Tag Archives: thumbs

Thumbs #2 Heads Back for a New Printing

The second issue of award-winning playwright and comics writer Sean Lewis and award-winning artist Hayden Sherman’s hot new technology thriller Thumbs is being fast-tracked for a second printing in order to keep up with growing customer demand.

In Thumbs #2, Charley “Thumbs” is out of his coma and back in the world. Trapped by the Power, he sees the junkies who’ve taken technology underground, the revolutionaries who deliver devices to the people, and the government that’s banned it all.

Set in a reality where a tech mogul has created his own army of tech-addicted teens and directed them to take on the government, Thumbs readers are introduced to a high-stakes story where Charley “Thumbs” Fellows is a member of just such an army. Poor and raised by the influential MOM™ app, he soon finds himself in the center of a war. 

Thumbs #2, second printing (Diamond Code MAY198886) will be available on Wednesday, August 7. The final order cutoff deadline for comics retailers is Monday, July 15. 

Thumbs #2, second printing

Advertisements

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Aero #1

Wednesdays are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in!

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this Wednesday.

Aero #1 (Marvel) – The character gets her own series with an English translation of her origin and an all-new tale. Great to see this creation become more accessible.

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #3 (DC Comics/IDW Publishing) – The series has been off the wall fun mashing up so much between DC and TMNT. Just sit back and enjoy the fun.

Charlie’s Angels vs. Bionic Woman #1 (Dynamite Entertainment) – How has it taken this long for this to happen?

DCeased #3 (DC Comics) – DC doing a zombie story? We had low expectations honestly since the concept has been done so many times before but this series has pleasantly surprised us so far.

Lois Lane #1 (DC Comics) – Lois gets her own series! In an age where journalists are “the enemy,” we’re expecting a lot from this series.

Ignited #2 (Humanoids/H1) – The first issue is fantastic. It’s a world where students seem to be getting powers set in the aftermath of a school shooting. An interesting concept that we want to learn more about.

No One Left to Fight #1 (Dark Horse Comics) – An anime/manga inspired series from Aubrey Sitterson and Fico Ossio about what happens when the hero grows older and there’s just no one left to fight.

Postal: Deliverance #1 (Image Comics/Top Cow Productions) – The new story arc finds Mark struggling with being the Mayor of Eden. A very underrated series about a town filled with criminals that’s worth checking out, especially with this new arc/starting point.

Sea of Stars #1 (Image Comics) – Jason Aaron and Dennis Hallum’s new series about space truckers. The fact Aaron is on board and he can do the amazing long game writing has us excited about this creator-owned series.

Space Bandits #1 (Image Comics/Millarworld) – The new series by Mark Millar with art by Matteo Scalera. It sounds like the heist/betrayal/revenge story but with Millar’s backing by Netflix, this one is a series to watch.

Spencer and Locke 2 #4 (Action Lab: Danger Zone) – The second volume wraps up with a bang. If you haven’t been reading this twisted tale, you’ve been missing out. It’s all revealed here and has us hoping for more.

Star Wars: Target Vader #1 (Marvel) – Bounty hunters go after Vader and the concept sounds too awesome to not read.

Test #1 (Vault Comics) – From Christopher Sebela and Jen Hickman, this series is a weird story about the need for liberation and technology.

Thumbs #2 (Image Comics) – The story about technology, revolution, and the government is right up our way and we’re enjoying the hell out of it.

The Walking Dead #193 (Image Comics/Skybound Entertainment) – Sounds like this’ll be a big issue! What the hell is going on? We’ll find out Wednesday.

Around the Tubes

Thumbs #1

It was new comic book day yesterday. What’d everyone get? What’d you like? What’d you dislike? Sound off in the comments.

Kotaku – Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3 Brings The Satisfying Superhero Lineup – Can’t wait to play this game!

CBLDF – Comics, Manga, Neil Gaiman, and More Banned in KS Prisons – Boooo.

Reviews

Talking Comics – Black Cat #1
Comics Bulletin –
Black Hammer/Justice League: Hammer of Justice #1
Talking Comics –
The Incredible Hulk: Last Call #1
CBR –
Thumbs #1

Thumbs #1 is Heading Back to Print

Award-winning playwright and comics writer Sean Lewis and award-winning artist Hayden Sherman’s new technology thriller Thumbs is being rushed back to print this week to keep up with customer demand.

Imagine someone like, say, Mark Zuckerberg created his own army of tech-obsessed teens and directed them to take on the government. What would the fallout be? In Thumbs, readers are introduced to a high-stakes world where that—and much worse—can unfold. Charley “Thumbs” Fellows is a member of just such an army. Poor and raised by the influential MOM™ app, he finds himself in the center of a war. 

Blade Runner meets Black Mirror in this hot new series perfect for fans of their previous collaboration, the hit series The Few and Christopher Sebela, Ro Stein, and Ted Brandt’s Crowded.  

Thumbs #1, second printing (Diamond Code APR198093) will be available on Wednesday, July 3. The final order cutoff deadline for comics retailers is today, Monday, June 10.

Thumbs #1, second printing

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Rust Belt

Wednesdays are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in!

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this Wednesday.

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2 (DC Comics) – If you’ve seen our review of the first issue, you know why this is on the list. Just so much fun and out there ideas. Can’t wait to see where this goes.

Black Cat #1 (Marvel) – She’s had a lot on her plate in recent years taking a bigger role in Marvel’s criminal underground. We want to see what she does in a solo series and where they take her character now.

Criminal #5 (Image Comics) – One, if not the, best comic out there right now. This is a perfect hopping on point so take advantage and find out why we praise it so much. A must for fans of crime/noir comics.

DCeased #2 (DC Comics) – The first issue had a nice zombie/horror vibe to it, though we’ve seen a lot of what was inside before. But, it hit the right beats and we want to see how it differentiates itself.

Ignited #1 (Humanoids/H1 Comics) – A whole new comic universe from a hell of a list of creators. Can’t wait to dive in and see what they’ve put together.

Lady Mechanika: Sangre #1

Lady Mechanika: Sangre #1 (Benitez Productions) – We’re fans of this steampunk-ish series. This new volume has her heading to the Spanish countryside to hunt a demonic creature.

Rust Belt (Secret Acres) – A look at the underemployed, the working poor, the dreamers of America’s post-industrial cities.

Thumbs #1 (Image Comics) – Tech-obsessed teens are directed to take on the government from the creative team of The Few. Yeah, we’re in.

The Walking Dead #192 (Image Comics/Skybound) – Did you read the last issue? You know why we want to read this one. We’re not spoiling it.

War of the Realms #5 (Marvel) – The event is up and down but we’ve come this far.

Around the Tubes

Detective Comics #1004

It’s new comic book day! What’s everyone excited for? What do you plan on getting? Sound off in the comments below! While you think about that and wait for shops to open, here’s some comic news and reviews from around the web in our morning roundup.

Arlington Now – New Pilot Program is Bringing Books to a Barbershop on Lee Highway – This is fantastic to see. Lets step up comic community!

Anime News Network – SPJA, Nonlinear World Present White Paper on N. American Manga Industry – A very interesting read.

Reviews

CBR – Detective Comics #1004
Talking Comics –
Middlewest #7
Talking Comics –
Road of Bones #1
Comic Attack –
Thumbs #1
CBR –
Under the Moon: A Catwoman Tale

Check Out a Sneak Peek of Sean Lewis and Hayden Sherman’s Thumbs

Image Comics has revealed a first look at the highly anticipated new cyberpunk adventure series Thumbs, by award winning playwright and comics writer Sean Lewis teams up with award winning artist Hayden Sherman

The break-neck paced technology thriller is a must-read book perfect for readers of Christopher Sebela, Ro Stein, and Ted Brandt’s 2019 Eisner nominated series Crowded or the buzzworthy Netflix phenomenon, Black Mirror. Thumbs #1 hits stores on Wednesday, June 5 and boasts a total of 40 pages per issue.

Imagine someone like, say, Mark Zuckerberg created his own army of tech-obsessed teens and directed them to take on the government. What would the fall-out be? Thumbs explores a high-stakes world where that—and much worse—can unfold. Charley “Thumbs” Fellows is a member of just such an army. Poor and raised by the influential MOM™ app, he finds himself in the center of a war.

Thumbs #1 (Diamond Code APR190011) will be available on Wednesday, June 5. The final order cutoff deadline for comics retailers is this Monday, May 13.

Thumbs #1

Writer Sean Lewis Teams with Artist Hayden Sherman for Thumbs

Award winning playwright and comics writer Sean Lewis teams up with award winning artist Hayden Sherman for a new technology thriller series in Thumbs. The rapid-paced, science-fiction maxi-series will be five issues—each issue a total of 40 pages—and will launch from Image Comics this June.

Imagine someone like, say, Mark Zuckerberg created his own army of tech-obsessed teens and directed them to take on the government. What would the fall-out be? Thumbs explores a high-stakes world where that—and much worse—can unfold. Charley “Thumbs” Fellows is a member of just such an army. Poor and raised by the influential MOM™ app, he finds himself in the center of a war. 

Best described as The Social Network meets Black MirrorThumbs is a must-read book from the team behind the hit series The Few and is perfect for readers of Christopher Sebela, Ro Stein, and Ted Brandt’s Crowded.  

Thumbs #1 (Diamond Code APR190011) will be available on Wednesday, June 5. The final order cutoff deadline for comics retailers is Monday, May 13.

Thumbs #1