Tag Archives: yusuke murata

NYCC 2022: Marvel and VIZ Media announce 3 new manga titles

Marvel is expanding its manga titles with VIZ Media with three new ones coming in 2023. The trio were announced at New York Comic Con 2022. Next year sees the release of…

WOLVERINE: SNIKT!

Story and Art by Tsutomu Nihei
Release Date: June 13, 2023
ISBN-13(s): 978-1-9747-3853-3
Format: Paperback

Tsutomu Nihei takes Wolverine to a desolate new dimension in Wolverine: Snikt!

Wolverine stands as the lone hope of the few remaining humans in a desolate wasteland as they fight to survive against robotic organisms. Will he manage to save the day and keep his own humanity, or will he lose himself to his berserker rage and bring on extinction?

In 2003, fresh off the success of his hit series Blame!, star manga creator Tsutomu Nihei connected with Marvel Comics, writing and drawing the limited series Wolverine: Snikt! Bringing his signature style to bear on the iconic X-Man, Nihei took Wolverine to a darker, more terrifying dimension, presented here in a deluxe edition.

WOLVERINE: SNIKT!

SPIDER-MAN: FAKE RED

Story and Art by Yusuke Osawa
Release Date: June 13, 2023
ISBN-13(s): 978-1-9747-3878-6

There’s a new Spider-Man in town! And he’s got a lot to learn about being a hero!

When an awkward teenager puts on Spider-Man’s suit, he quickly learns that being a hero isn’t all photo ops and social media likes.

Yu’s new high school is kind of awful. He’s failing his classes and striking out socially. Everything changes when he finds one of Spider-Man’s costumes abandoned in an alleyway. At first, it’s fun to put on the costume and play hero, but when powerful enemies start to appear, Yu quickly realizes he’s out of his element. Still, with Spider-Man nowhere to be found, the city needs someone to save it…

SPIDER-MAN: FAKE RED

MARVEL COMICS: A MANGA TRIBUTE

Featured Artists: Akira Himekawa, Chika Ogaki, Gurihiru, Hachi Ishie, Haruhiko Mikimoto, Hiroyuki Imaishi, Kamome Shirahama, Katsuya Terada, Kazuki Takahashi, Ken Niimura, Kia Asamiya, Mizuki Sakakibara, Peach Momoko, Q Hayashida, Sana Takeda, Shigeto Koyama, Shou Tajima, Studio Nadegata Circus, Takashi Okazaki, Yasuhiro Nightow, Yoshitaka Amano, Yūsuke Kozaki, Yusuke Murata.
Release Date: July 18, 2023
ISBN-13(s): 978-1-9747-3713-0
Format: Hardcover

Japanese artists celebrate the phenomenon that is the Marvel Universe!

Experience a fresh take on the Marvel Universe with this collection of stunning illustrations from over twenty exceptional Japanese artists, including Yasuhiro Nightow, Akira Himekawa, Peach Momoko, Yusuke Murata, and Yoshida Amano.

Marvel Comics: A Tribute explores Marvel’s rich and enduring legacy as a pop-culture phenomenon by paying homage to its most iconic characters and beloved stories. The book features a range of unique artwork, collected for the first time, celebrating characters from across the multiverse. A must-have for fans of Marvel Comics and Japanese art alike!

MARVEL COMICS: A MANGA TRIBUTE

VIZ Media Gets the License for Season 2 of One-Punch Man

VIZ Media has announced that it has secured the master license for the second season of the smash hit anime action series, One-Punch Man. The master license covers digital streaming, TV broadcast, EST, home media and merchandising rights for the property for the territories of North America, Latin America and Oceania. Additional details on Season 2 of One-Punch Man will be announced as it becomes available.

VIZ Media is also the exclusive North American English language publisher of the One-Punch Man manga series, which is widely available in print and digitally from leading retailers and online outlets.

Based on the best-selling manga series created by One and illustrated by Yusuke Murata, One-Punch Man depicts the adventures of Saitama, a young man who only became a hero for fun. But after three years of “special” training, he finds that he can beat even the mightiest opponents with a single punch. Though he faces new enemies every day, it turns out being devastatingly powerful is actually kind of a bore. Can a hero be too strong?

Monday Manga Review: One Punch-Man Vol. 1

one-punch-man-vol-1_cA manga series that packs quite the punch!

Nothing about Saitama passes the eyeball test when it comes to superheroes, from his lifeless expression to his bald head to his unimpressive physique. However, this average-looking guy has a not-so-average problem—he just can’t seem to find an opponent strong enough to take on! Every time a promising villain appears, he beats the snot out of ’em with one punch! Can Saitama finally find an opponent who can go toe-to-toe with him and give his life some meaning? Or is he doomed to a life of superpowered boredom?

From the web to the printed page (and to the screen in an anime) One and Yusuke Murata‘s One Punch-Man definitely delivers a punch in this first volume. For a while now I’ve heard about this manga series and hadn’t taken a look, so it felt like a smart idea to dive into the first volume for a “Manga Monday” review.

I honestly knew very little going in other than it stars a bald-headed character that packs a punch. And after finishing the first volume, I’m not sure there’s a lot more than that. One Punch-Man feels like it has a goal to spoof Western superhero comics and over the top manga. The character literally just walks up to the enemy and punches him.

It’s pretty straight forward, yet there’s still something deeper that can be debated about the series. Is it really about a search for purpose? For challenge? For satisfaction? Or is it just about punching things? It’s hard to say if the series gets much deeper than this since I just read the first volume, but on the surface, it’s not too deep… but could be.

There is a choppy flow to the manga which I wasn’t too keen on. I’m not sure how much of that was the original writing and how much is the translation by John Werry. It’s been years since I could read Japanese, so can’t really say, but it’d be interesting to see how the flow of the narrative differs between the Japanese and English dialogue.

Murata’s art is dynamic though. For as sparse as the dialogue is at times, the art speaks for the story. The power of the punch, the flow of what’s going on, it’s all there in the art. There’s sections where the comic is silent it feels like, but the story of the battle is still conveyed.

The first volume is interesting and I can see the appeal of the manga. There’s a goofy simplicity and innocence to it all that’s entertaining and fun. It’s a quick read, though you’ll linger staring at the art, and most importantly it’s entertaining and has me wanting to check out more.

Story: One Art: Yusuke Murata
Story: 9 Art: 9 Overall: 9 Recommendation: Buy

Viz Media provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review

VIZ Media Acquires Rights to One-Punch Man Anime

OnePunchMan-AnimeKeyVisualVIZ Media has teamed with VIZ Media Europe S.A.R.L., and Anime Consortium Japan Inc., to jointly announce the acquisition of the multi-territory media distribution rights for the anime series, One-Punch Man.

Announced earlier this year, the One-Punch Man anime is based on a bestselling manga series, created by writer ONE and artist Yusuke Murata, about an average-guy-turned-superhero who packs quite the punch! Three content distribution companies will join force to manage the digital distribution, home media, merchandise, and TV rights to the newly produced anime series for their respective territories.

  • VIZ Media will manage the master license for One-Punch Man in North America, Latin America and Oceania, as well as stream the series in the U.S.
  • VIZ Media Europe will oversee & stream the property for EMEA, including Russia
  • In addition, ACJ will stream the subtitled version of the program in all above territories

Additional details about availability will be forthcoming.

VIZ Media also publishes the One-Punch Man manga series under its Shonen Jump imprint.

Viz Media Announces One-Punch Man Print Manga Series Debut

OnePunchMan_GN01_coverVIZ Media delivers a knock-out blow, manga style, with the exciting print debut later this summer of the acclaimed superhero series, One-Punch Man.

Volumes 1 and 2 of the wildly popular action-comedy manga (graphic novel) series created by writer ONE and artist Yusuke Murata are both set for release in September 2015. One-Punch Man is rated ‘T’ for Teens and print volumes will carry an MSRP of $9.99 U.S. / $12.99 CAN each. Future print editions of the series, which is also ongoing in Japan, will be published in English on a bimonthly basis under VIZ Media’s Shonen Jump imprint.

In anticipation of the forthcoming print launch, VIZ Media invites readers to enjoy the first 3 chapters of One-Punch Man in a special FREE digital preview available now for a limited time on VIZManga.com and the VIZ Manga App.

For digital manga readers, One-Punch Man Vols. 1-7 are available now from VIZManga.com and the VIZ Manga App. The volumes also may be purchased through the Nook, Kindle, Kobo, comiXology, iBooks and GooglePlay stores.

In One-Punch Man, nothing about Saitama passes the eyeball test when it comes to superheroes, from his lifeless expression to his bald head to his unimpressive physique. However, this average-looking guy has a not-so-average problem – he just can’t seem to find an opponent strong enough to take on! Every time a promising villain appears, he beats the snot out of ’em with one punch! Can Saitama finally find an opponent who can go toe-to-toe with him and give his life some meaning? Or is he doomed to a life of super-powered boredom?