Tag Archives: gods games we play

We Live

Yen Press Announces New Titles at Sakura Con 2022

During the Yen Press Industry Panel at Sakura Con 2022, Yen Press, LLC announced the acquisition of new manga (The Demon Sword Master of Excalibur AcademyThermae Romae (manga omnibus)Touring After the Apocalypse; and The Gay Who Turned Kaiju), novels (Arya Sometimes Hides Her Feelings in RussianGods’ Games We PlayApparently, Disillusioned Adventurers Will Save the World; and King’s Proposal), and an art book (Visions 2022 Illustrators Book).

Visions 2022 Illustrators Book (artbook) 

By pixiv Inc

A stunning art collection essential for art lovers and book collectors alike. The ultimate collection of pixiv artists is back! The 2022 compilation features 170 of some of the greatest creators on the platform—all of whom have made an impact on the artistic field. With an abundance of styles from retro to modern and beyond, there’s something for everyone to love! 

Visions 2022 Illustrators Book (artbook)

The Demon Sword Master of Excalibur Academy (manga)

Story by Yu Shimizu
Art by Asuka Keigen

The manga adaptation of the light novel series soon to be an anime! One thousand years ago, Leonis Death Magnus, undead sorcerer and the greatest of the Dark Lords, entered magical stasis during a climactic battle. When he awakens, he finds a beautiful silver-haired young woman named Riselia standing before him. More shockingly, Leonis has been transformed into a ten-year-old boy! Now he’ll have to adapt to this strange era and deal with the twisted monsters called Voids—all while keeping his true powers a secret from his lovely new guardian.

The Demon Sword Master of Excalibur Academy (manga)

Thermae Romae (manga omnibus)

Story and Art by Mari Yamazaki

When Roman architect Lucius is criticized for his outdated thermae designs, he retreats to the local bath to collect his thoughts. All Lucius wants is to recapture the Rome of earlier days, when one could enjoy a relaxing bath without the pressure of merchants and roughhousing patrons. But as he slips deeper into the water, Lucius is caught in the drainage and dragged through the bottom of the bath!

He emerges amid a group of strange-looking foreigners with the most peculiar bathhouse customs…over 1,500 years in the future in modern-day Japan! His contemporaries wanted him to modernize, so—borrowing the customs of these mysterious bath-loving people—Lucius opens what quickly becomes the most popular new bathhouse in Rome: Thermae Romae! Soak in Mari Yamazaki’s fantastic story and art in this deluxe omnibus! 

Thermae Romae (manga omnibus)

Arya Sometimes Hides Her Feelings in Russian (light novel)

Story by Sunsunsun
Art by Momoco

A romantic comedy perfect for fans of Chitose Is in the Ramune Bottle and The Girl I Saved on the Train Turned Out to Be My Childhood Friend.Masachika Kuse sits next to Arya, a girl of Russian and Japanese descent. She’s beautiful, haughty, and an exceptional student, while Masachika is nerdy and known for being a slacker. He’s an easy target for her comments in Russian, which she’s all too happy to translate—except he can understand what she’s really saying!

Arya Sometimes Hides Her Feelings in Russian (light novel)

Gods’ Games We Play (light novel)

Story by Kei Sazane
Art by Toiro Tomose

An epic fantasy soon to be an anime! When the gods grow bored, they decide to spice up their eternal existence by challenging all takers in an ultimate battle of wits! Of course, these deities are capricious, unfair, and incomprehensible at the best of times, so winning is virtually impossible for a mere mortal. Even so, things are bound to get interesting when a former goddess and a genius human boy team up in a bid to win the game to end all games! 

Gods’ Games We Play (light novel) 

Apparently, Disillusioned Adventurers Will Save the World (light novel) 

Story by Shinta Fuji
Art by Susumu Kuroi

A playful take on isekai tropes that will be a good fit for readers of Banished from the Hero’s Party, I Decided to Live a Quiet Life in the Countryside. Nick used to be a member of a veteran adventurer party, helping his undisciplined friends with the accounts whenever he could. But what was his reward? Getting accused of embezzlement and kicked out by the leader he respected. Before long, he finds a few other jaded adventurers and kindred spirits, and together, they form their own unstoppable party! 

Apparently, Disillusioned Adventurers Will Save the World (light novel)

King’s Proposal (light novel)

Story by Koushi Tachibana
Art by Tsunako

A new light novel series from the creative team behind the legendary Date A Live. Saika Kuozaki is an all-powerful witch with looks to die for. She’s also the only woman who can thwart the mysterious entities attempting to destroy the world once every 300 hours. When Saika is mortally wounded, however, she bequeaths both her powers and body to the normal high school boy who happens upon her, Mushiki Kuga. But just because Mushiki has her abilities doesn’t mean he can control them. To stand a chance of saving the world, he’ll have to attend an academy for mages as Saika—all while keeping his identity under wraps!   

King’s Proposal (light novel)

Touring After the Apocalypse (manga) 

Story and Art by Sakae Saito

With a surprisingly upbeat tone, readers of Girls’ Last Tour will enjoy this trip through apocalyptic Japan. All alone after the end of days, two girls bike through the empty ruins of Japan—and they’re not about to let the collapse of civilization get in the way of sightseeing! Even when the world ends, their journey goes on.

Touring After the Apocalypse (manga) 

The Gay Who Turned Kaiju (manga)

Story and Art by Kazuki Minamoto

Bullied for being gay, teenager Takashi Arashiro wishes he could just be somebody else—but who could predict he’d morph into a giant-headed sci-fi creature?! Takashi’s tumultuous emotions become the catalyst for personal and social exploration of the LGBTQ experience in this quirky, profound manga from prolific BL author Kazuki Minamoto.

The Gay Who Turned Kaiju (manga)
Zeismic