Tag Archives: david buckley

The Sandman: Season 1 Soundtrack is available now

The Sandman: Season 1 (Soundtrack From the Original Netflix Series)

WaterTower Music has announced the release of The Sandman: Season 1 (Soundtrack From the Original Netflix Series) which features music by composer David Buckley. This 27-track score is available now on all major digital platforms for digital purchase and streaming.

The Sandman’s range of genres gave Buckley the opportunity to embrace a large palette for the score including full orchestra, choir, early music instruments, such as viola da gamba and baroque flutes, and some esoteric sounds. He combined historic classical music and instruments with modern electronic textures to bridge time within the music. One of the most notable experimentations is that of Dream’s theme, using bells to portray his character’s ruling of the sleeping world, reminding the viewer of a midnight chime. The bells are sometimes warped or dissonant, mimicking the inconsistency and eclecticism of dreams. As an Endless, Dream’s theme is ubiquitous, being used throughout episodes regardless of his on-screen presence. 

The highly emotional score switches from dark to dainty themes episode to episode while still remaining cohesive and homogenous. Buckley created sounds unique to every moment of the series, making the music feel alive and distinctive.

The Sandman: Season 1 (Soundtrack From the Original Netflix Series) track list is as follows:

  1. The Kingdom Of Dreams
  2. Meet Ethel Cripps
  3. The Threshold Of Desire
  4. Jessamy’s Flight
  5. The Houses Of Secrets & Mysteries
  6. Dream’s Escape
  7. Johanna & Rachel
  8. The Oldest Game
  9. A Kind Word And A Friendly Face
  10. God Tells Me To Do It
  11. Every Hundred Years
  12. A True Annulet
  13. Dreams Shape The World
  14. The Throne Room Of The King of Dreams
  15. Jed Walker, Guardian Of Sleepers
  16. Sleep Well, John
  17. New Dreams To Spur The Minds Of Men
  18. Even A Nightmare Can Dream
  19. A Remedy For Poison
  20. The Truth Of Mankind
  21. Into The Vortex
  22. Return To The White Horse
  23. This Is Fiddler’s Green
  24. Children Of The Endless
  25. There Is Hope
  26. New Dreams… A New Age
  27. Fortune Go With You