Search for Hu banner ad

Chip Zdarsky and Jacob Phillips Team for Newburn in November

Writer Chip Zdarsky is in cahoots with fan-favorite artist Jacob Phillips for an all new, ongoing crime comic titled, Newburn. This hardboiled new series will launch from Image Comics in November.

In Newburn, readers meet Easton Newburn, a private detective without loyalties investigating conflicts between rival crime factions while collecting enemies along the way. In this debut issue, a man is murdered after stealing from his own mafia family, but they aren’t the ones who ordered the hit…

Newburn is the perfect crime series for fans of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips’ Criminal and classic Raymond Chandler books. The series is perhaps best described as Sherlock meets The Wire.

The debut issue will also include a riveting backup story called, “Brooklyn Zirconia,” by rising stars Nadia Shammas and Ziyed Yusuf Ayoub and feature a cover B by critically acclaimed artist Tula Lotay.

Newburn #1 will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, November 3:

  • Newburn #1 Cover A Phillips – Diamond Code SEP210011
  • Newburn #1 Cover B Lotay – Diamond Code SEP210012
Newburn #1
Almost American