Tag Archives: christopher peterson

Matt Miner and Christopher Peterson Talk Haunted Muscle Cars and Death Trap!

Kickstarter chase variant cover, art and color by Darren Lo (@DLo168)
Kickstarter chase variant cover, art, and color by Darren Lo (@DLo168)

From the Death Trap Press Release:

A haunted muscle car, a circus crime family, a dancing bear, bearded women, methed out carnies, crab twins, and a young woman teamed up with the ghost of her dead father on a mission of vengeance: just some of the utter insanity that awaits you in the hot new comic Death Trap, now launched on Kickstarter!

The 4-issue mini-series is the high-octane brainchild of creators Matt Miner (Toe Tag Riot, All We Ever Wanted) and Christopher Peterson (Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight). Josh Jensen and  Matt Krotzer are the colorist and letterer on the book.

Recently, Matt and Chris took the time to answer a few questions for Graphic Policy about Death Trap and its inspiration.

Adam Cadmon: So the obvious question, why a Mercury Cougar? Does that model have personal significance?

Matt Miner: I mean, it’s a badass muscle car that doesn’t see enough love in pop culture.  Look at those hidden headlights – just makes that front grill so sexy.  It’s also the car I’m looking to buy, you know, when I can afford it, and find one with a manual transmission that’s in good running shape, because I’m a comic writing dog rescuer, not a mechanic.

Christopher Peterson: I think Matt decided to find a car that no one has any extensive reference for me to draw … so I hope he likes 1968 Ford Mustangs in half his panels. But seriously, it’s cool to have something different instead of the usual muscle cars.

AC: The book’s press release states that Death Trap is a “love letter to carsploitation and revenge flicks of the 1970s and 1980s…” What made you want to explore this type of book now?

MM:  Most of my previous work has more of a political edge, but I think right now in the world of 2019, we need fun escapes more and more.  I’ve been a huge fan of B-movies my whole life, and am stoked to partner up with Chris, who has experience bringing the exploitation film feeling to comics.  This comic is an enormous amount of wild and bloody fun.

CP: I like this era/style/genre because it’s got a lot of clunk to it. I enjoy the grounded foundation where there’s no magic or anything, just people in a rural area without all this slick technology and style … and then we dump the wacky onto it. I love realism, but with a slight kick to it – everything has just a bit of an aberrant or bizarre quality to it that makes it fun

AC: You’ve done some socially conscious stuff in the past, Matt, will Death Trap address current events or is this a more localized story as regards Ollie and her family?

MM: Death Trap steers clear of real-life politics in an overt sense.  At least for me, it’s nice to get a break from that stuff that hangs over our heads every day, and dive into a world of circus freaks and vendettas and dancing bears.  My fingerprints are all over this thing, though – it’s not like we kicked our progressive sensibilities to the curb when creating the book.

And our albino dancing bear’s name is Wojtek (pronounced Voy-tek) after the World War 2 Polish bear who carried artillery shells and smashed Nazis. 

CP: I think the main thread going through all this is that we treat these characters like people, including backstories. We’re not here to make fun of people with differences or laugh at their situation – we hope we’re empowering them – and that hopefully comes across.

AC: This book crosses into several genres, that said, what overall tone are you going for?

MM: F’n bananas fun.

CP: Finding peace in chaos.

Check out the Kickstarter for Death Trap here!


Adam is a writer, an explorer of consciousness, a dog owner (times 2) and a decent fellow if you ask him. He currently lives in a suburb about 20 minutes from downtown Atlanta.

Matt Miner, Christopher Peterson, Josh Jensen, and Matt Krotzer’s Death Trap is Live on Kickstarter

A 4-issue miniseries, Death Trap is about a hunt for a killer. Ollie teams up with the ghost of her father, who haunts his old Mercury Cougar, to find his killer. Set in a world of circus sideshow freaks, dancing bears, bearded strong women, and methed-out carnies, the story is one of betrayal.

Sound interesting? You can back it now on Kickstarter.

Death Trap is written by Matt Miner with art by Christopher Peterson, colors by Josh Jensen, and lettering by Matt Krotzer.

The Kickstarter campaign features digital copies of the series, exclusive covers, trades, personal art, and more!

You can head to the Kickstarter and check out a preview of the comic and see all that’s offered.

The campaign runs until October 2 at 11:59 EDT and is looking to raise $18,000.

Death Trap #1

Preview: Broken World TP

Broken World TP

Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Writer: Frank J. Barbiere
Artist: Christopher Peterson
Cover Artist: Christian Ward
Price: $19.99

With a meteor days away from causing an extinction-level event on Earth, time is running out for Elena Marlowe. While most of the planet’s population and her family were approved by the government to escape on one of the giant spaceships headed to another planet, her application was denied due to her mysterious past. With the meteor fast approaching, Elena desperately tries to find a way to fake her way onto the last ship or else be left behind to die with the rest of Earth’s rejected denizens. Collects the complete limited series.

BrokenWord_TP_Cover

Preview: Broken World #4 (of 4)

Broken World #4 (of 4)

Author: Frank J. Barbiere
Artist: Christopher Peterson

Final issue! Elena reaches the secret emergency rocket location that might help her reach her family, but she’s got cult members and security on her tail.

BrokenWorld_004_A_Main

Preview: Broken World #2 (of 4)

Broken World #2 (of 4)

Writer: Frank J. Barbiere
Artist: Christopher Peterson

With the world falling apart around her, Elena finds one of the government-issued suicide kits and is torn between ending her life and fighting for one last chance to reconnect with her family.

BrokenWorld_002_A_Main

Preview: Broken World #1 (of 4)

Broken World #1 (of 4)

Author: Frank J. Barbiere
Artist: Christopher Peterson

With a meteor days away from causing an extinction-level event on Earth, time is running out for Elena Marlowe. While most of the planet’s population and her family were approved by the government to escape on one of the giant spaceships headed to another planet, her application was denied due to her mysterious past. With the meteor fast approaching, Elena tries desperately to find a way to fake her way onto the last ship or else be left behind to die with the rest of Earth’s rejected denizens.

BrokenWorld_001_A_Main

Frank J. Barbiere and Christopher Peterson Explore the End with Broken World

BOOM! Studios has announced the June debut of Broken World, a new sci-fi thriller and survival adventure series from Frank J. Barbiere and Christopher Peterson. Broken World explores the lives of people left behind on the last days of Earth, perfect for fans of Y: The Last Man or The Massive.

With a meteor days away from causing an extinction-level event on Earth, time is running out for Elena Marlowe. While most of the planet’s population and her family were approved by the government to escape on one of the giant spaceships headed to another planet, her application was denied due to her mysterious past. With the meteor fast approaching, Elena tries desperately to find a way to fake her way onto the last ship or else be left behind to die with the rest of Earth’s rejected denizens.

Broken World #1 arrives in comic shops on June 3rd with a main cover by series artist Christopher Peterson for the price of $3.99 under Diamond order code APR151199. Also available in a limited quantity are a 10 Years incentive cover by Frazer Irving and a retailer incentive cover by Christian Ward.

Broken World #1 10 Years Incentive Cover by Frazer Irving (full wraparound image shown) Broken World #1 Incentive Cover by Christian Ward Broken World #1 Main Cover by Christopher Peterson

Preview: Headspace #1

Headspace #1

Writer: Ryan K. Lindsay
Art: Christopher Peterson, Eric Zawadzki
Colorist: Marissa Louise, Eric Zawadski
Letterer: Eric Zawadzki
Price: $0.99
Pages: 27
Rating: 15+

The inhabitants of Carpenter Cove discover their strange town is actually a construct in the mind of a killer. Shane, the sheriff, wants to get back to his real life but one dark connection between him and the killer is going to make him rethink everything.

Headspace_01-1

Preview: GoGetters #1

GoGetters #1

Writer/Letterer: Shawn Aldridge
Art: Christopher Peterson
Colorist: Nick Johnson
Price: $.99
Pages: 22
Rating: 12+

Maya Diaz and her “pet” white gorilla, George Harrison, run a retrieval company: GoGetters Retrieval, Inc. Need something retrieved, be it a person, rare coin, a favorite cocktail jacket, or genetically engineered clown-panda? You call them. Hired to retrieve the only legal Double Eagle coin in existence, Maya and George find themselves fighting numerically challenged thugs and hoping they have enough nectarines to see them through.

Go-Getters_01-1