Tag Archives: graphic novels

SDCC 2014: Magnetic Press to Publish Bengal’s Luminae

luminae_coverYou heard it hear first, Magnetic Press today announced they’ll be publishing Luminae, a critically acclaimed graphic novel by concept artist Bengal. The story takes place in an original fantasy universe. This announcement comes just before the publisher’s debut at San Diego Comic-Con where they’ll be located at booth #1620.

Luminae follows a sisterhood of six female warriors tasked with protecting the mysterious Luminae, a creature of Light in exile from the forces of Darkness that would decimate humanity. When Luminae disappears and Darkness threatens, this sisterhood must use their individual strengths, powers, and force of will to protect both humanity and Luminae from otherworldly creatures and impending doom.

Bengal is celebrated among the international comic book and illustration community for his expressive, dynamic style that blends European composition and texture with Asian flair and anime-inspired linework. His massive peer following led to the creation of CFSL (or “café salé”), an online community of painters and illustrators in France and Europe, much like Deviantart or CG Society here in the US. Most noted for his previous releases, Naja and Meka (with writer J.D. Morvan), Luminae marks his first original creation.

The 160-page, 8.5” x 11”, hardcover edition of Luminae will be released in October, and will be available wherever graphic novels and books are sold.

 

About these ads

Dave Dorman’s Wasted Lands Omnibus Trailer Debuts

Magnetic Press has launched a trailer for Dave Dorman‘s Wasted Lands Omnibus. The collection takes you on a high-speed, adrenaline-charged adventure to his world of post-industrial chaos, an unforgettable place and time where passion, greed, corruption and love color the everyday struggle to exist, where ordinary men, eccentric heroes and their horrific adversaries battle for power, and for the hearts and minds of mankind.

Written and illustrated by Eisner Award-winning artist Dave Dorman, this volume collects new, previously unreleased, and out-of-print conceptual works and short stories that define the shared universe of The Wasted Lands!

Includes contributions from International Horror Guild Award-winning writer Del Stone, Jr., and artwork by Christopher Moeller, Jon Foster, and Durwin Talon!

Copies of the book will be on sale at the Magnetic Press booth at San Diego Comic-Con, booth #1620. It will be on shelves everywhere in August.

Top Shelf Reveals the Cover of March: Book Two

Top Shelf has revealed the gorgeous cover design of March: Book Two, the much-anticipated second part of the March trilogy, the graphic biography of Congressman John Lewis. It’s scheduled for release in early 2015, so we’re still half a year away, and the book is already one of the most anticipated of 2015. The graphic novel is written by Congressman Lewis and Andrew Aydin with art by Nate Powell.

Book Two will be significantly longer than Book One, taking a step forward into the tumultuous events of 1961-1963 while continuing the framing narrative of President Barack Obama’s inauguration in 2009. Major plot lines include the famous journey of the Freedom Riders, imprisonment at Mississippi’s Parchman Penitentiary, and young John Lewis’ involvement in helping to plan and lead the legendary 1963 March on Washington. Last Monday, Congressman Lewis posted his mugshot from the imprisonment on Twitter, and it went viral being retweet over 47,000 times.

Powell’s powerful cover showcases the Freedom Riders’ bus set on fire by a white supremacist mob in Anniston, AL, May 14, 1961, and Lewis’ fiery speech at the March on Washington, August 28, 1963.

March Book Two Cover

The World Premiere Trailer for MEKA a New Graphic Novel Courtesy of Magnetic Press

Magnetic Press has released a brand new trailer for their upcoming hardcover graphic novel MEKA, written by J.D. Morvan and illustrated by Bengal. The sci-fi action novel tells the story of two soldiers who pilot giant humanoid war vehicles called “meka” in an interstellar war. When their vehicle is disabled in the opening sequence, they must rely on their wits and each other to survive in the ruined warzone they inadvertently created. The video captures the kinetic energy of the story as well as the massive scale of the theme.

meka

Archaia Launches Spera with Spera: Ascension of the Starless

Archaia has announced the October debut of the Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1 original graphic novel hardcover. Eisner Award-nominated writer Josh Tierney has once again assembled some of the most talented web and indie creators in the industry for this fresh new story in the world of Spera, including Giannis Milonogiannis, Atelier Sentô (which is comprised of the duo of Cécile Brun and Olivier Pichard), Mindy Lee, Sourya Sihachakr, and Valentin Seiche.

Spera is a stunningly illustrated mash-up of some of the best things in life: webcomics, young-adult fantasy, retro video games, pulp adventure comics, and fairy tales. Fans of Zelda, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Frozen, author Tamora Pierce, and LUMBERJANES will love this series! Following the three previously released volumes of Spera: Ascension of the Starless is the launch of a new, epic, multi-volume story that follows the adventures of two princesses as they once again join forces to combat a common threat. This is the perfect starting point for new readers to fall in love with Spera charcacters Pira, Lono, Chobo, and Yonder alongside loyal fans of the series.

In Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1, the Starless Queen is plotting an invasion of Spera, and has sent the merciless General Zeal to secure its capital. Unfortunately for the Queen, exiled adventurer Princess Pira—the Queen’s own daughter—and Pira’s best friend Princess Lono have discovered her plot…and will go to any lengths to stop her. Along with their friends—the fire spirit, Yonder, and the ruthless cat, Chobo—Pira and Lono set off on a perilous journey to warn the Speran King, up monster-infested mountains, through a village full of crazed warriors, and down dark tunnels walled with madness itself.

The Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1 original graphic novel hardcover (176 pages, 6” x 9”, full color, ISBN: 978-1-60886-414-0) arrives from Archaia in comic shops on October 1st and bookstores on October 7th with a cover price of $24.99 and features a cover illustrated by Afu Chan.

spera ascension of the starless

 

Around the Tubes

It’s a new week! What are you looking forward to in comics?

Around the Tubes

The Beat – Live from HeroesCon plus cosplay photos – Some nice cosplay.

The Verge – Nathan Fillion to make cameo in ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ – Do we need to know everything?

Kotaku – New Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Figures Revealed – Still undecided what I think.

Kotaku – These New, Simpler Transformers Are The Worst – Called it.

Kotaku – Here Are The Best Upcoming Transformers Toys – Want.

Christian News Wire – First Graphic Novel by Apologist Dr. Ravi Zacharias – Uh…

An Assassin Returns in Archaia’s The Killer Omnibus Vol. 2

Retirement never lasts for a hired gun. This July, Volumes 3 and 4 of the Eisner Award-nominated series The Killer are collected for the first time ever in the definitive The Killer Omnibus Vol. 2 by Archaia, an imprint of BOOM! Studios. Originally published as a five volume series in France from 1998 to 2003, Le Tueur quickly became known as one of Europe’s grittiest and most hard-boiled comics—a brutal, bloody, and stylish story of a professional assassin lost in a world without a moral compass. The creative team of artist Luc Jacamon and writer Matz continue their story of one assassin’s journey through a world of relentless violence. Though his brief retirement has not dulled his skills or resolve, new jobs will threaten his way of life and the very foundation of his morality.

The Killer Omnibus Vol. 2 softcover collection arrives from Archaia in comic shops on July 23rd with a cover price of $24.99 under Diamond Order Code MAR140977.

THE KILLER OMNIBUS VOL. 2 Cover by Luc Jacamon

Preview: Peanuts: The Beagle Has Landed, Charlie Brown!

Peanuts: The Beagle Has Landed, Charlie Brown!

Authors: Andy Beall, Bob Scott, and Vicki Scott
Artist: Vicki Scott

Charlie Brown and the gang have got space on the brain and Snoopy leads the way as the World Famous Astronaut! While the kids play space, Snoopy has got troubles of his own with The Cat Next Door, who has taken Snoopy’s supper dish! Will our favorite beagle get his dish back in time for dinner or will he have to travel to the moon on an empty stomach? Fire the rockets and see what happens in this all-new original graphic novel featuring Charles M. Schulz’s PEANUTS!

PeanutsBeagleLanded_cover

Preview: Sarah Palin the Graphic Novel

Sarah Palin the Graphic Novel

Price: $3.99
Pages: 54
Writer: Dan Rafter & Neal Bailey
Artist: Nathan Carson & Ryan Howe

In the 2008 US Presidential election, Sarah Palin became a household name.  In this graphic illustrated biography Bluewater presents a critical examination of the life and times of Palin.  From her upbringing in Alaska to being an activist best selling author this graphic novel features her struggles as well as her achievements.   Combining for the first time the sold out comic series “Female Force” featuring Sarah Palin.

FFSarahPalinGN

« Older Entries