Tag Archives: juliet takes a breath

Seven Swords banner ad

Nominees for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards Announced

GLAAD Media Awards

GLAAD has announced the nominees for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards. The awards honor media for “fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of LGBTQ people and issues”. The awards began in 1990 and this year features 198 nominees in 28 categories.

Award recipients will be announced during a virtual ceremony scheduled for April 2021.

Below are the nominees in the comic category. You can get the full list of nominees at the GLAAD website.

The Old Guard, based on the comic series by Greg Rucka, Leandro Fernández, Daniela Miwa, and Jodi Wynne was nominated for “Outstanding Film – Wide Release“.

Harley Quinn, the HBO MAX/DC Universe animated series based on the DC Comics character created by Bruce Timm and Paul Dini was nominated in “Outstanding Comedy Series“.

Supergirl, based on the DC Comics character, Wynonna Earp based on the character created by Beau Smith, and The Umbrella Academy based on the comic by Gerard Way and Gabriel Bá were nominated for “Outstanding Drama Series”.

Outstanding Comic Book

  • Empyre, Lords of Empyre: Emperor Hulkling, Empyre: Aftermath Avengers, written by Al Ewing, Dan Slott, Chip Zdarsky, Anthony Oliveira, Valerio Schiti, Manuel Garcia, (Marvel Comics)
  • Far Sector, written by N.K. Jemisin, Jamal Campbell, and Deron Bennett (DC Comics)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, written by Al Ewing and Marcio Takara (Marvel Comics)
  • Juliet Takes a Breath, written by Gabby Rivera and Celia Moscote (BOOM! Studios)
  • Lois Lane, written by Greg Rucka, Juan Cabal, and Mike Perkins (DC Comics)
  • The Magic Fish, written by Trung Le Nguyen (Random House Graphic)
  • Suicide Squad, written by Tom Taylor and Bruno Redondo (DC Comics)
  • Wynd, written by James Tynion IV and Michael Dialynas (BOOM! Studios)
  • X-Factor, written by Leah Williams and David Baldeon (Marvel Comics)
  • You Brought Me the Ocean, written by Alex Sanchez and Julie Maroh (DC Comics)

Around the Tubes

Juliet Takes a Breath

Lots of interesting articles from over the weekend to help kick off the week. It was also Black Friday with today being Cyber Monday. What good deals are you all finding? Sound off in the comments. While you start the week, here’s news and reviews you might have missed.

The Hollywood Reporter – ‘Turtle in Paradise’ Graphic Novel in the Works at Random House – Very cool!

The Jerusalem Post – Italian Holocaust graphic novel trilogy debuts final installment – Hadn’t heard about this. Might need to check it out.

Sight Magazine – “Something to be proud of”: UK graphic novel highlights homeless – Great to see comics used this way.

How to Love Comics – Justice League: Endless Winter Reading Order Checklist – For those interested in the upcoming storyline.

Kotaku – Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Vs. Jagmeet Singh At Among Us, Streamed Tonight – Very cool to see video games used like this, and congrats on all of the money raised.

Kotaku – Marvel’s Avengers Didn’t Sell As Expected, Says Square Enix – The game had some rough buzz going into it, so this isn’t a surprise at all.

Reviews

Comics Bulletin – Cat Kid Comic Club
The Nerd Daily – Dune: The Graphic Novel Book 1
Monkeys Fighting Robots – Juliet Takes a Breath
CBR – The Other History of the DC Universe #1
Games Radar – The Other History of the DC Universe #1
Collected Editions – The Question: The Deaths of Vic Sage

Preview: Juliet Takes a Breath

Juliet Takes a Breath

(W) Gabby Rivera (A/CA) Celia Moscote
In Shops: Nov 25, 2020
SRP: $14.99

For fans of Bloom and Spinning, critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera (Marvel’s America) adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity and what it means to be true to your amazing self. Even when the rest of the world doesn’t understand.

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan to figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian and out. And that starts with the perfect mentor – Harlowe Brisbane, a feminist author who will surely help Juliet find her best self.

There’s just one problem – Harlowe’s white, not from the Bronx and doesn’t have the answers. Okay, maybe that’s more than one problem, but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan…

Juliet Takes a Breath

Your First Look at Gabby Rivera and Celia Moscote’s Juliet Takes a Breath

BOOM! Studios has revealed a first look at the brand new graphic novel, Juliet Takes a Breath. Critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote and colorist James Fenner in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity, and what it means to be true to your amazing self, even when the rest of the world doesn’t understand, available on November 25, 2020 at comic shops and on December 1, 2020 in bookstores.

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But don’t worry, Juliet has something kinda resembling a plan that’ll help her figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian, and out. See, she’s going to intern with Harlowe Brisbane—her favorite author, whose latest book on feminism and finding power in your body has Juliet ready to stomp the patriarchy and fall forever in love with herself. 

There’s just one problem—Harlowe’s clueless, not from the Bronx, and doesn’t have the answers. Okay, maybe that’s more than one problem but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan…

Juliet Takes a Breath

BOOM! Studios Announces Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera and Celia Moscote

BOOM! Studios has announced the brand new graphic novel, Juliet Takes a Breath. Critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote and colorist James Fenner in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity and what it means to be true to your amazing self, even when the rest of the world doesn’t understand, available in November 2020.

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. 

But don’t worry, Juliet has something kinda resembling a plan that’ll help her figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian and out. See, she’s going to intern with Harlowe Brisbane – her favorite feminist author, someone whose work on feminism, self-love and lots of other things will help Juliet find her ever elusive epiphany. 

There’s just one problem – Harlowe’s white, not from the Bronx and doesn’t have all the answers. Okay, maybe that’s more than one problem, but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan…

Juliet Takes a Breath
Fish Kill side ad