Tag Archives: the comedy women in print prize

UK’s Comedy Women In Print Prize Announce a New Graphic Novel Category

Comedy Women in Print Prize

The Comedy Women in Print Prize (CWIP) has unveiled the longlists for the second year of the UK and Ireland’s only prize to shine a light on work by funny women. This is also the inaugural year for a new category celebrating graphic novels by women creators. With crime fiction, retellings of classics, coming-of-age and contemporary narratives, the list proves there’s no single formula for funny fiction. The Comedy Women In Print Prize is founded by actress, standup, and author Helen Lederer, and the winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony in London in September.

A new award category celebrates Published Humorous Graphic Novels by women for the first time. The Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 longlist for Published Humorous Graphic Novels is:

  • Sensible Footwear: A Girl’s Guide: A graphic guide to lesbian and queer history 1950-2020 by Kate Charlesworth (Myriad Editions)
  • The Trials & Tribulations of Mr. T. Deeyum by Susannah Felstead (Self-published)
  • Passing for Human by Liana Finck (Jonathan Cape)
  • The “C” Word by Vanessa Lawrence (Self-published)
  • A Pocketful of Clouds Volume 6: Practical Mythology by Morag Lewis (Sweatdrop Studios)
  • My Husband is a Cultist by Mei Lian Hoe (Self-published)
  • Life Drawing. A Life Under Lights by Jessica Martin (Unbound)
  • Bloodlust and Bonnets by Emily McGovern (Simon & Schuster)
  • Was it… Too Much for You? by Danny Noble (Self-published)
  • Cassandra Darke by Posy Simmonds (Jonathan Cape)
  • Stand in Your Power by Rachael Smith (Self-published)

The inaugural CWIP Prize for Published Humorous Graphic Novels is chaired by author and former Blue Peter presenter Janet Ellis. Janet is joined by: Rachael Ball from LDComics, author of The Inflatable Woman (a Guardian Best Graphic Novel of 2015); UK Comics Laureate Hannah Berry; stand-up comedian and author Jen BristerDr Nicola Streeten, director of LDComics, writer, artist and teacher; and acclaimed actress Paula Wilcox.

The nominations in the other two Comedy Women In PrInt Prize awards categories are:

The Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 longlist for Published Comic Novels is:

  • Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams(Hachette UK / Trapeze)
  • Big Girl, Small Town by Michelle Gallen (John Murray Publishers) 
  • Christmas Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (Transworld Publishers / Bantam Press) 
  • The Nursery by Asia Mackay (Bonnier Books UK/ Zaffre)
  • The Blessed Girl by Angela Makholwa (Bloomsbury Publishing)     
  • The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary (Quercus)     
  • So Lucky by Dawn O’Porter (HarperCollins UK)        
  • Reasons to be Cheerful by Nina Stibbe(Penguin Random House
  • Are We Nearly There Yet? by Lucy Vine(Orion)
  • In the Crypt with a Candlestick by Daisy Waugh(Little, Brown Book Group)
  • The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman(Headline Publishing Group)
  • Diary of a Confused Feminist by Kate Weston (Hachette Children’s Group)           
  • Frankissstein by Jeanette Winterson (Jonathan Cape)        
  • Miss Blaine’s Prefect and the Vampire Menace by Olga Wojtas (Saraband)

The Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 longlist for Unpublished Comic Novels is:

  • Nigel by Tierney Acott
  • The Bird in the River by Zahra Barri
  • Tinker, Tailor, Schoolmum, Spy by Faye Brann
  • Everything Is Under Control by Annette Gordon
  • Sandwich by Nancy Peach
  • The Lady’s Companion by Janey Preger
  • New Members Welcome by Sarah Scally
  • The Club for Mature Indulgence by Elaine Simmonds
  • Plan C by Lindsey Symonds
  • Kassie McKinnon Is Starving by Karen Vivers
  • You Can Drop Me Here by Julia Walter
  • Second Wife Syndrome by Kathleen Whyman

The international bestselling writer Marian Keyes is Chair of Judges for the CWIP Prize for Published Novels. Marian is joined by: BAFTA-winning writer and actress Joanna Scanlan (Getting On, The Thick of It); writers and actresses Emma Kennedy (The Kennedys) and Pauline McLynn (Father Ted); comedian and actress Lolly Adefope, recently seen on BBC Three’s Shrill; and Laura Steven, winner of CWIP’s inaugural published prize for The Exact Opposite of Okay.  

Thejudging panel for the CWIP Prize for Unpublished Novels is chaired by Fanny Blake, a former publisher and author of eight novels, who has judged numerous book prizes including the Costa First Novel Award. Fanny is joined by: Yomi Adegoke, award-winning journalist and co-author of bestseller Slay in Your LaneKate Bradley, Editorial Director at HarperFiction; stand-up comedian, writer, director and activist Grace Campbell;winner of the 2019 CWIP Unpublished novel category, Kirsty Eyre; and Dr Jennifer Young, Head of Writing and Journalism at Falmouth University.

The CWIP Prize was launched by actress, author and stand-up HELEN LEDERER in 2019 in response to the lack of exposure for female comedy writing, and as a way of celebrating fresh and established talent.