The 2019 Prism Awards Nominees Have Been Announced

Prism Comics, The Queer Comics Expo and the Cartoon Art Museum have announced the Nominees for the Third Annual Prism Awards. The winners of this year’s Prism Awards and Prism Award Honorees will be announced at the Prism Awards presentation at San Diego Comic-Con, Thursday, July 18 through Sunday, July 21, 2019. The day and time of the presentation will be posted when Comic-Con programming schedule is published in early July.

The Prism Awards are presented to comic works by queer authors and works that promote the growing body of diverse, powerful, innovative, positive or challenging representations of LGBTQAI+ characters in fiction or nonfiction comics. The goal of the Awards is to recognize, promote and celebrate diversity and excellence in the field of queer comics, and the nominees and awards are voted on by a diverse group comics professionals, educators, librarians, journalists and writers.

Announcing the Nominees for the 2019 Prism Awards.

Short Form Nominees:
You Don’t Have To Be Afraid of Me by Victor Martins 
Fazenda De Sangue Azul by H. Pueyo and Dante Luiz 
see me by e Jackson

Webcomic Nominees:
SuperButch by Barry Deutsch & Becky Hawkins
After the Fog by H-P Lehkonen   
Null Point by Amara Sherm

Small To Midsize Press Nominees:
It Will Be Hard by Hien Pham(self published) 
Meal by Blue Delliquanti and Soleil Ho (Iron Circus) 
The Lie and How We Told It by Tommy Parish (Fantagraphics)

Mainstream Nominees:
Runaways #12 by Rainbow Rowell, Kris Anka, Matthew Wilson and Joe Carmagna (Marvel) 
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #6 by Mark Russell, Brandee Stilwell, Paul Mounts, Jeremy Lawson, Rose Campbell, Ben Caldwell, Mark Morales, Gus Vazquez, Sean Parsons and Mike Feehan (DC) 
Lumberjanes: The Infernal Compass by Lilah Sturges, polterink, and Jim Campbell (Boom! Studios)

Anthology Nominees:
ABO Comix Vol 2: A Comic Anthology by LGBTQ Prisoners edited by Casper Cendre  
Group Chat edited by Carolynn Calabrese, Jenny Mott, Ashley Gallagher, Rachel Weiss 
Being True: LGBTQ+ Comics From The Boston Comics Roundtable edited by Renie Jesanis, Kyri Lorenz, and Steph Rose Glass

Below is the group of fifteen judges who read and evaluated this year’s submissions:

Short Form Judges:
Mey Valdivia Rude (writer at them, Autostraddle)
Joamette Gil (Heartwood: Non-binary Tales of Sylvan Fantasy)
Sfé R. Monster (The Beyond Anthologies)

Webcomic Judges:
Matt Lubchansky (The Nib)
Ajuan Mance (Gender Studies)
Zora Gilbert (Dates: An Anthology of Queer Historical Fiction Stories, Books 1 and 2)

Small to Midsize Press Comic Judges:
Juliette Capra (Crowded)
Noella Whitney (Dates: An Anthology of Queer Historical Fiction Stories, Book 2 )
Heidi MacDonald (editor-in-chief of Comicsbeat)

Mainstream Publisher Comic Judges:
Brian Andersen (Stripling Warrior)
AJ Real (writer, Advanced Death Saves)
Jack Baur (Librarian, Berkeley Public Library)

Anthology Judges:
e jackson (Flux)
Hazel Newlevant (Sugar Town)
Rob McMonigal (founder and head writer at Panel Patter)

The Prism Awards Organizing Team:
Ted Abenheim (Prism Comics)
Nina Taylor Kester (Queer Comics Expo, Cartoon Art Museum)
Maia Kobabe (Gender Queer: A Memoir)