Tag Archives: amanda connor

DC Collectibles Expands to Walmart

DC Collectibles is bringing its acclaimed Batman: Black and White statue line to Walmart stores as 4″ mini-figures. The new figures are direct transformations of the company’s acclaimed 9″-scale figures and feature designs from many world-renowned artists including Jim Lee, Bruce Timm, Amanda Conner, Darwyn Cooke and many more.

Batman: Black and White is DC Collectibles’ longest-running statue line and one of their best-sellers.

But, there’s a twist…

The 4″ line of figures will be packaged in individual blind bags stocked next to DC Comic Giants. Each month a new wave of six figures will be released widening the selection and upping the surprise factor.

The first waves of DC Collectibles Batman: Black and White 4″ figures heading to Walmart stores include:

February 2019:

  • Batman by Amanda Connor
  • Batman by Darwyn Cooke
  • Batman by Jason Fabok
  • Batman by Patrick Gleason
  • Batman by Frank Quitely
  • Batman by Dick Sprang

April 2019:

  • Harley Quinn by Bruce Timm
  • Robin by Frank Quitely
  • Batman by Mike Allred
  • Batman by John Romita Jr.
  • Batman by Gary Frank
  • Batman by Eduardo Risso

June 2019

  • The Joker by Jim Lee
  • Batman by Dustin Nguyen
  • Batman by Mike Mignola
  • Batman by Sean “Cheeks” Galloway
  • Batman from Batman: Arkham Asylum
  • Batman by Jim Lee

August 2019

  • Penguin by Brian Bolland
  • Robin by Carmine Infantino
  • Batman by Carmine Infantino
  • Batman by Chris Uminga
  • Batman by Jae Lee
  • Batman by Brian Bolland

The Walmart exclusive Batman: Black and White figures are priced at an MSRP of $5.00 each.

Batman: Black and White Wave 1
Batman: Black and White Wave 2
Batman: Black and White Wave 3
Batman: Black and White Wave 4

Dynamite’s Red Sonja Amanda Connor Statue

Red Sonja Amanda Connor Statue

Price: $89.99
Rating: Teen +
Art: Jason Smith (sculptor)

If you love comic book heroines, you undoubtedly love Amanda Conner, whose illustrations have brought the beloved characters Harley Quinn, Vampirella, Power Girl, and (of course) Red Sonja to life! Dynamite Entertainment proudly brings this fan-favorite comic book artist’s vision of the She-Devil with a Sword to three dimensions with this hand-painted, limited edition resin statue! Based on Conner’s cover artwork to Red Sonja: The Black Tower #1, the statue is sculpted by Jason Smith, measures approximately 7.5″ high, and stands on a 3″ wide base. Including a numbered Certificate of Authenticity and shipping in a full-color display box, the Red Sonja by Amanda Conner Statue reveals our well-armed warrior, ready for action!

Red Sonja Amanda Connor Statue – Bronze Limited Edition

Price: $149.99
Rating: Teen +
Art: Jason Smith (sculptor)

ONLY 299 STATUES IN THE WORLD! Comic book sensation Amanda Conner’s depiction of Red Sonja has been immortalized in bronze in this Limited Edition variant statue! Dynamite Entertainment proudly brings this fan-favorite comic book artist’s vision of the She-Devil with a Sword to three dimensions with this hand-painted, limited edition resin statue! Based on Conner’s cover artwork to Red Sonja: The Black Tower #1, the statue is sculpted by Jason Smith, measures approximately 7.5″ high, and stands on a 3″ wide base. Including a numbered Certificate of Authenticity and shipping in a full-color display box, the Red Sonja by Amanda Conner Statue reveals our well-armed warrior, ready for action!
NOTE: Limited to only 299 statues. Allocations may occur.

Review: Harley Quinn #5

harley-cv5_dsI’m torn on Harley Quinn. She’s very much like Will Ferrell from the early 2000’s; in a leading roll almost unbearable, but taken in small doses quite a bit of fun. Needless to say, when I started reading the comics DC were putting out post-Rebirth for Graphic Policy’s Rebirth Review, Harley Quinn was the one I looked forward to the least.

The first issue was only slightly better than I expected and were it not for the previously mentioned feature I probably would have stopped reading there and then. By the end of the first arc, I no longer wanted to have my nose hairs waxed instead of reading the series – indeed, it is fair to say that over the course of the first four issue Harley an her gang of reprobates grew on me in much the same way a mushroom grows in the woods. It’s a fungus, yeah, but not an unpleasant one.

Which brings us to Harley Quin #5.

This is going to be a comic that you either like or don’t, and you’re going to know pretty early on whether that’s going to be the case. The story centers around Harley’s desire to form a punk band for some reason or another (I won’t tell you, because of spoilers, but it’s a comically stupid reason). The motivation for this is both completely stupid, and yet entirely within keeping of the style of the comic – and here’s my problem with the issue.

It dances between being utterly eye bleachingly absurd, to just absurd enough to be enjoyable, such as the surprisingly normal Deadpool parody Red Tool infiltrating a yacht. The scene is just the right blend of entertainingly ridiculousness that the series is good at only to have a conclusion that belongs in a Looney Toons cartoon. It’s one of those scenes that perfectly illustrates the style of the comic; if you like it, then you’re going to be in luck, but if you don’t…

Look, it’s pretty clear that Harley Quinn #5 isn’t my cup of tea, but if you’ve enjoyed the series so far then you’ll probably like this one quite a bit. Me? Not so much.

Story: Amanda Connor & Jimmy Palmiotti Artist: John Timms
Story: 6 Art: 7.25 Overall: 6.25 Recommendation: Pass

DC Comics provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review.

Preview – Creator Owned Heroes #8

Creator Owned Heroes #8

By: Steve Niles, Scott Morse, Jimmy Palmiotti, Justin Gray, Jerry Lando, Paul Mounts, Darwyn Cooke Cover By: Scott Morse Variant Cover by: Amanda Connor & Paul Mounts
Price: $3.99

A monthly feature featuring graphic strips and material by DARWYN COOKE, plus: “LEAPING TALL BUILDINGS: INDEPENDENT SPIRITS” a profile feature by CHRISTOPHER IRVING and SETH KUSHNER featuring JAMIE & GILBERT HERNANDEZ.

“KILL SWITCH,” Conclusion
The game of death continues in it’s final chapter as Kill Switch, surrounded by an army of blood thirsty assassins and dealing the last issue’s betrayal, vows to hunt down and punish the person responsible no matter how long it takes!

“MEATBAG,” Part Two
Potbelly Sanders is dead, deceased, expired. Now Detective DeSanto is on his own, and falling further and further into darkness. Part Two of “Meatbag” concludes with a twist of bizarre noir by SCOTT MORSE and STEVE NILES in their first CREATOR-OWNED HEROES collaboration.

Interviews, contests, art galleries, con photos, and original articles, all celebrating the creator-owned spirit.

creatorowned08_covera

Preview – Retrovirus HC

Retrovirus HC

Story by: Jimmy Palmiotti Art By: Norberto Fernandez Cover By: Amanda Connor
Price: $12.99

When Zoe, a brilliant young scientist who specializes in identifying extinct viruses, is offered a job at a remote research facility in Antarctica, she soon discovers her employer has unearthed a perfectly preserved Neanderthal. That is only one of the many dark secrets lurking at the facility as Zoe races against time to stop a global pandemic.

In the vein of Andromeda Strain, Altered States and Jurassic Park, RETROVIRUS seamlessly blends human drama, action, science fiction and horror in a 64 page graphic novel written by JIMMY PALMIOTTI & JUSTIN GRAY (QUEEN CRAB, JONAH HEX, CREATOR-OWNED HEROES) and illustrated by NORBERTO FERNANDEZ (THE TATTERED MAN).

The study of prehistory is deadly in Retrovirus

Dr. Zoe Wallace, the protagonist of Jimmy Palmiotti‘s and Justin Gray‘s new graphic novella Retrovirus, is one of the best in the field of viral evolution, a brilliant young scientist who attracts the attention of one of the world’s largest and most powerful bio-pharmaceutical corporations. Zoe doesn’t usually use her expertise for profit, but when Bio-Pharm gives her the chance to research a prehistoric virus, she can’t pass up the chance. However, once Zoe is in their Antarctic compound, face-to-face with a perfectly preserved Neanderthal, Bio-Pharm’s secrets may ensure that she never sees the outside world again.

And Zoe has a secret of her own—one that turns her research from theoretical to deeply personal.

A science fiction thriller that reaches all the way back to human prehistory and pulls the struggle for existence into the twenty-first century, Retrovirus is written by the team that has brought the comics industry Creator-Owned Heroes and Queen Crab and carries on the legacy of comics great Tony DeZuniga with Jonah Hex. Gorgeously rendered by Norberto Fernandez and featuring a cover by Amanda ConnorRetrovirus blends human drama with science fiction and action in a story that will make readers think about the survival of our species in a new—and frightening—light.

Retrovirus, a 72-page, full-color graphic novella, will be in stores on November 21 and is available now for pre-order.

RETROVIRUS Hardcover Graphic Novel
Story by: Jimmy Palmiotti
Art By: Norberto Fernandez
Cover By: Amanda Connor

Price: $12.99
Diamond ID: SEP120411
ISBN: 978-1-60706-640-8
On Sale: November 21, 2012

Preview – Gatecrasher Vol. 1: Ring of Fire TP

Gatecrasher Vol. 1: Ring of Fire TP

Story by:Mark Waid & Jimmy Palmiotti Art By: Amanda Connor & Jimmy Palmiotti
Price: $12.99

Unbeknownst to the human race, a great and terrible evil threatens to engulf the earth. College freshman Alec Wagner is the “Gatecrasher,” a somewhat reluctant member of a covert brigade of warriors dedicated to protecting Earth. As sole possessor of the ability to predict the opening of inter-dimensional gates, Alec assumes nearly overwhelming responsibility for his team, conducting the Split-Second Squad against alien invaders. However, battling aliens is not the only thing on Alec’s mind. While juggling college and inter-dimensional combat, Alec also has high prospects for his social life, if he could ever show up on time for a date!

Collects Black Bull Media’s GATECRASHER #1-4.