Rainbow Bridge banner ad

The Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics Goes Virtual on February 20th

Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics

The ceremony announcing the highly-anticipated winner of the 2020 Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics will take place online in a prerecorded event this Saturday, February 20, on what would have been Mr. McDuffie’s 59th birthday. The ceremony will be streamed starting at 9pmEST/6pmPST on the DMAD’s official facebook page.

Fan-favorite actor, Phil LaMarr, who worked extensively with Mr. McDuffie as the voice of Virgil/Static on Static Shock and of John Stewart/Green Lantern on Justice League, returns as Master of Ceremonies, this time online.

This prestigious award has grown exponentially in recognition and esteem since it was established in 2014 in honor of Dwayne McDuffie (1962-2011), the legendary African-American comic book writer/editor and writer/producer of Static Shock, Justice League, and Ben 10: Alien Force & Ultimate Alien, who famously co-founded Milestone Media, the most successful minority-owned comic book company in the history of the industry, which recently announced development of a Static feature film produced by Black Panther co-star, Michael B. Jordan.

The FINALISTS for the 2020 Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics are:

Iyanu: Child of Wonder
written by Roye Okupe
illustrated by Godwin Akpan

They Called Us Enemy
written by George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott
illustrated by Harmony Becker

written by Brandon Thomas
illustrated by Khary Randolph

Angola Janga: Kingdom of Runaway Slaves
written and illustrated by Marcelo D’Salete

From Truth With Truth
written and illustrated by Lawrence Lindell

Fish Kill side ad