Tag Archives: nuclear winter

Preview: Nuclear Winter OGN Vol. 2 SC

Nuclear Winter OGN Vol. 2 SC

Publisher: BOOM! Box, an imprint of BOOM! Studios
Writer:  Cab
Artist: Cab
Cover Artist: Cab
Price: $9.99

Return to the eternal winter of a post-nuclear Montreal with Flavie, who really just wants to stay in, drink coffee and steer clear of any drama.

As winter reaches its peak, Flavie is once again forced to leave her comfortable daily life to help her friend Marco in a quest for cough syrup.

She’ll soon find out that a gang of teenagers on motorized snow bikes has been stealing not only the cough syrup but other medicines that Montreal desperately needs.

Nuclear Winter OGN Vol. 2 SC

Review: Nuclear Winter Volume 1

It’s Wednesday which means it’s new comic book day with new releases hitting shelves, both physical and digital, all across the world. This week we’ve got a fantastic graphic novel!

Nuclear Winter is by Cab and lettered by Jim Campbell.

Get your copy in comic shops today and book stores on May 15. To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

Amazon/Kindle/comiXology or TFAW

 

BOOM! Studios provided Graphic Policy with FREE copies for review
This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Graphic Policy does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Wednesdays are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in!

Each week our contributors are choosing up to five books and why they’re choosing the books. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this Wednesday.

Joe

Top Pick: Venom #1 (Marvel) – Cates and Stegman on Venom! Yes! I am so excited for this book. The last run of Venom had its moments, but this looks like classic scary Venom mixed with the sometimes good guy inside. Can’t wait!

Barrier #1 (Image Comics/Panel Syndicate) – The team behind Private Eye, Vaughn and Martin reunite for a new title. Hell yes. This is a reprint of their web series they released before about illegal immigration and much more. It sounds awesome.

Runaways #9 (Marvel) – This is consistently one of my favorite reads every week and I’m glad to physically pull this book. If you’re a fan of the two old comic runs of this series or coming from the Hulu series there’s something to love.

Despicable Deadpool #300 (Marvel) – What a run it has been, Duggan! This is a super-sized issue to celebrate the merc with the mouth and Duggan’s farewell issue. I expect a lot of ridiculous humor and wtf moments.

Justice League: No Justice #1 (DC Comics) – I’m excited to see what they do with this new crazy multiple team approach to Justice League and how the series moves forward. The Justice League brand needs improvement and a way to get back to its glory days, so here’s hoping this is where it starts.

 

Alex

Old Man Logan #39 (Marvel) – I get the sense that with Wolverine returning to the Marvel universe that Old Man Logan’s time on this world is coming to a close – especially with his healing factor on the fritz. Watching the slow decline of an alternate version of one of my favorite characters is oddly enthralling.

Warhammer 40K: Deathwatch #1 (Titan) – I have no reason to want to read this beyond the cover, but sometimes that’s all that it take to pull you into a previously unfamiliar world…

 

Brett

Top Pick: Nuclear Winter Vol. 1 (BOOM! Studios) – I’ve read this cute graphic novel and it’s awesome. Basically a nuclear power plant blew and things are irradiated. So, how do you live under a nuclear winter? Find out in what I’m hoping will be many more volumes to come.

Barrier #2 (Image Comics/Panel Syndicate) – Joe picked the first issue and I’m going with the second. You should get both of these!! The series is amazing and an absolute must read.

Oblivion Song #3 (Image Comics/Skybound Entertainment) – The first two issue have been fantastic so far and the detail and use of real world situations have been brilliant.

Southern Bastards #20 (Image Comics) – A gut punch of an issue that had me tense throughout as I turned each page.

Star Trek: The Next Generation: Through the Mirror #2 (IDW Publishing) – The Mirror Universe comes over to the main one in this weekly series. The first issue was great and them mystery deepens. It’s a little slow but fantastic Star Trek for those that love the Mirror Universe.

 

Preview: Nuclear Winter OGN Vol. 1 SC

Nuclear Winter OGN Vol. 1 SC

Publisher: BOOM! Box, an imprint of BOOM! Studios
Writer: Caroline Breault
Artist: Caroline Breault
Cover Artist: Caroline Breault
Letterer: Jim Campbell
Price: $9.99

It’s been nine years since an accident at a nuclear power plant plunged Montreal into an eternal winter; the city is now blanketed 365 days a year in radioactive snow.

Life goes on for folks like Flavie Beaumont, a mail courier on snowmobile who’s carved out a pretty normal life for herself despite mutant rivals, eclectic urban wildlife, and unrelenting meteorological events of unprecedented force.

It turns out surviving nuclear winter is hard… but surviving your twenties is even harder!
This original graphic novel is perfect for fans of Giant Days.

BOOM! Studios Bundles Up for Nuclear Winter

BOOM! Studios has announced the first volume of Nuclear Winter, a humorous, slice-of-life original graphic novel coming May 2018 from cartoonist Cab about a young woman just trying to survive her twenties in Montreal—albeit a Montreal that’s been plunged into an eternal winter with radioactive snow, thanks to an accident at the local nuclear power plant that occurred nine years ago. Life goes on for folks like Flavie Beaumont, a mail courier on snowmobile who’s carved out a pretty normal life for herself despite mutant rivals, eclectic urban wildlife, and unrelenting meteorological events.

Print copies of the English-language debut of Nuclear Winter Volume One will be available for sale May 2018.

Entertainment Earth