Tag Archives: yohan sacre

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books & Media Launches Children Graphic Novel Imprint Etch in 2020

Etch

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books & Media has announced Etch, a new line of graphic novels focused on young readers. The publisher is looking to release around 15 graphic novels a year.

The imprint is a little different than other publishers in that there isn’t a dedicated editorial team. Instead, they will acquire titles by editors from their existing children’s book imprints. HMH Books for Young Readers, Clarion, and Versify will see their graphic novel backlist shift to the Etch banner for future printings.

The Etch logo is by HMH senior designer Andrea Miller.

The line will launch in September 2020 with:

  • Dinomighty! by Greg Trine, illustrated by Aaron Blecha, “a zany caper featuring four dinosaur heroes for fans of Dog Man and The Bad Guys series.”
  • Sherlock Bones and the Natural History Mystery by Renee Treml, a mystery story featuring the unlikely combination of a bird skeleton detective and his stuffed parrot sidekick.
  • Ichiro by Ryan Inzana, a revised paperback edition of the Eisner-nominated YA comic centering around a Japanese-American boy and his relationship with Japanese gods and mythological creatures.
  • Carmen Sandiego: The Chasing Paper Caper, the third in a series of graphic novels tying into the Netflix reboot of the classic animated series.

Future releases also announced include Timo the Adventurer by Jonathan Garnier, illustrated by Yohan Sacré (October 2020); Oh My Gods! by Stephanie Cooke and Insha Fitzpatrick, illustrated by Juliana Moon (January 2021); and Power Up by Sam Nisson, illustrated by Darnell Johnson (February 2021).