Kevin Eastman Steps in the MMA Cage with Cage Hero

Dynamite has announced a collaborative agreement with Surge Licensing, Inc., Ian Parker, and Mark Mastrandrea to develop a comic book series based on the brand new property Cage Hero. The four-issue series will debut this November, released monthly as single-issue comics, both digitally and in print, and collected later into trade format. Cage Hero is an all-ages action-adventure series in the tradition of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teen Titans, and Karate Kid — a youth-based Mixed Martial Arts property that inspires health, fitness, skill, and teamwork to become a real hero.

In Cage Hero, Ryder Stone, a small town middle school student and wrestling star raised by a strict grandfather, finds himself on a path to meet his true destiny when he is recruited to lead a super-powered team of mixed martial artists known as The Cage Heroes! Trained in their own unique martial art disciplines, all connected by a secret past, this new team will need to dig deep within themselves to protect the world from an international evil network known as The Shadow Empire. The race for control of the universe has begun, and evil has the upper hand. With only a handful of teenagers to stand in the way, can they find the hero within and stop them?

Cage Hero was created by MMA Manager/Personality Ian Parker and Mark Mastrandrea. Working closely with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles co-creator Kevin Eastman to craft the characters and world inspired by Ian’s own fighting knowledge and experience, and his love for comics. The creative team on the comic book series will include Rik Hoskin scripting, Renato Rei providing the dynamic artwork, and Ross Campbell on colors, with Ian and Kevin personally overseeing all aspects of production.

MMA is the fastest growing sport in the world today. Each MMA event commonly reaches over one million viewers. In the early existence of MMA, it was only a sport that adults could participate in; in this day and age, MMA is taught to men, women, and children. It is primarily taught to children to find their inner strength and to become disciplined at a young age.

CageHero01_Cover-COLORS