Tag Archives: arianna consonni

Search for Hu banner ad

Review: Magic #6

Magic: The Gathering comes to comics courtesy of BOOM! Studios. Magic #6 has the Planeswalkers seeking the guidance of Jaya Ballard as to what they may be up against.

Story: Jed MacKay
Art: French Carlomagno, Ig Guara
Color: French Carlomagno, Francesco Segala, Arianna Consonni
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire

Get your copy now! To find a comic shop near you, visit http://www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

comiXology
Amazon
Kindle
Zeus Comics
TFAW


This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Board Game Today does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Review: Magic #5

Magic: The Gathering comes to comics courtesy of BOOM! Studios. Magic #5 has the Planeswalker heading across the multiverse to hunt down leads and clues.

Story: Jed MacKay
Art: Ig Guara
Color: Arianna Consonni
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire

Get your copy now! To find a comic shop near you, visit http://www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

comiXology
Amazon
Kindle
Zeus Comics
TFAW


This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Graphic Policy does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Shocking Secrets on Dominaria in Your First Look at Magic #5

BOOM! Studios has revealed today a first look at Magic #5, the latest issue of the original comic book series from acclaimed writer Jed MacKay, artist Ig Guara, colorist Arianna Consonni, and letterer Ed Dukeshire, perfect for new readers and long time fans, available on August 4, 2021.

Who will Ral, Kaya, and Vraska encounter on Dominaria? The answer will scatter the Planeswalkers across the multiverse as the race to find out who is behind the attacks on Ravnica continues! The answer may lie with one of the oldest living Planeswalkers… 

Magic #5 features main cover art by acclaimed artist Qistina Khalidah as well as variant cover art by Ig Guara, illustrator Andrew Thompson, Nimit Malavia, Ornella Savarese and Pierluigi Casolino, Christian Ward, and Ario Anindito and Nicola Righi.

Magic #5

Review: Magic #4

Magic: The Gathering comes to comics courtesy of BOOM! Studios. Magic #4 reveals the conspiracy and the difficult task that stands before our Planeswalkers.

Story: Jed MacKay
Art: Ig Guara
Color: Arianna Consonni
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire

Get your copy now! To find a comic shop near you, visit http://www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

comiXology
Kindle
Zeus Comics
TFAW


This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Board Game Today does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Review: Magic #3

Magic: The Gathering comes to comics courtesy of BOOM! Studios. Magic #3 has Planeswalkers Kaya, Ral, and Vraska go deep into the Undercity, to uncover the location of Duskmantle.

Story: Jed MacKay
Art: Ig Guara
Color: Arianna Consonni
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire

Get your copy now! To find a comic shop near you, visit http://www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

comiXology
Kindle
Zeus Comics
TFAW


This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Board Game Today does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Magic #3 Sells Out and Taps a Second Printing

BOOM! Studios has announced that Magic #3, the next issue of the new original comic book series from acclaimed writer Jed MacKay, artist Ig Guara, colorist Arianna Consonni, and letterer Ed Dukeshire, perfect for new readers and long time fans, has sold out at the distributor level!

In response to the overwhelming support from retailers and fans, BOOM! Studios has announced Magic #3 Second Printing, featuring new cover art by series artist Ig Guara with colors by Arianna Consonni available in stores on July 7, 2021.

When their investigation into the role of one of Ravnica’s biggest Guilds in the assassination attempts on their lives lead Planeswalkers Kaya, Ral, and Vraska deep into the Undercity, they will need to succeed in the impossible – uncover the location of Duskmantle, the Dimir guildhall, and survive to tell the tale! Meanwhile, the assassin is amassing guild members to betray their own Guilds, even as their true motivations remain a mystery…

Magic #3 Second Printing

Review: Magic #2

Magic: The Gathering comes to comics courtesy of BOOM! Studios. Magic #2 keeps the focus on the assassination attempts and bombings while diving a bit more into the world of Magic: The Gathering.

Story: Jed MacKay
Art: Ig Guara
Color: Arianna Consonni
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire

Get your copy now! To find a comic shop near you, visit http://www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook or digitally and online with the links below.

comiXology
Amazon
Kindle
Zeus Comics
TFAW


This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links and make a purchase, we’ll receive a percentage of the sale. Graphic Policy does purchase items from this site. Making purchases through these links helps support the site

Magic #1 Sells Out Again and Gets a Third Printing

BOOM! Studios has announced that Magic #1, the premiere issue of the new original comic book series from acclaimed writer Jed MacKay, artist Ig Guara, colorist Arianna Consonni, and letterer Ed Dukeshire, perfect for new readers and long-time fans, has sold out of the second printing at the distributor level!

In response to the overwhelming support from retailers and fans, BOOM! Studios has announced Magic #1 Third Printing, featuring brand new cover art by series artist Guara with colors by Arianna Consonni, available in stores May 19, 2021.

Magic #1 Third Printing

Your First Look at Jace’s Uncertain Fate in Magic #2

BOOM! Studios have released a first look at Magic #2, the next issue of the new original comic book series from acclaimed writer Jed MacKay, artist Ig Guara, colorist Arianna Consonni, and letterer Ed Dukeshire, perfect for new readers and long time fans, available on May 12, 2021.

With their homes rocked by an attack – and Jace Beleren’s life hanging in the balance – Planeswalkers Kaya, Ral, and Vraska must discover who is behind it all. But as they begin to suspect one of Ravnica’s most prominent Guilds is behind the attack, it becomes clear their enemy may be plotting something even more destructive…

Magic #2 also features main cover art by acclaimed artist Matteo Scalera as well as variant cover art by Ig Guara, Daniel Warren Johnson, Michael Walsh, Jahnoy Lindsay, and Kael Ngu.

Magic #2

Review: Magic #1

Magic #1

Welcome to Ravnica, the home of magic. Kaya the Ghost-Assassin. Ral Zarek the Stormheart. Vraska the Queen of the Downtrodden. While each resides somewhere different in Ravnica, each will face down many foes due to a sudden attack in Magic #1. Who sent them is unknown but it’s part of the mystery of the multiverse of Magic.

I’m coming into Magic #1 as someone who knows absolutely zero about Magic: The Gathering but with any fantasy system, it’s about finding the components and putting them into terms you are familiar with. As someone who has played Dungeons & Dragons and Pathfinder, I wasn’t completely confused with the goings-on of this first issue. It’s definitely a good setup issue. It provides an introduction to Ravnica and the various Planeswalkers and a couple of steps into what each is capable of. I’m not ready to go get a deck but the character work laid out within the pages is definitely enough to keep me entertained.

I’m fairly impressed with Magic #1. Jed McKay put together a simple enough story, which is great for someone like me who doesn’t understand MTG and yet there’s enough of the terms and abilities and such thrown about that it quickly brings you into the fold. McKay has put in a good amount of worldbuilding, action, and intrigue to really help make Magic #1 a quality fantasy comic.

Add Ig Guara’s art to the mix, I really like the art style used here. One of the great things about fantasy is the mixture of the strange and exotic and there’s definitely a lot of strange and exotic with this issue and having an artist up to the task of drawing all of this up is key. I know some of this has to come from the game itself but there’s a lot of cool character designs here. It’s a comic book with a lot of bright and vibrant colors. Arianna Consonni’s colors really add to the fantasy feeling and with Ed Dukeshire’s letters, I feel this issue of Magic is an adventurous first issue.

Magic #1 is very much in the vein of IDW’s Dungeons & Dragons comics, which I also really enjoy. We can never have enough fantasy-driven work in comics so if that’s what you like, take a chance with Magic.

Story: Jed MacKay Art: Ig Guara
Color: Arianna Consonni Letterer: Ed Dukeshire
Story: 8.0 Art: 8.0 Overall: 8.0

BOOM! Studios provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review


Purchase: comiXology – Amazon – Kindle – Zeus Comics – TFAW

Almost American
« Older Entries