Tag Archives: tartarus

Comics Deserve Better Episode 8: Fearscape by Ryan O’Sullivan, Andrea Mutti, Vladmir Popov, and Andworld Design

Brian, Darci, and Logan court controversy yet again by discussing the news about the Keanu Reeves/BOOM! Studios KickStarter BRZKR as well as the announcement of the 4 Kids Walk Into the Bank film and the 2020 Ignatz Awards. But the main event of the episode is a discussion of Ryan O’Sullivan and Andrea Mutti‘s Vault Comics fantasy series Fearscape. Two of our hosts liked this book, but one was definitely drinking the haterade. You’ll have to listen to the episode to find out who’s who. Finally, other comics mentioned in this episode include Tartarus, Akagami no Shirayukihime, Grendel Kentucky, Ice Cream Man Presents: Quarantine Comix, Seance Tea Party, and Powers: The Best Ever. (Episode art by Andrea Mutti)

Tartarus #1 and On the Stump #1 Both get New Printings

Fan-favorite new series Tartarus by Johnnie Christmas and Jack T. Cole and On the Stump by Chuck Brown and Prenzy are both being rushed back to print in order to keep up with growing customer demand.

Tartarus is an immersive new science fiction/fantasy series that pairs the hyper-detailed worldbuilding of Star Wars with the gritty characters of Breaking BadTartarus follows promising young cadet Tilde who is framed for crimes against the empire after discovering her mother was the ruthless warlord of the deadly colonyTartarus, a vital player in the galactic war. Now, Tilde’s only way home may be to reclaim her mother’s dark crown.

The campaign trail is paved with blood and broken bones in the series On the Stump. In this speculative fiction/action story, history diverged in 1868 when a pivotal presidential debate turned violent. Today, elections are decided by highly publicized hand-to-hand combat in arenas called Stumps. Unfortunately, the violence doesn’t end in the ring, and powerful people can still get away with murder. Senator Jack Hammer and FBI Agent Anna Bell Lister are teaming up to bring it all down. An over-the-top violent tale full of countless injustices—and people who have to fight for their place in it.

Tartarus #1, second printing (Diamond Code JAN208958) will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, April 1.

Tartarus #1, second printing

On the Stump #1, second printing (Diamond Code JAN208956) will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, April 1.

On the Stump #1, second printing

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Gwen Stacy #1

Wednesdays are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in!

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this Wednesday.

Alienated #1 (BOOM! Studios) – Three teenagers stumble upon an unearthly entity as it’s born. That cute little pet is a super-predator in the making, and it’s in need prey. The concept sounds fascinating and BOOM! has been nailing it as far as quality.

Batman: Pennyworth RIP #1 (DC Comics) – Alfred is dead (for now) and while the impact has been touched upon, it’s been missing that focus. Well, here it is.

Big Black Stand At Attica (BOOM! Studios) – The true story about the uprising at Attica Prison.

Dragonfly & Dragonflyman #4 (AHOY Comics) – One of the best comics out there that’s both a love letter, homage, and spoof of comics throughout history. A must for fans of the superhero genre.

Go To Sleep, I Miss You: Cartoons From the Fog of New Parenthood (First Second) – As a parent, these short cartoons are so funny and hit home.

Gwen Stacy #1 (Marvel) – Marvel’s been doing a solid job of filling in history recently and this new series gives us the unknown history of Gwen Stacy.

Hawkeye Freefall #3 (Marvel) – The first two issues were so much fun and we’re expecting more of the same.

Rai (2019) #4 (Valiant) – One of the best comics on the market right now. Each issue has been fantastic.

Tartarus #1 (Image Comics) – A cadet is framed for crimes agains tthe empire after discovering her mother was a ruthless warlord. Sounds entertaining to us!

Undone By Blood #1 (Aftershock) – A tale of revenge set in the 1970s. It’s like this comic was made specifically for us.

Breaking Bad Meets Star Wars in Tartarus this February from Johnnie Christmas and Jack T. Cole

The New York Times bestselling Johnnie Christmas teams up with artist Jack T. Cole for the upcoming ongoing science fiction epic Tartarus this February from Image Comics.

In Tartarus, a promising young cadet named Tilde is framed for crimes against the empire. As the mystery unravels, Tilde discovers that her mother was the ruthless warlord of the deadly colony Tartarus and a vital player in the galactic war. Now, Tilde’s only way home may be to reclaim her mother’s dark crown. 

An action-packed adventure filled to the brim with hyper-detailed storytelling, Tartarus is best described as Breaking Bad meets Star Wars and is perfect for fans of Little Bird.

Tartarus #1 by Cover A by Cole (Diamond Code DEC190067) and Tartarus #1 Cover B by Christmas (Diamond Code DEC190068) will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, February 12.

Tartarus #1