Tag Archives: sweeney boo

Going to the Chapel Heats up in October

Action Lab’s outrageous new crime comedy revs up in Going to the Chapel #2! As the police swarm the chapel, conflicted bride Emily must make a fateful choice — go through with her wedding, or team up with the Bad Elvis Gang to evade the bonds of holy matrimony. What could possibly go wrong? Unfortunately, playing both sides isn’t as easy as it looks… Fans of Sex Criminals, Hawkeye and Crowded should not miss Ringo Award-nominated writer David Pepose and superstar artist Gavin Guidry’s off-the-wall heist thriller, due in stores and digital October 2018, featuring a sensational main cover from Marvel Action: Captain Marvel artist Sweeney Boo!

Going to the Chapel #2 is colored by Elizabeth Kramer, lettered by Ariana Maher and features additional covers by Maan House and Gavin Guidry.

Going to the Chapel #2

From Puerto Rico Strong to Strange Encounters, a New Kickstarter

Strange Encounters

Strange Encounters is a 64-page comic book Anthology about magic, mystery and the Strange Encounters that happen when you meet beings of the supernatural kind.

The graphic novel is from the team that brought you the Eisner Award-Winning and Diamond Gem Award-nominated, Puerto Rico Strong Anthology, Marco Lopez, Derek Ruiz, and Neil Schwartz

The anthology is made up of original tales, and stories adapted from some of the most popular novels and novellas from some of the most talented female authors in the supernatural prose genre today.

The team is aiming to bring you the next must-have anthology and it’s coming from the brand-new boutique label, King Skull Comics.

Just look at some of the talent involved.

Brett Booth variant cover
Brett Booth variant cover

Brett Booth is illustrating a KICKSTARTER EXCLUSIVE variant cover.

Mentioned earlier were prose authors. We’re talking Rue Volley (Hellhound, 13 Ways to Midnight), Kim Alexander (Pure, The Demon Door Series), JD Brown (Athena’s Oracle, The Ema Marx Series), and Rachel Rawlings (The Maurin Kincaide Series, Rotten Luck). Excited yet?

Let’s talk about some of the other artist’s and creators involved. We got Jose Marono, Ally Cat (Spread, Spook House), Jess Taylor (Catalyst Prime Summit, Adventure Time), Puis Calzada (Hatchet: Vengeance, Zorro: Rise of the Old Gods), Jamie Jones (The Baboon, Kicking Ice), DC Hopkins (IDW, Lion Forge, DC, BOOM! Studios, Dynamite) and Bryan Arfel Magnaye (Titan Comics, Chido Comics).

And if that’s not enough here are some character sketches from two of the stories in the anthology.

Hellhound Character Designs by Jose Marono
The Institutes Character Designs by Puis Calzada

The Kickstarter campaign offers a softcover trade in print and a digital PDF. Prints of both covers to hang on your wall and the option to be drawn in the short story, I Hate the South (From the Case Files of Izzy Desoto) as a monster of your choice. And for the amazing retailers out there because they love retailers, they’re also offering a Strange Encounters Retailer Pack at a fantastic discount.

But wait there’s more!

There are STRETCH GOALS! If the goals are met everyone that pledges will get a bookmark, a Strange Encounters Pin, a King Skull Comics Pin, mini prints by the incredible Leila Leiz (Alters, Horde) and Ariela Kristantina (Mata Hari, Adora and the Distance), a BOOKPLATE by Sweeney Boo (Marvel Action Captain Marvel, Eat and Love Yourself) signed by the prose authors and last but not least a PREMIUM sketch card by Brett Booth of his variant Kickstarter Exclusive cover. It’ll feel like the 90s all over again when holding that card in your hand.

The Wedding Heist of the Century Heats Up in Going to the Chapel #2 in October

Action Lab: Danger Zone’s outrageous new crime comedy revs up in Going to the Chapel #2! As the police swarm the chapel, conflicted bride Emily must make a fateful choice — go through with her wedding, or team up with the Bad Elvis Gang to evade the bonds of holy matrimony. What could possibly go wrong? Unfortunately, playing both sides isn’t as easy as it looks…

Fans of Sex Criminals, Hawkeye and Crowded should not miss Ringo Award-nominated writer David Pepose, superstar artist Gavin Guidry, and colorist Liz Kramer’s off-the-wall heist thriller, due in stores and digital October 2018, featuring a sensational main cover from Marvel Action: Captain Marvel artist Sweeney Boo! Two additional covers are by Maan House and Gavin Guidry.

Going to the Chapel #2

Sweeney Boo and Lylian’s Eat and Love Yourself, Out in April 2020!

BOOM! Studios has announced a brand new original graphic novel, based on the successful Kickstarter campaign, from the creative duo of cartoonist Sweeney Boo and co-writer Lylian, Eat and Love Yourself, about a young woman who struggles with society’s image of her body and personhood then finds a magical item that takes her on an incredible journey of self-discovery and self-acceptance, available in stores April 2020.

Mindy is a young woman living with an eating disorder and trapped in a battle for her own self-worth. When she accidentally discovers something that will give her a chance to revisit her past—the relationships she’s lost, the mistakes she’s made, all of it— she thinks she has a chance to undo every wrong turn, to put her life back on track. But will she be able to find a way back to her present, and just as important, a way to treat herself with love and kindness, at any size?

Eat and Love Yourself

Captain Marvel Shows off some Marvel Action starting August with IDW Publishing

Marvel Action: Captain Marvel

IDW Publishing is taking to the skies and stars with their Marvel Action line of comics aimed at middle grade readers: Captain Marvel! From the stellar creative team of writer Sam Maggs, artist Sweeney Boo, and colorist Brittany Peer, the first thrilling chapter hits stores in August!

Carol Danvers’ quiet night with BFF Jessica Drew (Spider-Woman) takes a catastrophic turn when Manhattan’s bodegas are suddenly overrun by a host of angry felines! And not just any felines—Flerkens, the most terrifying, pocket-dimension-holding, tentacle-devouring kitty-look-alikes in the entire universe! Can Captain Marvel overcome the formidable foes before it’s too late?

Marvel Action: Captain Marvel will be available with a regular cover by Sweeney Boo, plus a special retailer incentive variant by Brianna Garcia.