Search for Hu banner ad

Peter Landesman will write and direct The Recount

The Recount

Peter Landesman has come on board to adapt and direct Scout Comics‘ best-selling comic series The Recount into a feature film for Don Handfield’s Motor Content and Jonathan Kadin’s KadinCreative. Nick Jones Jr. will co-write with Landesman.

The fictional political thriller penned by Jonathan Hedrick was published by Scout Comics in November of 2020 on the eve of the most contested election in modern history. Blending the political intrigue of House of Cards and the horror of The Purge, The Recount is a realistic action-thriller set in an unsettlingly recognizable American political climate. The Recount features art by Gabriel Elias Ibarra Nunez, colors by Sunil Ghagre, and letters by Cristian Docolomansky

When the US President is assassinated by one of his own security detail, a female Secret Service agent must protect the Vice President at all costs from a conspiracy group calling themselves ‘The Masses’. With nowhere to turn and no one to trust, these two women with completely opposing political views and beliefs must work together to preserve what’s left of American democracy.

One of Scout Comics best-selling titles, The Recount was written by army veteran Jonathan Hedrick and received critical acclaim for both the jaw-dropping action and how it explored timely political themes in the vein of V for Vendetta or The Purge. The book was released in November of 2020, on the eve of the most contested election in modern history – and despite its fictional and apolitical stance — seemed oddly clairvoyant in its dark portrayal of a nation on the brink. 

Handfield, Kadin, Landesman and Scout Comics will produce through their respective banners, with Motor Content’s Jordan Moore serving as an Executive Producer.  

Handfield is also a partner and board member of Scout Comics, and was instrumental in bringing the series to Scout for publication and got involved early in its development.

Almost American