Tag Archives: seven secrets

Nuclear Family banner ad

Get a First Look at Seven Secrets #3

BOOM! Studios has revealed a first look at Seven Secrets #3, the latest issue of the highly praised new original comic book series from New York Times bestselling author Tom Taylor, artist Daniele Di Nicuolo, colorist Walter Baiamonte, and letterer Ed Dukeshire, introducing readers to seven powerful secrets—words, wonders, weapons, and worse—with the power to change the world.

The only thing standing between Caspar and his dream of protecting one of the Secrets—and getting to know the mother who devoted her life to the Order—is the Trials. Caspar is pitted against the best and brightest of his generation, fighting for his life—but will it be worth the cost of winning? 

Seven Secrets #3 features main cover art by series artist Daniele di Nicuolo and variant cover art by acclaimed artists Miguel Mercado and Ben Oliver. It comes to shelves on October 14, 2020.

Seven Secrets #3

Preview: Seven Secrets #2

Seven Secrets #2

(W) Tom Taylor (A/CA) Daniele Di Nicuolo
In Shops: Sep 16, 2020
SRP: $3.99

After a deadly attack on the Order, their youngest member Caspar must step forward to keep the world safe from the Seven Secrets with the power to destroy it. But surviving The Trials doesn’t mean just becoming the next Holder of a great Secret – it also carries dangers that will change Caspar’s life in unimaginable ways…

Seven Secrets #2

Get a First Look at Seven Secrets #2

BOOM! Studios has revealed a first look at Seven Secrets #2, the latest issue of the highly praised new original comic book series from New York Times bestselling author Tom Taylor, artist Daniele Di Nicuolo, colorist Walter Baiamonte, and letterer Ed Dukeshire, introducing readers to seven powerful secrets—words, wonders, weapons, and worse—with the power to change the world.

After a deadly attack on the Order, their youngest member Caspar must step forward to keep the world safe from the Seven Secrets with the power to change it. But surviving The Trials doesn’t mean just becoming the next Holder of a great Secret—it also carries dangers that will change Caspar’s life in unimaginable ways…

Seven Secrets #2 features main cover art by series artist Daniele di Nicuolo and variant cover art by acclaimed artist Miguel Mercado, Dustin Nguyen, and more.  It comes to stores on September 16, 2020.

Seven Secrets #2

Seven Secrets #1 Heads Back for a Third Printing

BOOM! Studios has announced that Seven Secrets #1, the blockbuster new original comic book series from New York Times bestselling author Tom Taylor, acclaimed artist Daniele Di Nicuolo, colorist Walter Baiamonte, and letterer Ed Dukeshire has sold out of its second printing, just one day after the series debut.

BOOM! is rushing the Seven Secrets #1 Third Printing to comic shops on September 9, 2020 with a brand new cover by Di Nicuoulo. While all orders on the second printing will be filled, there may be allocations on Seven Secrets #1 Third Printing as a result of rushing these new copies to retailers and readers.

In the world of Seven Secrets, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm for centuries but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear—an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants.

Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything. 

Seven Secrets #1 Second Printing will be available on September 2, 2020.

Seven Secrets #1 Third Printing

Comics Deserve Better: Episode 4: Descender #1-7 by Jeff Lemire, Dustin Nguyen, and Steve Wands

In this episode of Comics Deserve Better, Brian, Darci, and Logan gush over the first arc of Jeff Lemire and Dustin Nguyen‘s 2015 space opera comic, Descender. Stay tuned for chatter about small robots, big robots, and great watercolor art. Other comics mentioned on the show, include Robert Kirkman and Chris Samnee‘s blockbuster Fire Power, self-published darlings Post and Stella vs. the Tinder Box, Tom Taylor and Daniele Di Nicuolo‘s Seven Secrets, Evan Dahm‘s Harrowing of Hell, and more. (Episode art by Dustin Nguyen)

Review: Seven Secrets #1

Seven Secrets #1

Seven Secrets #1 is a hell of a debut. The issue is full of action that clearly has a manga influence. It’s also a lot of fun and at the same time drops in tragedy. For centuries, the Order has trusted Holders and Keepers in protecting seven secrets with the power to change the world. Now, a new force has arisen to gain the secrets and has no issues killing whomever is needed to do so.

Writer Tom Taylor nails the first issue. The start is full of action and could easily have entertained with just that. But Taylor delivers more. Instead, he dives into the tragic backstory of the narrator leading to… something. It’s interesting in that what seems like a main character is only briefly seen as a child delivering a viewpoint about the situation and our two initial main characters instead. The issue is truly a set up of what’s to come, the 15 minutes before the credits roll for the film that’s about to be viewed.

Taylor also doesn’t dive too much into what’s at play. We know the secrets are powerful things. But what exactly? That remains unclear and in that way the issue builds mystery along with its world. It throws you into the action teasing what’s to come and never quite showing its hand.

Daniele Di Nicuolo‘s art is top-notch. There’s a manga influence to it in some of the action sequences and character designs. Along with Walter Baiamonte and Katia Ranalli‘s colors and Ed Dukeshire‘s lettering, the visuals pop from the page. The character designs are all interesting with a style that’s reminiscent of the fantasy series Skullkickers. That’s not a bad thing at all as I loved that comic in every way. The art team brings a kinetic visual energy about the comic. You can “hear” the action like a big screen explosion and visualize the over the top moments. It’s a big budget debut in comic form (at least the first 15 minutes of the film).

If you can’t tell, I loved Seven Secrets #1. Taylor and the team knock it out of the park with a story that’s full of action but doesn’t forget the heart. There’s some tragedy there that a parent and a child can relate to, even if just understanding the horror, which makes the comic so much more than cool stunts and cool fights. It’s a series that was already at the top of my list of ones I was excited to read and this start makes it one of my favorite debuts of the year.

Story: Tom Taylor Art: Daniele Di Nicuolo
Color: Walter Baiamonte, Katia Ranalli Letterer: Ed Dukeshire
Story: 10 Art: 10 Overall: 10 Recommendation: Buy


Purchase: comiXologyKindleZeus Comics

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Seven Secrets #1

Wednesdays (and now Tuesdays) are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in!

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this week.

Big Girls #1 (Image Comics) – When giant monsters attack, it’ll take 300-foot-tall women to take them on. There’s some potential in this comic but there’s a chance it can go into cringe territory too. We’re intrigued to see what writer/artist Jason Howard delivers with the first issue.

Billionaire Island #4 (AHOY Comics) – Not sure how this series will wrap up in just one issue but it’s been an entertaining skewering of the rich.

Cruel Summer (Image Comics) – This fantastic Criminal arc gets collected in a hardback edition with additional material. If you missed it in single issues, go get this collection. It’s crime/noir at its best.

Empyre #5 (Marvel) – Last issue had some surprises and this one delivers more as the battle looks desperate.

Join the Future #4 (AfterShock) – The series has a solid futuristic western vibe and the idea of giant corporations taking on those who want a simpler life feels like the exact type of story you’d expect in the genre.

Old Haunts #3 (AWA Studios) – This horror/mob story has been intriguing and we really want to see where it goes. There’s a lot of different directions and potential set up so far.

Seven Secrets #1 (BOOM! Studios) – A new series from Tom Taylor and Daniele Di Nicuolo and that by itself should be enough to sell it. But, the concept of the idea of a secret society protecting secrets has us intrigued as well as we want to find out what the secrets are!

Transformers: Galaxies #8 (IDW Publishing) – The second part of “Gauging the Truth” that dives more into one of the Transformers’ factions/religions.

Vlad Dracul #2 (Scout Comics) – Based on the real story of Vlad, we’re not sure what’s history and what’s fiction but it’s entertaining so far.

Around the Tubes

Empyre #4

It’s new DC Comics day! What has you all excited? What do you plan on getting? Sound off in the comments below! While you think about that, here’s some comic news and reviews from around the web.

A Year of Free Comics: A BOY AND HIS GHOST is a heartwarming tale of a little boy and his spooky best friend – Free comics!

Reviews

Laughing Place – Empyre #4
Blog Critics – Moms
Comic Attack – Seven Secrets #1
The Beat – The Blind Spot

Preview: Seven Secrets #1

Seven Secrets #1

(W) Tom Taylor (A/CA) Daniele Di Nicuolo
In Shops: Aug 12, 2020
SRP: $3.99

For fans of Once & Future and Undiscovered Country comes an all-new original series from #1 New York Times best-selling author Tom Taylor (DCeased) and artist Daniele di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) about seven powerful secrets-words, wonders, weapons, and worse-with the power to change the world..

For centuries, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm, but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear-an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants.

Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything.

Seven Secrets #1

Seven Secrets #1 Sells Out Before Release and Gets a New Printing

BOOM! Studios has announced that Seven Secrets #1, the premiere issue of the hotly anticipated new original comic book series from New York Times bestselling author Tom Taylor, acclaimed artist Daniele Di Nicuolo, colorist Walter Baiamonte, and letterer Ed Dukeshire has sold out at the distributor level a week before its release. In response to the overwhelming support from retailers and fans, BOOM! Studios has announced Seven Secrets #1 Second Printing, available on September 2, 2020 and featuring brand new cover art by superstar Dan Mora.

In the world of Seven Secrets, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm for centuries but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear—an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants.

Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything. 

Seven Secrets #1 will be available on August 12, 2020 exclusively at local comic book shops or at the BOOM! Studios webstore. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers like comiXology, iBooks, Google Play, and Madefire.

Seven Secrets #1 Second Printing
« Older Entries Recent Entries »