Tag Archives: foundlings

They Were Cast Aside, But They May Be the Ones to Save the World in Foundlings

Foundlings

John Stanisci and Emma Kubert have teamed together to create Foundlings, a brand new dystopian young adult comic book series in the vein of Stranger Things and The Goonies, tackling issues of diversability and empowerment. The series follows a group of children cast aside by their families and society…until they were possibly the only ones capable of saving it. Funding exclusively on Kickstarter, and if successful, planned for a full graphic novel, Foundlings is a timely story tackling themes of global politics and ableism in a story that will keep readers on immersed for 28 pages.

The comic is currently being offered through Kickstarter. The campaign ends on November 13 and has an $8,000 goal.

Years in the future, a virus has been weaponized by a Russian government hell-bent on destroying America from within. This deadly new strain has been perfected to kill within 24 hours of contact, and only small groups of children carry immunity to the effects. They are the Foundlings; a diverse group of children under the age of 16, who alone carry the hope for a possible cure, and a solution to extinction.

Foundlings centers around one very special group of kids, all who still dream of the families that long ago abandoned them, and instead find family in each other in order to survive and find a way to save the Earth from destruction. The story is inspired by The Foundlings Hospital in New York City, which is a real-life home to children, many of whom are challenged with physical and emotional issues. The story is rich with themes of empowerment and inspiration for teenagers and adults alike, in a fun adventure story that recalls some of the most beloved films and television series.

Funding exclusively through this Kickstarter campaign is a self-contained comic book story, published in a 28 page, full-color comic format, written by John Stanisci, and drawn by Emma Kubert, with two covers available.

Currently on Kickstarter, $5 gets you a digital copy of the comic with $10 getting a “Kickstarter Edition” physical copy. Other tiers feature pins, variants, signed copies, and even the ability to be drawn into the comic.