Tag Archives: gabby rivera

Nuclear Family banner ad

Nominees for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards Announced

GLAAD Media Awards

GLAAD has announced the nominees for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards. The awards honor media for “fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of LGBTQ people and issues”. The awards began in 1990 and this year features 198 nominees in 28 categories.

Award recipients will be announced during a virtual ceremony scheduled for April 2021.

Below are the nominees in the comic category. You can get the full list of nominees at the GLAAD website.

The Old Guard, based on the comic series by Greg Rucka, Leandro Fernández, Daniela Miwa, and Jodi Wynne was nominated for “Outstanding Film – Wide Release“.

Harley Quinn, the HBO MAX/DC Universe animated series based on the DC Comics character created by Bruce Timm and Paul Dini was nominated in “Outstanding Comedy Series“.

Supergirl, based on the DC Comics character, Wynonna Earp based on the character created by Beau Smith, and The Umbrella Academy based on the comic by Gerard Way and Gabriel Bá were nominated for “Outstanding Drama Series”.

Outstanding Comic Book

  • Empyre, Lords of Empyre: Emperor Hulkling, Empyre: Aftermath Avengers, written by Al Ewing, Dan Slott, Chip Zdarsky, Anthony Oliveira, Valerio Schiti, Manuel Garcia, (Marvel Comics)
  • Far Sector, written by N.K. Jemisin, Jamal Campbell, and Deron Bennett (DC Comics)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, written by Al Ewing and Marcio Takara (Marvel Comics)
  • Juliet Takes a Breath, written by Gabby Rivera and Celia Moscote (BOOM! Studios)
  • Lois Lane, written by Greg Rucka, Juan Cabal, and Mike Perkins (DC Comics)
  • The Magic Fish, written by Trung Le Nguyen (Random House Graphic)
  • Suicide Squad, written by Tom Taylor and Bruno Redondo (DC Comics)
  • Wynd, written by James Tynion IV and Michael Dialynas (BOOM! Studios)
  • X-Factor, written by Leah Williams and David Baldeon (Marvel Comics)
  • You Brought Me the Ocean, written by Alex Sanchez and Julie Maroh (DC Comics)

Preview: Juliet Takes a Breath

Juliet Takes a Breath

(W) Gabby Rivera (A/CA) Celia Moscote
In Shops: Nov 25, 2020
SRP: $14.99

For fans of Bloom and Spinning, critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera (Marvel’s America) adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity and what it means to be true to your amazing self. Even when the rest of the world doesn’t understand.

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan to figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian and out. And that starts with the perfect mentor – Harlowe Brisbane, a feminist author who will surely help Juliet find her best self.

There’s just one problem – Harlowe’s white, not from the Bronx and doesn’t have the answers. Okay, maybe that’s more than one problem, but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan…

Juliet Takes a Breath

Your First Look at Gabby Rivera and Celia Moscote’s Juliet Takes a Breath

BOOM! Studios has revealed a first look at the brand new graphic novel, Juliet Takes a Breath. Critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote and colorist James Fenner in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity, and what it means to be true to your amazing self, even when the rest of the world doesn’t understand, available on November 25, 2020 at comic shops and on December 1, 2020 in bookstores.

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But don’t worry, Juliet has something kinda resembling a plan that’ll help her figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian, and out. See, she’s going to intern with Harlowe Brisbane—her favorite author, whose latest book on feminism and finding power in your body has Juliet ready to stomp the patriarchy and fall forever in love with herself. 

There’s just one problem—Harlowe’s clueless, not from the Bronx, and doesn’t have the answers. Okay, maybe that’s more than one problem but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan…

Juliet Takes a Breath

BOOM! Studios Announces Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera and Celia Moscote

BOOM! Studios has announced the brand new graphic novel, Juliet Takes a Breath. Critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote and colorist James Fenner in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity and what it means to be true to your amazing self, even when the rest of the world doesn’t understand, available in November 2020.

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. 

But don’t worry, Juliet has something kinda resembling a plan that’ll help her figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian and out. See, she’s going to intern with Harlowe Brisbane – her favorite feminist author, someone whose work on feminism, self-love and lots of other things will help Juliet find her ever elusive epiphany. 

There’s just one problem – Harlowe’s white, not from the Bronx and doesn’t have all the answers. Okay, maybe that’s more than one problem, but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan…

Juliet Takes a Breath

Preview: b.b. free #3

b.b. free #3

Publisher: BOOM! Box, an imprint of BOOM! Studios
Writer: Gabby Rivera
Artist: Royal Dunlap
Colorist: Kieran Quigley
Letterer: Jim Campbell
Cover Artist: Royal Dunlap
Price: $3.99

Just as b.b. begins to feel safe at the home of her friend and fellow radio show host, Chulita, danger arrives in the form of b.b.’s father. Somehow, he has followed her, and her presence has endangered Chulita’s family. Together with her best friend, b.b. has no choice but to make a run for it—but will she ever truly be safe?

b.b. free #3

Preview: b.b. free #2

b.b. free #2

Publisher: BOOM! Box, an imprint of BOOM! Studios
Writer: Gabby Rivera
Artist: Royal Dunlap
Colorist: Kieran Quigley
Letterer: Jim Campbell
Cover Artist: 
     Main Cover:
Royal Dunlap
    Variant Cover: Natacha Bustos
Price:
$3.99

After discovering that everything her father ever told her is a lie, b.b. is on the run to the only person she can trust, her radio show partner, Chulita. But with b.b.’s mysterious powers getting stronger everyday, and her father’s power organization on her trail, b.b. won’t find the safe haven she expects… and she may be putting her only friend in danger.

b.b. free #2

Your First Look at Gabby Rivera & Royal Dunlap’s b.b. free #2

BOOM! Studios has revealed a first look at b.b. free #2, the latest issue of the all-new original series from acclaimed author Gabby Rivera and debut artist Royal Dunlap, an adventure about finding your strength and your truth when the whole world is against you, available in December 11, 2019.

Years after the Plague That Ate Greed wiped out the ultra rich, b.b. free and her dad live in a small, close-knit community in the Florida Islands, where everything is shared and everyone’s got each other’s backs. b.b. is getting to be a teenager, though, and she’s starting to get more and more interested in the world beyond her swamp.  

After discovering that her father was not the person she had always believed him to be, b.b. is on the run to the only person she can trust: her radio show partner, Chulita. But with b.b.’s mysterious powers getting stronger everyday, and her father’s mysterious organization on her trail, b.b. won’t find the safe haven she expects… and she may be putting her only friend in danger.

b.b. free #2 features main cover art by series artist Royal Dunlap and variant cover art by Natacha Bustos.

b.b. free #2

Preview: b.b. free #1

b.b. free #1

Publisher: BOOM! Box, an imprint of BOOM! Studios
Writer: Gabby Rivera
Artist: Royal Dunlap
Letterer: Jim Campbell
Cover Artists:  
    Main Cover:  Royal Dunlap
    Variant Cover: Natacha Bustos
    Unlocked Retailer Variant: Brittney Williams
Price:
$3.99

b.b. free broadcasts her underground radio show from her remote swamp community, and she has no idea she’s actually the chosen one.

It’s been over a hundred years since the Plague That Ate Greed wiped out half the population, and it’s the only world that b.b. has ever known. But when b.b. rebels against her overbearing father, she realizes that everything she believes in could be a lie.

On the run from her own family, b.b. will learn the truth about the world she lives in, and about the power she never knew she had.

Writer Gabby Rivera and debuting artist Royal Dunlap present an adventure for fans of Blackbird and “mysterious destiny” heroic fiction like Naomi about finding your family when the whole world is against you.

b.b. free #1

Your First Look at Gabby Rivera and Royal Dunlap’s b.b. free #1

BOOM! Studios has revealed a first look at b.b. free #1, the premiere issue of the all-new original series from acclaimed author Gabby Rivera and debut artist Royal Dunlap, an adventure about finding your strength and your truth when the whole world is against you, available in November 6, 2019.

Years after the Plague That Ate Greed wiped out the ultra rich, b.b. free and her dad live in a small, close-knit community in the Florida Islands, where everything is shared and everyone’s got each other’s backs. b.b. is getting to be a teenager, though, and she’s starting to get more and more interested in the world beyond her swamp. For now, her only tie to the outside world is her underground radio show. But when she discovers a secret so large it could tear her family and entire community apart, b.b. realizes that there’s a lot her father isn’t telling her… and she might just have to head out into the world on her own to find the truth.

b.b. free #1

Bestselling Author Gabby Rivera & Artist Royal Dunlap Debut b.b. free at BOOM!

BOOM! Studios has announced b.b. free, an all-new original series in which acclaimed author Gabby Rivera and debut artist Royal Dunlap present an adventure about finding your family when the whole world is against you, available in November 6, 2019.

Years after the Plague That Ate Greed wiped out the ultra rich, b.b. free and her dad live in a small, close-knit community in the Florida Islands, where everything is shared and everyone’s got each other’s backs. b.b. is getting to be a teenager, though, and she’s starting to get more and more interested in the world beyond her swamp. For now, her only tie to the outside world is her radio show. But when she discovers a secret so large it could tear her family and entire community apart, b.b. realizes that there’s a lot her father’s not telling her… and she might just have to head out into the world on her own to find the truth.

b.b. free
b.b. free #1
Fish Kill side ad
« Older Entries