Tag Archives: graphic novel

Paul Levitz and Simon Fraser Explore Life After Death in Unfinished Business

From comics legend, New York Times Best-Selling Graphic Books writer and Eisner Award Hall of Fame inductee Paul Levitz and artist Simon Fraser comes Unfinished Business, a tantalizing original graphic novel of dark mystery and magical realism that examines the relationship between science and society through the lenses of multiple religions.

A priest, a minister and a rabbi walk into a bar . . . a would-be lead-in to an amusing anecdote were it not for the three being dead. But this is no zombie apocalypse. The clerics have a bit of unfinished business tied to their demise that heaven needs them to address, if they can. But what is the reward for unraveling the riddle of their deaths—is it life, afterlife, or oblivion? Maybe they can ask the smiling bartender, who just might be…?

Unfinished Business goes on sale in comic shops June 10, 2020, and in bookstores on June 23, 2020.

Unfinished Business

Become Best Friends with Jo & Rus

BOOM! Studios has announced cartoonist and illustrator Audra Winslow’s debut middle grade graphic novel, Jo & Rus, an all-new story about two unlikely best friends who learn to roll with the punches when life doesn’t go their way and to stand their ground, no matter the cost, available in September 2020.

At first, Jo and Rus don’t realize how much they have in common – she’s a middle schooler who’s constantly bullied and he’s a high schooler in a rock band. But when a mysterious one-eyed cat brings the two of them together, they quickly learn they’re both outcasts trying to figure out what they really want from life in a world where the odds are stacked against them. It’s only by becoming friends they discover who they are, who they want to be and what it takes for every one of us to find our own happiness!

Jo & Rus

Green Lantern: Legacy Gets a Trailer

Thirteen-year-old Tai Pham lives in the apartment above his grandmother’s store in a room crammed with sketchpads and comic books. Tai’s youthful imagination cannot prepare him for the world he is thrown into. He must overcome his greatest obstacle in order to keep his grandmother’s legacy alive: fear.

When Tai inherits his grandmother’s jade ring, he soon finds out it’s more than it appears. Suddenly, he is inducted into a group of space cops known as the Green Lanterns, and every time he puts pen to paper, he is forced to confront his insecurity that he might not be creative or strong enough to uphold his bá’s legacy. Tai must decide what kind of hero he wants to be: Will he learn to soar above his insecurities, or will the past keep him grounded?

Green Lantern: Legacy is written by Minh Lê, with art by Andie Tong, colored by Sarah Stern, and lettering by Ariana Maher.

You can watch our review.

Review: Green Lantern: Legacy

Tai Pham’s grandmother has a secret, she’s a Green Lantern. After she passes, her ring becomes his and he has a whole new responsibility. A fantastic new graphic novel for young readers.

Story: Minh Lê
Art: Andie Tong
Color: Sarah Stern
Letterer: Ariana Maher

Get your copy in comic shops and book stores on January 21! To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

Amazon
TFAW

DC Comics provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review
This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Graphic Policy does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Talking Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams Graphic Novel with Steve Horton

Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams is a graphic novel from legendary artist Mike Allred and writer Steve Horton. It chronicles the rise of David Bowie’s career from obscurity to fame; paralleled by the rise and fall of his alter ego Ziggy Stardust. As the Spiders from Mars slowly implode, Bowie wrestles with his Ziggy persona. The outcome of this internal conflict will change not only David Bowie, but also, the world.

I’m joined by the book’s writer Steve Horton to talk about the making of the graphic novel and our shared love of Bowie (and shared love of artist Mike Allred’s work). Whether you’re an “Absolute Beginer” on Bowie or already deeply “Loving the Alien” you will get something out of this tremendous book– and hopefully out of this episode too. 

Share your thoughts with me and maybe I’ll show you my Bowie tattoo. 

Preview: Solo: The Survivor of Chaos HC

Solo: The Survivor of Chaos HC

Author(s): Oscar Martin
Artist(s): Oscar Martin

Mad Max meets Mighty Mouse! Fievel meets Fallout! From Warner Bros Lifetime Achievement Award-winning writer-artist Oscar Martin (Tom & Jerry, The Lion King). On an Earth ravaged by nuclear war, mutant animals have repopulated the world. When Solo’s family faces starvation, the young rat leaves to find his destiny in the irradiated wastes. Solo will need to be faster, smarter and more brutal than the mutant monsters of this chaotic world!

Solo: The Survivor of Chaos HC

Find Your Forever Home in Jenna Ayoub’s New Graphic Novel from BOOM! Studios

BOOM! Studios has announced a brand new original graphic novel, Forever Home, from cartoonist Jenna Ayoub, an all-new story about finding your place and learning to love where you are, available in November 2020.

Willow has had a nomadic childhood—with two parents in the military, staying put has become a pipe dream. And when the family arrives at their latest stop— the historic Hadleigh House— Willow encounters something that doesn’t help her chances of finding home… ghosts!

Hadleigh House’s spectral residents have been scaring off would-be homebuyers for decades, and they intend to keep the house to themselves. But Willow’s not about to let some nagging spirits force her to move for the millionth time. As Willow spends time in the house and gains the ghosts’ respect through her own strong will to stay in the house no matter what, they find that all of them belong there. Together, the restless spirits are finally able to find some peace, and Willow finds a home.

Then it’s just a matter of convincing Willow’s parents that this old house is the one for them- ghosts included.

Forever Home

Norroway Book Two: The Queen on the High Mountain Comes to Shelves August 2020

Bestselling creative team of writer Cat Seaton and artist Kit Seaton return to the Eisner Award-nominated, critically acclaimed, graphic novel trilogy Norroway with Book Two: The Queen on the High Mountain.

This second book in the lauded series continues the Scottish fairytale retelling with charm and whimsy and is perfect for fans of Jen Wang’s The Prince and The Dressmaker. It hits shelves from Image Comics this August 2020.

Seven years have passed since the disastrous events of Norroway, Book One, and now it’s time for Sibylla to face her curse-breaking destiny. When Troll Kingdom soldiers arrive in the once-safe town of Fiskeby, she’s forced to flee up the Glass Mountain. But the moment she steps foot on Troll lands, she’s thrown into a jail cell, where she discovers her amnesiac ex-fiancé is set to wed the Troll Queen’s daughter. Using all of her wits, she must convince the princess to turn against her own mother, or else face execution on the day of the wedding—and doom the kingdom to remain cursed forever.

Norroway, Book Two: The Queen on the High Mountain (ISBN: 978-1-5343-1607-2) will be available on Wednesday, August 26 and in bookstores on Tuesday, September 1.

Norroway, Book Two: The Queen on the High Mountain

Preview: By Night Vol. 3 SC

By Night Vol. 3 SC

Publisher: BOOM! Box, an imprint of BOOM! Studios
Writer:  John Allison
Artist: Christine Larsen
Colorist: Sarah Stern
Letterer: Jim Campbell
Cover Artist: Christine Larsen
Price: $14.99

THE SECRETS OF THE OTHERWORLD ARE REVEALED.

It’s time to uncover the truth of what really happened to old Chet Charles, how the Eidolon was created…and what it has to do with Jane’s parents. But as Heather, Jane, and their increasingly improbable team come face to face with the terrible truth of Spectrum, they’ll be forced to make choices that will forever change their futures—or totally, literally blow up in their faces and ensure they have no futures. No pressure or anything.

Collects issues #8-12.

By Night Vol. 3 SC

Robert Kirkman, Chris Samnee, Matt Wilson, and Rus Wooton’s Fire Power Gets an Original Graphic Novel in April

Fans eager to jump into the world of Fire Power won’t have to wait until May. The New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award winning team of Robert Kirkman, artist Chris Samnee, colorist Matt Wilson, and letterer Rus Wooton, will reveal the origin story of the Fire Power protagonist Owen Johnson in the forthcoming Fire Power, Vol. 1: Prelude original graphic novel. This brand new story will hit stores from Image Comics and Skybound Entertainment in April—just in time for readers to get on board before the single issue series launches the following month.

The graphic novel features nearly eight issues worth of story and art for $9.99. Fans will be able to purchase it on Wednesday then head to comic shops that Saturday for the first issue for free available on Free Comic Book Day.

Owen Johnson’s journey to China to learn about his birth parents eventually leads him to a mysterious Shaolin Temple. The students there study to rediscover the Fire Power, the lost art of throwing fireballs. A power they claim will be needed soon to save the world. Will Owen Johnson be the first person in a thousand years to wield the FIRE POWER?

Fire Power, Vol. 1: Prelude (ISBN: 978-1-5343-1655-3) will be available on Wednesday, April 29 and in bookstores on Tuesday, May 5.

Fire Power, Vol. 1: Prelude
« Older Entries