Tag Archives: jo migyeong

Search for Hu banner ad

Preview: EVE #5 (of 5)

EVE #5 (of 5)

(W) Victor Lavalle (A) Jo Migyeong (CA) Ario Anindito
In Shops: Sep 08, 2021
SRP: $3.99

Will Eve finally fulfill her destiny as humanity’s last hope?

Eve’s long journey is coming to a head as she finally arrives at the Vault, which is now sunk deep below the ocean surface off the coast of Washington State.

But what, or who, she finds within will either lead Eve to complete the most important mission of all time… or complete the world’s destruction.

The epic conclusion to the dystopian fable no comic reader can afford to miss!

EVE #5 (of 5)

Preview: EVE #5 (of 5)

EVE #5 (of 5)

(W) Victor Lavalle (A) Jo Migyeong (CA) Ario Anindito
In Shops: Sep 08, 2021
SRP: $3.99

Will Eve finally fulfill her destiny as humanity’s last hope?

Eve’s long journey is coming to a head as she finally arrives at the Vault, which is now sunk deep below the ocean surface off the coast of Washington State.

But what, or who, she finds within will either lead Eve to complete the most important mission of all time… or complete the world’s destruction.

The epic conclusion to the dystopian fable no comic reader can afford to miss!

EVE #5 (of 5)

Preview: EVE #4 (of 5)

EVE #4 (of 5)

(W) Victor Lavalle (A) Jo Migyeong (CA) Ario Anindito
In Shops: Aug 11, 2021
SRP: $3.99

Even humanity’s last hope needs a little help sometimes.

The Vault is in sight and Eve’s come farther than any before her, but the last leg of her journey will test her to her core. Thankfully, she isn’t alone… with her newly discovered sister by her side.

Wexler has dodged the bullet, literally, and is in hot pursuit of the pair. Will he catch up to them and dash humanity’s last chance?

EVE #4 (of 5)

Preview: EVE #3 (of 5)

EVE #3 (of 5)

(W) Victor Lavalle (A) Jo Migyeong (CA) Ario Anindito
In Shops: Jul 14, 2021
SRP: $3.99

Who can you trust when you’ve always been alone?

Eve finally reaches dry land, but soon discovers she has company.

When she encounters a mysterious group of children, she will have to grapple with the fact that not everything Wexler has told her was true. And if that’s the case, what else about her reality is a lie?

EVE #3 (of 5)

Preview: Eve #2 (of 5)

Eve #2 (of 5)

(W) Victor Lavalle (A) Jo Migyeong (CA) Ario Anindito
In Shops: Jun 09, 2021
SRP: $3.99

Will Eve escape the remnants of New York City in order to save her father and restore life to a dying planet?

Accompanied by Wexler, Eve must stay one step ahead of the mutants stalking them who want to consume them.

But when they are separated, she will discover that there are things even more terrifying in this new wasteland.

Eve #2 (of 5)

Review: Eve #1

Eve #1

The idea that kids will inherit our battles and will be forced to fight them is not a new one. It appears enough in fiction to be considered a deeply rooted generational fear about how humanity is authoring its own destruction and thus needs to be rescued by its youngest members. BOOM! Studios new series, Eve, considers this same set of circumstances, but the devil’s in the details, and writer Victor LaValle has made sure things shine enough in that department to set itself apart from the rest.

Eve tells the story of a young black girl who emerges from a stasis tank only to meet an android teddy bear called Wexler that tells her she has to save the world after it was ravaged by global climate change. And that’s just the beginning.

Vibrantly illustrated by Jo Mi-Gyeong, the comic goes on to set up global devastation as the new normal, but not a permanent one if Eve and Wexler have anything to say about it. There’s a very lived-in feel to the setting in Eve. Every panel is given the chance to substantially add to the worldbuilding and Mi-Gyeong’s clever inclusion of everyday objects strewn around the environment gives everything a layered sense of story.

Brittany Peer’s colors are surprisingly restrained and do an excellent job of keeping the environmental aspect of the story seem grounded in reality, especially during its most sci-fi moments. Even Wexler comes across as a semi-realistic invention that occupies a plausible physical space along with Eve. It’s truly an accomplishment considering the book has a YA look about it that initially gives it a cartoony vibe.

Eve #1

LaValle’s script seems interested in allowing Eve to actually embody the idea of salvation in regards to our broken planet. Unlike other post-apocalyptic tales of this kind, Eve presents its Earth-saving mission as a real possibility, one that can bring about change and harmony between humanity and nature if the former learns how to take care of the latter.

I would be making the new comic a disservice if I didn’t mention that Wexler, the android teddy bear, is likely to burrow into readers’ hearts and never leave. Unless this is all a ploy to later reveal he’s an evil character or that he’s going to sabotage Eve, Wexler’s design and the amount of emotion it allows him to express is sure to help him become a fan favorite. Issue #1 already presents him as a character that one hopes survives all the way to the end.

Eve herself is also easy to root for. She’s very aware of her emotional state and comes across as mature beyond her age. LaValle makes her and Wexler’s dialogue transpire in a serious manner as well. The book isn’t afraid to make readers interact with big ideas that require a higher degree of thought. It’s never inaccessible, but nothing is sacrificed for the sake of simplicity.

With a final page that’s sure to get readers excited about what’s coming next, Eve #1 is the start of what looks to be an entirely different kind of environmental storytelling. Its characters are instantly likable and the setting carries enough visual flair to distinguish it from some of the other stories on the market. Eve is the type of comic you open a subscription box for.

Story: Victor LaValle Art: Jo Mi-Gyeong
Color: Brittany Peer Letterer: Andworld Design
Story: 9.0 Art: 9.0 Overall: 9.0 Recommendation: Buy

BOOM! Studios provided Graphic Policy with a FREE copy for review


Purchase: comiXologyKindleZeus ComicsTFAW

Preview: Eve #1

Eve #1

(W) Victor Lavalle (A) Jo Migyeong (CA) Ario Anindito
In Shops: May 05, 2021
SRP: $3.99

For fans of Undiscovered Country and Little Bird comes a new adventure series from award-winning author Victor LaValle (Victor LaValle’s Destroyer) and rising-star artist Jo Mi-Gyeong (Jim Henson’s The Dark Crystal) about a dangerous journey across a future dystopian America to save the world.

When the ice caps melted, most of humanity was lost to the hidden disease that was released.

Now, a mysterious girl named Eve has awoken in secret and must deal with a world that’s nothing like the virtual reality she was raised in.

In order to save her real father, Eve must embark on a deadly quest across the country, but she has no idea of the threats that await her – or the price she will pay to restore life to a dying planet…

Eve #1

Preview: Jim Henson’s The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #12

Jim Henson’s The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #12

(W) Matthew Erman (A) Jo Migyeong (CA) Mona Finden
In Shops: Oct 21, 2020
SRP: $3.99

All-Maudra Mayrin and Kam’Lu may have finally escaped the belly of the beast, but their journey is not yet over. From the depths of the Silver Sea, in the bowels of Thra, an ancient enemy emerges, one that threatens to destroy their whole world!

Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #12
Almost American