Tag Archives: falconspeare

We Live

Preview: Falconspeare

Falconspeare

(W) Mike Mignola, Warwick Johnson-Cadwell (A) Warwick Johnson-Cadwell (CA) Mike Mignola
In Shops: Jan 26, 2022
SRP: $17.99

Jump into an eerie Victorian-style mystery with an off-kilter, charming twist in the next knockout collaboration from Mike Mignola and Warwick Johnson-Cadwell! Monster hunters extraordinaire Professor Meinhardt, Mr. Knox, and Ms. Van Sloan have teamed up to slay spooks and investigate the uncanny before, but now they’ll tackle a question that’s haunted them for years: What happened to their friend and vampire slayer extraordinaire, James Falconspeare?

Rendered in Johnson-Cadwell’s signature loose, expressive style, and with gorgeous cover from Mignola and colorist Dave Stewart, this hardcover will be a treat for fans of Mr. Higgins Comes Home and Our Encounters with Evil as well as folks new to the world Johnson-Cadwell and Mignola have created.

Falconspeare

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Dark Ages #4

Wednesdays (and now Tuesdays) are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this week.

Bad Kitty Meets the Baby (Roaring Brook Press) – Great graphic novels for kids that are full of lessons and funny enough parents will enjoy it too.

Batgirls #2 (DC Comics) – The first issue was kinetic fun. Fun being the operative word.

Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #1 (Marvel) – “Devil’s Reign” has been fantastic and this series focused on Elektra/Daredevil has us excited to see what this chapter brings.

Dark Ages #4 (Marvel) – This alternate world has been awesome so far. With technology/electronics on the fritz, the heroes must take on Apocalypse who might have an answer to the world’s problems.

Devil’s Reign: Superior Four #1 (Marvel) – Doc Ock in his “superior” phase has been great and it looks like we’re getting “superior” versions of well known characters from across the multiverse in his latest machinations.

Falconspeare (Dark Horse) – We’re Mike Mignola fans and love his comics, so an entire graphic novel by him and Warwick Johnson-Cadwell gets us to take notice.

Glam Prix Racers: Back on Track (Feiwel & Friends) – The first volume was My Little Pony meets Mario Kart for kids but we loved it too! We’re excited to check out the second race of the Glam Prix Cup on GLittergear Island!

Joe Hill’s Rain #1 (Image Comics) – Joe Hill’s novella gets a comic adaptation and we gave it a glowing review.

The Last Session #2 (Mad Cave Studios) – Friends get back together to finish their roleplaying campaign but a new player threatens to derail the experience.

Robin & Batman #3 (DC Comics) – Great story but it’s the jaw-dropping art that has us sucked in.

The Scorched #1 (Image Comics) – Todd McFarlane has been expanding his Spawn universe and we get our first team book!

Space Cadet #1 (Scout Comics/Scoot) – A young kid dreams of going to the Moon. One night he wakes up on the lunar surface! Luckily, there’s a friendly astronaut there to give a tour.

Sports is Hell (Silver Sprocket) – If you’ve never read Ben Passmore’s graphic novel, here’s your chance in a new printing with a new publisher.

We Ride Titans #1 (Vault Comics) – A dysfunctional family are the ones who pilot the Titan that protects New Hyperion from kaiju.

Preview: Falconspeare

Falconspeare

(W) Mike Mignola, Warwick Johnson-Cadwell (A) Warwick Johnson-Cadwell (CA) Mike Mignola
In Shops: Jan 12, 2022
SRP: $17.99

Jump into an eerie Victorian-style mystery with an off-kilter, charming twist in the next knockout collaboration from Mike Mignola and Warwick Johnson-Cadwell! Monster hunters extraordinaire Professor Meinhardt, Mr. Knox, and Ms. Van Sloan have teamed up to slay spooks and investigate the uncanny before, but now they’ll tackle a question that’s haunted them for years: What happened to their friend and vampire slayer extraordinaire, James Falconspeare?

Rendered in Johnson-Cadwell’s signature loose, expressive style, and with gorgeous cover from Mignola and colorist Dave Stewart, this hardcover will be a treat for fans of Mr. Higgins Comes Home and Our Encounters with Evil as well as folks new to the world Johnson-Cadwell and Mignola have created.

Falconspeare

Dark Horse To Publish Falconspeare Created by Mike Mignola and Warwick Johnson-Cadwell

This fall, Dark Horse Comics will publish Falconspeare, an original graphic novel featuring Mike Mignola and Warwick Johnson-Cadwell’s characters Professor J.T. Meinhardt, Mr. Knox, and Ms. Mary Van Sloan. This eerie Victorian-style mystery delivers horror, humor, and the kind of off-kilter, charming twists that fans have come to expect. Monster hunters extraordinaire Professor Meinhardt, Mr. Knox, and Ms. Van Sloan have teamed up to slay spooks and investigate the uncanny before, but now they’ll tackle a question that’s haunted them for years: What happened to their friend and vampire slayer extraordinaire, James Falconspeare?

Falconspeare is written and drawn by acclaimed artist Warwick Johnson-Cadwell, with lettering by Clem Robins and a cover by Mignola and Eisner Award-winning colorist Dave Stewart

Like the previous graphic novels, Falconspeare features the signature loose, expressive style of cartoonist Warwick Johnson-Cadwell in a standalone story that builds on the characters’ previous adventures. It is set outside both the Hellboy Universe and the Outerverse. Falconspeare will be on sale from Dark Horse Books in comic shops on September 29, 2021 and in bookstores on October 12, 2021.

Falconspeare
Zeismic