Tag Archives: graphic novels

Displacement: A Travel Memoir by Lucy Knisley

New York Times Best Selling cartoonist Lucy Knisley is back with her graphic memoir, Displacement, out in January from Fantagraphics. After reluctantly agreeing to go on a vacation cruise with her elderly grandparents, Lucy embarks on a what she thinks will be a voyage of hardship and tedium. Documenting the minutiae of what happens on the trip, Knisley is faced with mortality, her grandmother’s declining mental health, and the physical frailty that comes with aging.

Excerpting portions of her grandfather’s WWII diary, Knisley takes the reader along on a journey of personal discovery. Part travelogue, and part family history, Displacement recounts Knisley’s attempt to not only connect with her grandparents, but to understand herself a bit better in the process.

Displacement

About these ads

Around the Tubes

The weekend is almost here! Who’s going to go see the new Hunger Games film?

Around the Tubes

CBR – Bruckheimer to Helm TV Adaptation of Ellis’ “Global Frequency” – Oh look, another comic coming to tv!

Kotaku – Batman Has Some Stupid Weapons – Very cool figure.

Charlotte Observer – Graphic novel teaching history at Leflore schools – Great to see!

Bleeding Cool – Dynamite Buys The Atlas Comics Trademark From Jeffrey Stevens – Well that explains what happened to that company.

 

Around the Tubes Reviews

CBR – The Multiversity: Pax Americana #1

IGN – The Multiversity: Pax Americana #1

Comic Vine – Spider-Woman #1

Talking Comics – Spider-Woman #1

IGN – Teen Titans: Earth One HC

The Best of 2014 Has Begun!

the best comics of 2014I attempt to hold off as long as possible before starting to cover all of the “best of” lists for the year. They’re already trickling out from various sites, even with more than a month and 6 Wednesdays to go! We’ll have our list on January 1 out of respect for all of the creators out there.

But, in the mean time, we’ll be covering the horse race in a couple of ways.

  • First, we’re compiling a list of all of the “best of” lists out there. Here’s this year’s list which has already started. The rest of the sites are all the sites we found in 2013. If you don’t see a list on ours, please let us know and we’ll add it.
  • Second, we take all of those lists, and make on master list. We’ve already started it. We mark how many times a series was mentioned, if they were ranked, and then we sort it out to find the best reviewed comic and graphic novels of the year.

To make this all easier to find, we’ve built a handy page where you can find the two posts above and check back for regular updates. You can also find previous year’s coverage.

Any guesses as to who will top this year’s list?

Which are the Best Comics of 2014?

We’ve been keeping track of all of the “Best Of” lists for 2014, but overall, where do all of this years’ releases stand? Which comics stand out as the best of the best?

Below is all of those lists combined and sorted by the top books (how many times they’re mentioned) and then if there’s a tie, by rankings and alphabetically. There’s also a column with the “ranking” of the book if a list had such a thing.

This list combines regular series, limited series, trade paperpacks, and graphic novels, so it’s not a completely fair comparison, after all some people just reviewed one or the other, but it’s pretty clear which releases have stood out this year.

This will be updated as more lists are added to the tally.

The List of Best of 2014 Lists

awardEach year we gather the various “Best Of” lists focused on comic books and graphic novels. We’ll have ours on January 1, so as to give everything released in 2014 a chance to make our list.

Below is the list of sites (and lists) we found last year. We’ll be focusing on this list, but if there’s a list we missed, either comment below, or send us a message in our contact form.

Here’s this year’s edition:

  • Adventures in Poor Taste
  • Alternate Cover
  • Advocate
  • Amazon2014′s Best Books of the Year: Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Asbury Park Press
  • A.V. Club
  • Barnes & Nobles
  • The Beat
  • Big Shiny Robot
  • Bleeding Cool
  • Bloody Disgusting
  • Bookish
  • The Bookshelf
  • Broken Frontier
  • Buzzfeed
  • CBR
  • Cidando Pop
  • Comic Attack
  • Comic Bastards
  • Comic Book Lounge
  • Comic Book Movie
  • Comic Book Therapy
  • Comic Booked
  • Comicosity
  • Comics Alliance
  • ComiXology
  • Courier Journal
  • Crave Online
  • The Curiosity of Social Misfits
  • Decapitated Dan
  • Digital Spy
  • Examiner
  • Forbidden Planet
  • Four Colors & The Truth
  • Geek Sushi
  • Giant Fire Breathing Robot
  • Girls Gone Geek
  • Goodreads
  • Grand Folks Herald
  • Graphic Novel Reporter
  • Graphic Novel Resources
  • Heat Vision
  • The Horn Book
  • Huffington Post
  • IGN
  • Images and Nerds
  • Ines Estrada2014
  • iO9
  • Kirkus Reviews
  • Konyves
  • Library Journal
  • Multiversity Comics
  • Nerdist
  • Nerdy Book Club
  • Newsarama
  • NewsOK
  • NPR
  • Panel Patter
  • Paste Magazine
  • Publisher’s Weekly – Best Books 2014
  • Rob Kirby Comics
  • Salon
  • School Library Journal
  • Slate
  • So Magazine
  • Spartantown
  • Standard-Examiner
  • Talking Comics
  • Time Magazine
  • Too Busy Thinking About Comics
  • The Transcript
  • Unwinnable
  • Uproxx
  • USA Today
  • Vice
  • The Village Voice
  • Washington City Paper
  • Washington Post – The top 10 graphic novels of 2014
  • Weekly Comic Book Review
  • Whatculture!
  • Wired
  • WXL
  • YALSA – Great Graphic Novels 2014
  • YALSA2014 Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens

We’ll be updating this with lists as we see them, but feel free to add lists in the comments or contact us!

Preview: Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1 HC

Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1 HC

Imprint: Archaia

Author: Josh Tierney
Artists: Giannis Milonogiannis, Atelier Sentô, Mindy Lee, Sourya Sihachakr, and Valentin Seiche

The Starless Queen is plotting an invasion of Spera, and has sent the merciless General Zeal to secure its capital. Unfortunately for the Queen, her daughter—the exiled adventurer Princess Pira—and Pira’s best friend Princess Lono have discovered her plot and will go to any lengths to stop her. Along with their friends—the fire spirit, Yonder, and the ruthless cat Chobo—Pira and Lono must set off on a perilous journey to warn the Speran King, up monster-infested mountains, through villages full of crazed warriors, and down dark tunnels walled with madness itself.

Spera is a stunningly illustrated mash-up of all the best things in life: webcomics, young-adult fantasy, retro video games, pulp adventure comics, and fairy tales. Fans of Zelda, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Frozen, author Tamora Pierce, and Lumberjanes will love this series!

Spera_AOTS_cover

Preview: Royal Blood

ROYAL BLOOD

STORY BY: Alejandro Jodorowsky
ART BY: Dongzi Lui
PUBLISHER: Titan Comics
FORMAT: 112pp, FC, HC
ISBN: 9781782760979
PRICE: $16.99/$18.99 CAN/£13.99 UK
RELEASE DATE: Wednesday November 19, 2014

AN EPIC COURT REVENGE STORY OF DECEPTION AND DARKNESS BY LEGENDARY AND HIGHLY ACCLAIMED CREATOR ALEJANDRO JODOROWSKY!

Wounded, betrayed and left for dead, King Alvar returns to his kingdom to regain his stolen throne.

Hungry for revenge, Alvar finds himself in the middle of a bloody political game for power. To keep his throne he must crush his enemies who would destroy him with their machinations.

But his own horrific appetites may prove his undoing…

Royal_Blood_cover

Alejandro Jodorowsky’s Royal Blood – A Grand and Operatic Tragedy Of Betrayal, Lust And Warring Kingdoms!

ROYAL BLOOD

STORY BY: Alejandro Jodorowsky
ART BY: Dongzi Lui
PUBLISHER: Titan Comics
FORMAT: 112pp, FC, HC
ISBN: 9781782760979
PRICE: $16.99/$18.99 CAN/£13.99 UK
RELEASE DATE: Wednesday, November 19, 2014

An epic court revenge story of deception and darkness by legendary and highly acclaimed creator Alejandro Jodorowsky!

Wounded, betrayed and left for dead, King Alvar returns to his kingdom to regain his stolen throne.

Hungry for revenge, Alvar finds himself in the middle of a bloody political game for power. To keep his throne he must crush his enemies who would destroy him with their machinations.

But his own horrific appetites may prove his undoing…

Michael Jordan: Bull on Parade by Santiago

Michael Jordan Bull on ParadeEveryone knows the legend of Michael Jordan: The Chicago Bulls, Nike shoes, minor league baseball.

You’ve all heard the stories, and now, in Bull on ParadeWilfred Santiago shows you the man behind the legend. A follow up to 21: The Story of Roberto Clemente, award-winning cartoonist Santiago delivers the story of the greatest athlete of all time, as only he can.

With each painstakingly painted panel, Bull on Parade gives Jordan, and basketball, the graphic novel they truly deserve.

Kinetic and visceral, a biography of this magnitude has never been done. From his sometimes scandalous and tragic private life to Jordan’s intense battles with the “bad boy” Pistons, Clyde Drexler’s Trailblazers, and the unrelenting Utah Jazz of the late ’90s, Santiago is able to induce a sense of dynamism and awe as he takes on Jordan’s life on and off the court.

For all those who have strapped on a pair of Air Jordans, donned the number 23, or wished they could be “like Mike.”

Sit back, let your tongue hang out, and marvel at Wilfred Santiago’s mastery of the life and times of Michael Jordan in Bull on Parade.

Michael Jordan: Bull on Parade 
by: Wilfred Santiago
February 2015
$24.99 | 200 Pages | Full Color
ISBN: 978-1-60699-711-6

Preview: The Michael Moorcock Library Vol. 1: Elric of Menibone

THE MICHAEL MOORCOCK LIBRARY – VOLUME 1: ELRIC OF MELNIBONE

WRITER: Roy Thomas
ARTIST: P. Craig Russell, Michael T. Gilbert
FORMAT: 176pp – HC – FC
VOLUMES IN SERIES: 1 (of 15)
PUBLISHER: Titan Comics
PRICE: $22.99/$25.95 CAN /£18.99 UK
ISBN: 9781782762881
RELEASE DATE: February 18, 2015
DIAMOND ORDER CODE: NOV141648

ROY THOMAS (CONAN, THE AVENGERS) & P. CRAIG RUSSELL (THE GRAVEYARD BOOK) PRESENT ELRIC’S HARROWING ADVENTURES ACROSS THE DRAGON ISLE!

THE PERFECT INTRODUCTION TO THE WORLD OF ELRIC!

Collecting the first volume of the classic adaptation of Michael Moorcock’s bestselling fantasy saga, Elric of Melniboné marks the perfect introduction to the series’ iconic antihero, his fabled blade, Stormbringer, and his harrowing adventures across the Dragon Isle.

Adapted by former Marvel Comics editor, Roy Thomas, and beautifully rendered by longtime comics illustrator,Michael T. Gilbert, and the multiple Harvey and Eisner award-winning P. Craig Russell, this definitive collection marks an essential read for all fans of sword and sorcery and brings the Moorcock’s epic tales to life with luxuriant imagination.

The Michael Moorcock Library – Volume 1: Elric Of Melnibone hits comic stores February 18, 2015 and is available to order now from your local comic store using Diamond code NOV141648.

Cover - Volume 1 Elric Of Melnibone

« Older Entries