Tag Archives: archaia

Search for Hu banner ad

Get a Look at Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes Graphic Novel

BOOM! Studios has revealed a first look at A Spark Within the Forge: An Ember in the Ashes Graphic Novel, an official prequel to the New York Times bestselling series of novels from creator Sabaa Tahir, writer Nicole Andelfinger, artist Sonia Liao, colorist Kieran Quigley, and letterer Mike Fiorentino. A Spark Within the Forge will be the second graphic novel in a three volume prequel series that will explore the pasts of beloved An Ember in the Ashes series characters.

Before they were torn asunder, Laia lived happily and quietly with her Nan, Pop, and brother Darin within the Scholar district of Martial-ruled Serra. Although Laia is afraid to venture outside her home due to the heavy Martial presence, Darin loves to explore all parts of their home city… even those that are forbidden.

A chance encounter with famed swordsmith Spiro Teluman, who sees in Darin a talent for forging weapons, leads him down a path that pulls him away from his family but towards hope for his people. Meanwhile, Laia is forced to take her brother’s place accompanying Pop to combat a dangerous illness spreading quickly through Serra. When Laia discovers a surprising cure, will she brave exposure and the heavily-patrolled streets so she can save the city and someone she loves?

A Spark Within the Forge: An Ember in the Ashes Graphic Novel will be available at local comic shops on February 2, 2022 and bookstores everywhere on February 8, 2022.

A SPARK WITHIN THE FORGE: AN EMBER IN THE ASHES GRAPHIC NOVEL

Jeremy Bastian’s Cursed Pirate Girl Returns after Five Years!

BOOM! Studios has announced Cursed Pirate Girl: The Devil’s Cave, a special issue that marks creator and acclaimed illustrator Jeremy Bastian’s return to his beloved cult hit series in this self-contained issue that reveals the next chapter of Cursed Pirate Girl, available in January 2022.

In the long awaited continuation of Cursed Pirate Girl, her loyal companion Pepper Dice reveals that there’s still time to bring back her father, the Dread Pirate Captain Douglas! If she can escape the Sea King’s Palace with The Bright Star, will she be bold enough to enter The Devil’s Cave in the hope of bringing her father back? Or will the Devil Jonah and his minions stop her?

Cursed Pirate Girl, the beloved cult series, launched in 2012 with the story of young Apollonia, daughter of the governor of Port Elizabeth, who meets the enigmatic, no-nonsense Cursed Pirate Girl, a wandering adventurer on a quest to find her lost father, a dreaded pirate captain of the Omerta Seas. Since then, Cursed Pirate Girl’s wild and thrilling adventures have continued in the Cursed Pirate Girl graphic novel and special issue Cursed Pirate Girl 2015 Annual, garnering widespread acclaim for their intricately detailed illustrations evocative of Arthur Rackham and Gustave Dore’s fairy tale depictions.

No Love is Perfect in Jeremy Sorese’s The Short While

BOOM! Studios has revealed a new look at The Short While, a new original graphic novel from acclaimed comics creator and Lambda Literary Award nominee, Jeremy Sorese, that presents the tragic but redemptive love story of two men who meet, quickly fall in love, and then find themselves falling apart when an unexpected event changes both their lives forever, available on November 10, 2021.

After a party, two men accidentally swap their jackets and are thrust into a most opportune meeting. In each other they find what they’ve been missing all along – love. Companionship. Honesty. And the joy of being able to trust your heart to someone else.

But no love is perfect, and they also find everything they ever feared – loss of self. Loss of freedom. And the tragedy of losing your heart to someone who can’t keep it safe.

The Short While

The Future of Love in Jeremy Sorese’s The Short While

BOOM! Studios has revealed a new look at The Short While, a new original graphic novel from acclaimed comics creator and Lambda Literary Award nominee, Jeremy Sorese, that presents the tragic but redemptive love story of two men who meet, quickly fall in love, and then find themselves falling apart when an unexpected event changes both their lives forever, available on November 10, 2021.

After a party, two men accidentally swap their jackets and are thrust into a most opportune meeting. In each other they find what they’ve been missing all along – love. Companionship. Honesty. And the joy of being able to trust your heart to someone else.

But no love is perfect, and they also find everything they ever feared – loss of self. Loss of freedom. And the tragedy of losing your heart to someone who can’t keep it safe.

The Short While

Graphic Policy’s Top Comic Picks this Week!

Almost American #1

Wednesdays (and now Tuesdays) are new comic book day! Each week hundreds of comics are released, and that can be pretty daunting to go over and choose what to buy. That’s where we come in

Each week our contributors choose what they can’t wait to read this week or just sounds interesting. In other words, this is what we’re looking forward to and think you should be taking a look at!

Find out what folks think below, and what comics you should be looking out for this week.

Almost American #1 (AfterShock) – The true story about two Russian spies as they defect to the United States.

Batman: Fear State: Alpha #1 (DC Comics) – The next Batman event is coming and the Scarecrow is at the center of it. We’re excited to see where this storyline is going as its been building since the line picked up after Future State.

Dark Ages #1 (Marvel) – Marvel has been teasing this miniseries and we’re still not sure exactly what it is but we’re intrigued since we’re so in the dark.

Eighty Days (BOOM! Studios/Archaia) – A graphic novel about a pilot who wants to just fly with freedom. But, Jay meets Felix, a thief who draws him into the struggle against the looming aviation guild.

Telepaths #1 (AWA Studios) – J. Michael Straczynski and Steve Epting are enough to get us to want to check this out where an electromagnetic disturbance awakens telepathic powers in a tenth of the Earth’s population.

Transformers: King Grimlock #2 (IDW Publishing) – The first issue was an interesting one putting Grimlock on a different world where he’ll have to decide if he’ll be a hero or just his usual pain in the butt.

Undiscovered Country #15 (Image Comics) – The series has been a wild ride with every arc. You never know where it’s going or what the creators are going to come up with making this a comic series that keeps its readers on their toes.

Preview: Eighty Days

Eighty Days

(W) A.C. Esguerra (A/CA) A.C. Esguerra
In Shops: Sep 01, 2021
SRP: $29.99

CAN LOVE OUTFLY THE SHADOW OF WAR?

Jay wants nothing more than to fly the skies in perfect solitude and with perfect freedom.

Or so he thinks, until he crosses paths with a mysterious thief named Fix whose tricks and charms draw him into the struggle against the looming aviation guild to which Jay owes his very being.

As Jay becomes further entangled in the turbulence of Fix’s cause, each man must learn to navigate shifting allegiances, the fight for freedom, and the greatest adventure of all – love.

Award-winning cartoonist A.C. Esguerra presents an unforgettable debut graphic novel for fans of The Prince and The Dressmaker and The Sacrifice of Darkness, about finding the courage to fight for what you believe in.

Eighty Days

A New Look at America’s First Woman Detective in Better Angels

BOOM! Studios has revealed a new look at the brand new original graphic novel Better Angels: A Kate Warne Adventure, from Emmy and Eisner Award-winning writer Jeff Jensen and acclaimed artist George Schall, inspired by the true story of Kate Warne, America’s first woman detective, and her singular achievement—thwarting a plot by Confederate radicals to kill Abraham Lincoln.

In 1861, America is at a crossroads. Abraham Lincoln, the man tasked with healing the nation, and his family are the targets of a conspiracy to assassinate them. Their safety – and the future of the American experiment – hinges on the success of a new kind of lawman, known by a word still novel in the culture: detective. 

But there was only one detective whose extraordinary cleverness, versatility and mystery made them a singular individual who could save the Lincolns. Her name was Kate Warne. This is the true story of America’s first woman detective, who saved the life of her country’s greatest president and changed the course of history forever.

Better Angels: A Kate Warne Adventure will be available for sale on October 27, 2021 at local comic book shops and on November 2, 2021 in bookstores.

BETTER ANGELS: A KATE WARNE ADVENTURE

Navigate Shifting Allegiances in A.C. Esguerra’s Eighty Days

BOOM! Studios has revealed a new look at Eighty Days, a brand new original debut graphic novel from acclaimed independent comics creator and winner of the 2016 PRISM Comics Queer Press Grant, A.C. Esguerra, about fighting the impossible odds to find love under the shadow of war, available in September 2021.

Jay wants nothing more than to fly. Or so he thinks, until he crosses paths with a mysterious thief named Fix whose tricks and charms draw him into the struggle against the looming aviation guild to which Jay owes his very being. As Jay becomes further entangled in the turbulence of Fix’s cause, each man must learn to navigate shifting allegiances, the fight for freedom, and the greatest adventure of all — love.

Eighty Days will be available for sale on September 1, 2021 at local comic book shops and on September 7, 2021 at bookstores.

Eighty Days

A New Look at America’s First Woman Detective in Better Angels

BOOM! Studios has revealed a new look at the brand new original graphic novel Better Angels: A Kate Warne Adventure, from Emmy and Eisner Award-winning writer Jeff Jensen and acclaimed artist George Schall, inspired by the true story of Kate Warne, America’s first woman detective, and her singular achievement—thwarting a plot by Confederate radicals to kill Abraham Lincoln.

In 1861, America is at a crossroads. Abraham Lincoln, the man tasked with healing the nation, and his family are the targets of a conspiracy to assassinate them. Their safety – and the future of the American experiment – hinges on the success of a new kind of lawman, known by a word still novel in the culture: detective. 

But there was only one detective whose extraordinary cleverness, versatility and mystery made them a singular individual who could save the Lincolns. Her name was Kate Warne. This is the true story of America’s first woman detective, who saved the life of her country’s greatest president and changed the course of history forever.

Better Angels: A Kate Warne Adventure will be available for sale on October 27, 2021.

Better Angels: A Kate Warne Adventure

Love & Loneliness in Jeremy Sorese’s The Short While

BOOM! Studios has revealed a new look at The Short While, a new original graphic novel from acclaimed comics creator and Lambda Literary Award nominee, Jeremy Sorese, that presents the tragic but redemptive love story of two men who meet, quickly fall in love, and then find themselves falling apart when an unexpected event changes both their lives forever, available on November 10, 2021.

After a party, two men accidentally swap their jackets and are thrust into a most opportune meeting. In each other they find what they’ve been missing all along – love. Companionship. Honesty. And the joy of being able to trust your heart to someone else.

But no love is perfect, and they also find everything they ever feared – loss of self. Loss of freedom. And the tragedy of losing your heart to someone who can’t keep it safe.

The Short While
Almost American
« Older Entries