Tag Archives: austin wilson

Exclusive Preview: High Heaven #5 – The Season Finale!

High Heaven #5

(W) Tom Peyer, Austin Wilson (A) Greg Scott, Chris Giarrusso (CA) Richard Williams
In Shops: Jan 23, 2019
SRP: $3.99

Season Finale! The Archangel Gabriel fights to rescue David from heaven, but he’ll have to get through the cruel and powerful St. Peter! Plus, Vice President Pence officiates at a heartbreaking Hashtag: Danger funeral. EXTRA! Bonus illustrated prose stories! Painted cover by Richard Williams (MAD).

High Heaven #5

Review: High Heaven #2

What’s worse than being sentenced to Hell? For self-pitying David Feathers, it’s an eternity in Paradise, where he runs afoul of a monstrous angel.

Well that’s unexpected. The first issue of High Heaven was a nice send-up of those person goes to Heaven types of stories giving us a miserable lead and a Heaven that reminds us more of Eastern Europe under Communism. Writer Tom Peyer peels back the clouds in High Heaven #2 to reveal those things that didn’t quite seem right in the first issue. Heaven? Yeah, there’s more to it.

David Feathers is still a miserable lead but the second issue shows there’s some truth to his kvetching. Heaven as presented to him does suck but it’s not like he deserves what’s revealed. The world as presented is an interesting one with clear class delineations and austerity has hit where David has been placed. Is there better? Is there worse? Well, we now know the answer to that and that there is indeed some place to escape to.

What’s interesting is the theme of being happy with what you’re given and how we should shut up about it. Even in Heaven this seems to exist and makes for an interesting debate about the meaning of it all and theological implications.

The art by Greg Scott with color by Andy Troy and lettering by Rob Steen is really solid. There’s some big jumps in locations in this issue and some very different designs and feels to some characters but the team makes it all work and flow easily as one world. There’s nothing that seems out of place. It all is rather quick but each panel of what’s revealed had me linger to see what details I could see that adds to the world and story.

That’d be enough to make this a buy….

The surly science-heroes of Hashtag: Danger adopt an alien pet! Yes, there’s a backup comic too also written by Peyer with art by Chris Giarrusso. It’s a twisted story that had me laughing and the weirdness of it all betrays Giarrusso’s style. Think, a real messed up Archie and you get a better idea of what’s presented.

And that’s not all!

There’s prose and Q&As from Carol Lay, Hart Seely, Kek-W, Austin Wilson, and featuring art by Lay, Rick Geary, and Elliott Mattice. All of it is bonus to what’s already a great issue of comics.

It’s another solid issue that feels like it’s even better than the first and has me super excited to see what’s next. AHOY Comics has something special here not just delivering solid main stories but packing so much into each issue that they really feel like you’re getting your money’s worth. Another must get from this upstart publisher.

Story: Tom Peyer, Carol Lay, Hart Seely, Kek-W, Austin Wilson
Art: Greg Scott, Chris Giarrusso, Carol Lay, Rick Geary, Elliott Mattice

Color: Andy Troy Lettering: Rob Steen
Story: 10 Art: 10 Overall: 10 Recommendation: Buy

AHOY Comics provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review

Magnetic Press Announces a Wave of New Titles

First-year, Eisner-nominated publishing company Magnetic Press recently completed its second successful appearance at the annual San Diego Comic-Con International, with their first star-studded panel featuring award-winning artists and creators, as well as a peek at new titles slated for release in Year Two. Following a first-year slate that contained twelve books, forty-four digital releases, an original comic series, and two Eisner-nominations, the publisher has no plans to rest on its initial success.

A deeper look at each title, including release dates, will be offered individually in the coming weeks.

GOLEM

Illustrated & written by LRNZ

Set in a future, post-Eurozone Italy, entrenched in a bizarre form of hyper-capitalism, GOLEM follows a young boy who is kidnapped during a political protest gone sour, who learns that he has the power to not only change the city, but reality itself. This intensely imaginative political-sci-fi graphic novel is a visual tour de force, created by contemporary design icon Lorenzo Ceccotti, better known as “LRNZ,” whose design-influenced illustration is a lush, fluid blend of manga masters like KATSUHIRO OTOMO with western comic icons like JOSH MIDDLETON, creating a style that is wholly unique and absolutely breathtaking.

GOLEM

 

 

KLAW

Illustrated by Joel Jurion and written by Antoine Ozenam

Teenager Angel Tomassini has been hiding a dark and scary secret: when threatened he involuntarily turns into a violent and vicious Weretiger. He doesn’t know why, how, or what to do, because when he transforms, he loses control and people end up badly hurt. As if this isn’t enough for a kid to deal with, Angel is slowly learning his father is one of the biggest organized crime leaders in the city. And are there more like him? Are there… different creatures too?

This wildly world-popular comic series about secret wars between clans of ancient, mythic were-animals comes to the US for the first time in a new hardcover edition collecting the entire first cycle of the series in a single gorgeous volume.

KLAW

LOVE: THE FOX

Illustrated by Federico Bertolucci and written by Frederic Brremaud

The second volume in the award winning, lushly illustrated, wordless graphic novel series, LOVE: THE FOX follows a spry, intrepid, one-eyed fox during an average day of foraging when a natural disaster erupts.  Readers are taken on a thrillride as animals of all shapes and sizes react to the danger, but the fox inexplicably runs towards the fire, braving daunting obstacles and even larger predators to reach a desperate location in the heart of the storm. LOVE: THE FOX is a gorgeously rendered and ultimately heartwarming story that is also a monument to modern sequential narrative.  It is like a beautiful and exciting nature documentary in illustrated form.

LOVE THE FOX

BITTEN

Created by Cornelia Funke, written by Raul Garcia, and illustrated by Francisco Herrera

International best Selling YA author Cornelia Funke (The Inkheart Trilogy) teams up with comic book artist and character designer extraordinaire Francisco Herrera (Megamind, Venom, The Prodigies) and animated film Director Raúl García (Lion King, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Aladdin, Land Before Time) to create a wild and furry world where Hollywood werewolves are real and hiding in plain view! Entering high school is tough enough as it is, but how do you cope when you’ve also just been bitten by a Werewolf?  This beautifully illustrated, madcap all ages adventure is like a classic 2D animated feature in print!

BITTEN

ANGELARIUM: THE BOOK OF EMANATIONS

Written and illustrated by Peter Mohrbacher and Eli Minaya

This stunning art book of mind-bending illustrations, poetry, and short stories is unlike anything you have ever imagined. Exploring the eleven angelic emanations of the Tree of Life, ANGELARIUM paints a world of sheer awe, unveiling unknowable symbolic entities that point towards an immutable ancient truth: “As above, so below.”  Fans of Wayne Barlowe’s EXPEDITION and INFERNO will find this book to be a fascinating exploration of an entirely new world of wonder.

ANGELARIUM THE BOOK OF EMANATIONS

ROBOT ENVY: ZENITH

Illustrated by various, produced by Dave Pasciuto

Leaping from the online webpages of Robot Envy, an online community of the world’s most exceptional and innovative illustrators from the film, comic, and video game industries, ROBOT ENVY: ZENITH is a lush, high-end art book that celebrates the coolest robot designs you have ever seen.  From cutesy robot mascots to giant robot war machines, the pieces in this massive collection cover a wide spectrum of visual styles, but all of them are uncategorically stunning and loads of fun.

ROBOT ENVY ZENITH

RE*PRO*DUCT

Written by Austin Wilson and illustrated by Logan Faerber

In the future, robots have been legally granted the right to life. Their intelligence is not artificial, and it may not be the best approximation of a personality, but they reflect all the intricacies of a human mind and personality, only from within a manufactured shell, developing and learning as the rest of us do. They mirror us in all the ways we would want, but also in those ways we would wish to exclude…

Carbon Barnes is one such robot, just looking to get by with a meager job, nights out at the club with friends, maybe meet a nice girl.  But he still has a lot to learn about the world, as all of us do, starting with what to make of this weird nightly phenomenon folks call “dreaming.”  A slice-of-life story for everyone, with a robot-twist.

RE PRO DUCT

 

BEER-O

Illustrated by Kevin Castaniero and written by Chris Northrop

This madcap graphic novel introduces readers to the high-functioning alcoholic, middle-aged, overweight private eye, Beer-O.  He specializes in missing dog cases, but one such case turns sour, and he quickly finds himself entangled in the murder of the son of the most dangerous capo in the Burbank Mafia.  Things spiral down the drain faster than car keys in the toilet, and pretty soon, Beer-O is up to his neck in danger.

A loving, and somewhat sideways, satire on traditional noir tropes, BEER-O pays as much homage to THE MALTESE FALCON as it does to THE BIG LEBOWSKI.

BEER-O

SIDE-KICKED

Written by Russell Brettholtz and illustrated by Miguel Mendonca

The first title from the newly-announced partnership imprint Darby Pop! Richard is having a bad week. He has a secret alter-ego: Phantasm, sidekick to Mr. Marvelous (Chicago’s most beloved super-hero) who has never lets him forget his “lesser” place as a sidekick.  Richard compares notes with his sidekick colleagues, and comes to realize that all of his sidekick friends are systematically disrespected by the heroes they work with, ignored by the media, and taken wholly for granted by society. How much can these five endure before they decide that enough is enough?  And what then?  A slightly-irreverent, sarcastic look at life behind the masks

SIDE-KICKED

THE ADVENTURES OF BASIL & MOEBIUS Vol. 3 & 4 

Written by Ryan Schifrin and Larry Hama, illustrated by Various.

The third and fourth volumes in the quarterly graphic novel quadrilogy follow the unlikely, thieving duo of Alaric Moebius, Oxford playboy turned dashing cat-burglar, and Basil Fox, former SAS commando slumming it in the Queen’s guard, as they continue to fetch rare and exotic artifacts for the mysterious — and otherworldly — billionaire known as “The Collector.”  As The Collector’s collection grows more complete, thanks to the duo’s excellent adventuring skills, his wicked scheme starts to unfold, leaving the pair of scoundrels to question what they’ve done… and how to undo it. This epic high-adventure series will be further supplemented by more digital prose short stories by fan-favorite writers Timothy Zahn, Michael Stackpole, Greg Bear, Richard Lee Byers, and Rose Estes.

THE ADVENTURES OF BASIL & MOEBIUS