladd to deliver the epic high-fantasy adventure, Inkblot. The new ongoing series will launch from Image Comics this September.

Kubert is known most recently for contributions as a penciler, inker, and colorist for DC Entertainment’s DC Super Hero Girls and Teen Titans Go! She also drew layouts for The New York Times bestselling young adult graphic novel Raven by Kami Garcia and Gabriel Picolo.

Inkblot follows a powerful sorceress attempting to correct her greatest mistake—the creation of a magical cat that can travel through time, space, and reality. The cat threatens to unravel the fabric of the universe, doesn’t care, and just won’t listen! 

Inkblot #1 will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, September 2.

Inkblot #1

Review: Teen Titans: Raven

Teen Titans: Raven is the newest graphic novel from DC Ink and it’s absolutely fantastic. The comic delivers a fresh take on the popular character and has us excited to see what comes next.

Story: Kami Garcia
Art: Gabriel Picolo with Jon Sommariva, Emma Kubert
Color: David Calderon
Letters: Tom Napolitano

Get your copy in comic shops now and in book stores on July 2! To find a comic shop near you, visit http://www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

Amazon
Kindle & comiXology
TFAW

DC Comics provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review
This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Graphic Policy does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Preview: Army of Darkness/Bubba Ho-Tep #1

Army of Darkness/Bubba Ho-Tep #1

writer: Scott Duvall
artist: Vincenzo Federici
covers: Carlos Gomez (A), Tom Mandrake (B), Robert Hack (C), Diego Galindo (D), Emma Kubert (E)
Carlos Gomez (RI-B/W), Emma Kubert (RI-B/W), Diego Galindo (RI-B/W), Tom Mandrake (RI-B/W), Robert Hack (RI-Virg)
FC | 32 pages | Comedy/Horror | $3.99 | Teen+

Two cult classics clash for the first time in an epic crossover miniseries: ARMY OF DARKNESS VS. BUBBA HO-TEP. Ash embarks on a soul-searching road trip to Texas on a hunch that Elvis Presley may still be alive and kicking (and supposedly vanquished a mummy)! What follows is a series of universe-spanning events that involve an Elvis jumpsuit with special time-travel abilities, a trip to 70’s Vegas, plus the reveal of an evil new Book of the Dead, the Necronomicon Ho-Tep. Has Ash met his ultimate match when trading barbs with a 4,000-year-old, foul-mouthed mummy who sucks souls? Can his idol Elvis mentor him through a mid-life crisis before it becomes his final crisis? Join the adventure in a road-tripping, time-hopping groovy tale!

Army of Darkness/Bubba Ho-Tep #1