Prism Comics Announces Deadline for 2013 Queer Press Grant

Queer_Press_Grant_QPG_Logo_mail_chimpPrism Comics, the leading non-profit organization supporting LGBT comics, graphic novels, comics creators and readers, has announced the deadline for the Prism Comics Queer Press Grant, Prism’s annual grant to LGBT comics self-publishers. The deadline for proposals is Tuesday, September 3, 2013. The Award is to be announced at the Alternative Press Expo in San Francisco October 12 – 13, 2013.

Did you know that Prism Comics is the only organization in the comics field which offers an annual financial grant to help aspiring comics creators publish and promote their comics? The Grant is funded by donations from readers, creators with the desire to help those just starting out, and fans who want to see more LGBT stories get published.

Comics and attitudes towards the LGBT community have changed a lot since Prism was founded in 2003. The comic book industry has begun embracing queer characters and topics. Every day there are new artists and writers creating comics which present the widediversity of LGBT experience with stories of coming out, personal relationships, family relationships, LGBT youth, transgender subjects, humor, sci-fi, fantasy and more. Great works of serious literary merit, but it is still difficult and expensive for independent and aspiring comics creators to get their comics into the hands of readers. The Queer Press Grant helps self-publishing LGBT comics creators accomplish this goal.

Prism Comics will be exhibiting at San Diego Comic-Con July 18-21, booth #2144. In addition to promoting and raising funds for the Queer Press Grant, Prism Comics will be presenting panels, and offering portfolio review for comics creators and those interested in submitting for the Queer Press Grant. Comics creators who are scheduled to do portfolio review include such industry greats as Phil Jimenez (X-Men, Wonder Woman, Fairest) – Saturday, July 20 2-4 pm; Bob Schreck (Batman, Legendary Comics) Saturday, July 20 3 pm; Justin Hall (Glamzaonia, No Straight Lines) and others to be announced.

Previous recipients of the Prism Comics Queer Press Grant include;

Steve Macisaac 2005     Megan Rose Gedris 2006     Justin Hall 2007
Tommy Roddy 2007       Pam Harrison 2008               Ed Luce 2008
Eric Orner 2009              Jon Macy 2010                      Tana Ford 2010
Robert Kirby 2011           Christine Smith 2012             Blue Deliquanti 2012

For more information on The Queer Press Grant, how to submit for the Grant and PrismComics please visit:

If you would like to show your support for LGBT comics please visit

Shop Marvel designs at!