Tag Archives: chew/revival

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Trees01_CoverWednesdays are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in. Below are ten suggestions of comics, graphic novels, or trade paperbacks you should spend some extra time checking out.

Top Pick: Trees #1 (Image Comics) – Ten years after they landed. All over the world. And they did nothing, standing on the surface of the Earth like trees, exerting their silent pressure on the world, as if there were no-one here and nothing under foot. Ten years since we learned that there is intelligent life in the universe, but that they did not recognize us as intelligent or alive. Beginning a new science fiction series by Warren Ellis and Jason Howard.

Ten years after they landed. All over the world. And they did nothing, standing on the surface of the Earth like trees, exerting their silent pressure on the world, as if there were no-one here and nothing under foot. Ten years since we learned that there is intelligent life in the universe, but that they did not recognize us as intelligent or alive. Beginning a new science fiction graphic novel by WARREN ELLIS and JASON HOWARD – See more at: http://imagecomics.com/comics/releases/trees-1#sthash.WWkb1Y5K.dpuf
Ten years after they landed. All over the world. And they did nothing, standing on the surface of the Earth like trees, exerting their silent pressure on the world, as if there were no-one here and nothing under foot. Ten years since we learned that there is intelligent life in the universe, but that they did not recognize us as intelligent or alive. Beginning a new science fiction graphic novel by WARREN ELLIS and JASON HOWARD – See more at: http://imagecomics.com/comics/releases/trees-1#sthash.WWkb1Y5K.dpuf

Black Science Vol. 1: Hot to Fall Forever (Image Comics) – Collecting the first six issues of the series, Black Science is a trippy sci-fi filled adventure series that’s one of the most exciting on the market.

Chew/Revival #1 (Image Comics) – The two comic series come together for a fun story that shows it from both series’ perspectives. It shouldn’t work, but it does!

Doctor Spektor #1 (Dynamite) – Another Gold Key release from Dynamite, this one has Mark Waid writing!

The Fuse #4 (Image Comics) – Take a detective series and put it on a space station. So good.

Ms. Marvel #4 (Marvel) – The Marvel series has been a breath of fresh air, introducing us to a new heroine, diverse cast, and some amazing art.

The Midas Flesh #6 (BOOM! Studios/BOOM! Box) – This series is out of this world, but a fun cast, action packed story, and awesome art as well. One of our favorites!

Mind MGMT #22 (Dark Horse) – One of the best comics on the market. Matt Kindt‘s series is moving along and shows what can be done with the long game when it comes to storytelling. So many layers, so freaking good.

Skullkickers #27 (Image Comics) – Comics can be fun and writer Jim Zub‘s off the rails fantasy adventure is a perfect example of that.

Star Wars: Rebel Heist #2 (Dark Horse) – Another Matt Kindt entry. The talented writer has been knocking it out of the park when it comes to this series so far.

Preview: Chew/Revival (One Shot)

Chew/Revival (One Shot)

Story By: John Layman
Story By: Tim Seeley
Art By: Rob Guillory
Art By: Mike Norton
Cover By: Rob Guillory
Cover By: Mike Norton
Price: $4.99
Diamond ID: MAR140497
Published: May 28, 2014

TWO GREAT TASTES THAT TASTE REALLY WEIRD TOGETHER! Tony Chu heads to Wisconsin in two all-new original tales by the creative teams of both critically acclaimed titles! A great jumping-on point for readers who’ve heard how damn good these titles are on their own, and a twisted delight for those already in the know!

ChewRevivalOneShot_CoverChew

Tony Chu will stir things up in Wisconsin in Chew/Revival

John Layman and Rob Guillory, the minds behind Chew, and Tim Seeley and Mike Norton, the architects of the gothic noir Revival, come together to whip up an appetizing fusion of their New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed series for two issues stuffed with adventure in a Chew/Revival cross-over from Image Comics.

Readers will find out what’s on the menu for Tony Chu when he heads into rural Wisconsin—where the dead don’t stay at rest and the living do their best to cope—in Chew/Revival #1.

In a release, Layman said:

In my head I’ve got a checklist of all my favorite books I want Chew to crossover with, if for no other reason than it gives me an opportunity to visit a world that isn’t mine, that I’d nonetheless like to play in. Revival is a the top of the list, and I’m stoked I’ve got the opportunity to send Tony Chu to visit. It’s a fun opportunity to check out both books for less than a single issue of each.

Norton in the release added:

When John [Layman] proposed the idea, I told Tim [Seeley], ‘no way. That will never work. After a while I thought about it and went back to Tim and said, ‘yeah, no way, that will never work!’ But then, I thought even more on it. I think the way we’re doing it is reminiscent of when indie books of the ’80s would cross companies and appear in each book even though you’d never expect those universes to collide. It’s just a matter of loosening up and having some fun.

Seeley added:

Chew showed us all that there was a place for quality off-kilter series, and we’re excited to have the cast of our ‘rural noir’ meet up with America’s favorite cibopath. I think we’ve figured out a great way to take advantage of the ‘WHAT THE HELL’ factor of crossing over two very different worlds that’ll make for a great read.

Guillory finished with:

Honestly, even I was shocked how well the two titles gelled together. It’s a really, really fun experiment that will surprise fans of both books, I think.

Perfect for fans of Chew and Revival who are hungry to try something new and a good taste-test for readers new to either series, Chew/Revival has something for everyone.

Chew/Revival #1 is served in stores on 5/28, and will be available for $4.99. It can be pre-ordered using Diamond Code MAR140497.

chew revival 1 a chew revival 1 b