Tag Archives: adler

Preview: Adler #5

Adler #5

Author(s): Lavie Tidhar
Artist(s): Paul McCaffrey
Cover Artist(s):
COVER A: Gary Erskine
COVER B: Paul McCaffrey

THE FINAL BATTLE BEGINS!
Adler and her team of Victorian heroines face-off against AYESHA’S army of AMAZONS!
Written by World Fantasy Award Winner, Lavie Tidhar. In the vein of Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen!

Adler #5

Preview: Adler #4

Adler #4

Author(s): Lavie Tidhar
Artist(s): Paul McCaffrey
COVER A: JOHN ROYLE
COVER B: PAUL MCCAFFREY
COVER C: VICTORIAN HOMAGE (ANDREW LEUNG)

From the World Fantasy Award-winning writer Lavie Tidhar and artist Paul McCaffrey (DC’s Men of War, TMNT) comes an all-new story written in the vein of Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen!

Irene Adler and her team of Victorian heroines encounter a mysterous villain, even more dangerous that Moriarty!

Adler #4

Comics Deserve Better Episode 6: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell

In a jam packed episode of Comics Deserve Better, Brian, Darci, and Logan discuss the latest indie comics news, including Valiant’s move to L.A., Peter Milligan’s new comic for Ahoy, and comics used as tools of democratic activism in Thailand. But the main topic of the podcast is the YA LGBTQ+ comic masterpiece Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, and some of us get a little personal in chatting about this beautiful story of friendship, romance, growing up, and toxic relationships. Other comics mentioned on the show include Gideon Falls, Adler, and Mega Man: Fully Charged as well as the Source Point Press titles Bug Bites and Burning Tree.

(Episode art by Rosemary Valero O’Connell)

Preview: Adler #3

Adler #3

Author(s): Lavie Tidhar
Artist(s): Paul McCaffrey
Cover Artist(s): Rian Hughes (CVR A), Paul McCaffrey (CVR B), Victorian Homage Cover (CVR C)

From the World Fantasy Award-winning writer Lavie Tidhar and artist Paul McCaffrey (DC’s Men of War, TMNT) comes an all-new story written in the vein of Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen!

Irene Adler and her team of Victorian heroines encounter a mysterous villain, even more dangerous that Moriarty!

Adler #3

Preview: Adler #2

Adler #2

Author(s): Lavie Tidhar
Artist(s): Paul McCaffrey
Cover Artist(s): Butch Guice (CVR A), Paul McCaffrey (CVR B), Victorian Homage Cover (CVR C)

After uniting some of the most famous heroines of the Victorian age including Jane Eyre, Miss Havisham and Marie Curie, Irene Adler must finally come face-to-face with Sherlock Holmes’s greatest nemesis, Moriarty!  World Fantasy Award winning writer Lavie Tidhar and TMNT artist Paul McCaffrey present an alternate history of the greatest literary characters of the 19th Century in the vein of Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen!

Adler #2

Around the Tubes

Adler #1

It was new comic book day yesterday! What’d you all get? What’d you like? What’d you dislike? Sound off in the comments below. While you decide on that, here’s some comic news and reviews from around the web in our morning roundup.

Newsarama – Abrams’ Final Two Spider-Man Issues Postponed Four Months – So many delays for high profile series.

The Beat – A Year of Free Comics: Girls’ School of Knighthood is off to a great start – Free comics!

Reviews

Talking Comics – Adler #1
How to Love Comics – High Level

Review: Adler #1

Adler #1

Adler #1 is kind of a nerdfest for anyone who enjoys Victorian literature with such luminaries as Jane Eyre, Estella Havisham, the vampire Carmilla, and even Ayesha from H. Rider Haggard’s She. Writer Lavie Tidhar and artist Paul McCaffrey let the women of these (For better or worse) long enduring late 19th century British novels have just as much fun as the male characters as they engage in shoot outs, witty repartee, and cloak and dagger scheming.

The story begins in the dark, PTSD-inducing imperalist haze of the Second Boer War in South Africa, which establishes Jane as a capable protagonist, who is relegated to the position of nurse even though she does the work of a doctor. While Irene Adler is much more verbose, Jane is a keen observer with McCaffrey giving he quick glances and facial expressions that look like processing or deep thinking. She is a sympathetic POV character and is much more than the sidekick that Adler monologues to as shown by the last several intrigue-filled pages.

Paul McCaffrey has already worked on the comic adaptation of Kim Newman’s fantastic Victorian alternate history novel Anno Dracula (Seriously, it kept me awake on a 10 hour drive from Washington, DC to Louisville, Kentucky.) so cobblestone streets, corsets, cravats, and steampunk blimps come naturally to him. His art is easy to follow and is naturalistic, but a little messed up just like Steve Dillon’s work. McCaffrey’s one weakness is a case of same face with the female characters who aren’t Ayesha, but thankfully, he emphasizes their different hair colors and fashion choices. Carmilla has a Goth thing going for her, Irene Adler is more steampunk, and Estella is an upper class mad scientist. Fashion and costume choice definitely helps establish character in Adler #1.

Another amusing part of Adler #1 is how minimized, and honestly pathetic, the role of the male characters are in the narrative. Irene Adler trolls Moriarty, who comes across as a villain of the week instead of a conniving Big Bad like Andrew Scott’s portrayal in BBC’s Sherlock that had the Internet shrieking every time he was even hinted to appear on the screen. Also, Holmes himself is a non-entity that doesn’t even appear on-panel because he’s too busy chasing rumors of giant hounds on the moors. Instead Adler #1 is about the extreme competence of Irene Adler as well as Jane Eyre trying to find her place in early 20th century England while Ayesha and Carmilla scheme and hint at plots just beginning to unravel.

With more of an emphasis on action, flashy, yet readable visuals, and character personality instead of mystery, Adler #1 is wonderful first course into Lavie Tidhar and Paul McCaffrey’s female-fronted world of Victorian character crossovers. The relationship between Jane and Adler is intrigued, there’s some gunplay, and Tidhar and McCaffrey definitely left me wanting more. Adler is a penny dreadful for the 2020s. I’m looking forward to see the relationship between Jane and Irene Adler develop just as much as the next cool late 19th century/early 20th century female historical figure or literary character cameo.

Story: Lavie Tidhar Art: Paul McCaffrey Letters: Simon Bowland
Story: 8.5 Art: 8.0 Overall: 8.3 Recommendation: Buy

Titan Comics provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Dark Agnes #1

Wednesdays are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in!

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this Wednesday.

Adler #1 (Titan Comics) – Sherlock’s love Irene Adler is on a mission to take down Moriarty!

Backtrack #1 (Oni Press) – A cross history car race allows the winner to erase one mistake from their life.

Conan: Battle for the Serpent Crown #1 (Marvel) – Conan’s in the modern world and heads to Vegas. The story itself is a typical fantasy adventure but the setting and characters makes it stand out.

Dark Agnes #1 (Marvel) – Robert E. Howard’s creation comes to comics and it’s a really fun debut with lots of action and great pacing and dialogue.

Doctor Doom #5 (Marvel) – One of Marvel’s best comics out right now. Each issue has been fantastic as conspiracy reigns.

Going to the Chapel #4 (Action Lab: Danger Zone) – The off the rails wedding wraps up and how it ends, we have no idea! A fantastic comic series that we hope to see on the big screen.

The Man Who F’ed Up Time #1 (AfterShock) – A lab worked decides to take advantage of the prototype time machine at work. The title pretty much says how that goes.

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #3 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing) – Just a fun series taking the two properties and bringing them together. If you’re a 90s kid, this is a must.

Star Wars: Darth Vader #1 (Marvel) – While the main Star Wars series shows the events post Empire Strikes Back from the Rebels’ perspective, this companion series shows it from Vader’s.

X-Men/Fantastic Four #1 (Marvel) – The clash between the teams has been foreshadowed for a while but what the ramifications will be is what the real draw here.

Preview: Adler #1

Adler #1

Author(s): Lavie Tidhar
Artist(s): Paul McCaffrey
Cover Artist(s): Christian Ward (CVR A), Paul McCaffrey (CVR B), Victorian Homage Cover (CVR C), B&W Variant (CVR D)

For Sherlock, there was only ever one woman – now Irene Adler is on a mission to take down Moriarty! It’s the League of Extraordinary Gentlewomen, as Adler teams up with a host of famous female faces from science, history and literature to defeat the greatest criminal mastermind of all time!

Adler #1

SDCC 2013: Titan’s New Projects

At San Diego Comic-Con, Titan Comics, the new venture from publishing giant, Titan, announced a brand-new wave of creator-owned titles set for 2014! The new titles span a mix of established comics and novelist talent, as well as up-and-coming creators and artists from whom you’ll soon be hearing much more – such as Victor Gischler, Tazio Bettin, Pat Mills, Carl Potts, Larry Stroman, Lavie Tidhar, Paul McCaffrey and Des Taylor!

The new wave of titles includes assassin black-comedy Accident Man co-created by 2000AD legend Pat Mills with a cover by the incomparable Howard Chaykin; a brand-new chapter of long-running science-fiction gem Alien Legion, by fan-favorite creative team Carl Potts and Larry Stroman; ladies of literature action-adventure Adler by novelist Lavie Tidhar and artist Paul McCaffrey; adrenal grindhouse-flick Sally Of The Wasteland by Victor Gischler and artist Tazio Bettin, with cover by blazing Image stalwart Tim Seeley; and femme-fatale espionage caper Scarlett Couture by famed good-girl artist Des Taylor.

At SDCC, Titan Comics made a splash with numerous launches including fantasy The First Kingdom Vol.1: The Birth of Tundran by comics legend Jack Katz; new horror fantasy collection Razorjack by Watchmen colorist John Higgins; the Eagle-Award-winning comedy Thrud the Barbarian by writer/artist Carl Critchlow; afterlife thriller Numbercruncher by Si Spurrier, artist P.J. Holden and colorist Jordie Bellaire; SF and fantasy anthology Monster Massacre; genre-mashing hormonal superhero Sharky by Dave Elliott and Alex Horley; and videogame tie-in Devil May Cry: The Chronicles of Vergil.

AccidentMan_GN_Cvr_CBR Adler-promo-image-CBR ALEG_CBR Sally-CBR scarlettcover_CBR