Tag Archives: graphic novel

Displacement: A Travel Memoir by Lucy Knisley

New York Times Best Selling cartoonist Lucy Knisley is back with her graphic memoir, Displacement, out in January from Fantagraphics. After reluctantly agreeing to go on a vacation cruise with her elderly grandparents, Lucy embarks on a what she thinks will be a voyage of hardship and tedium. Documenting the minutiae of what happens on the trip, Knisley is faced with mortality, her grandmother’s declining mental health, and the physical frailty that comes with aging.

Excerpting portions of her grandfather’s WWII diary, Knisley takes the reader along on a journey of personal discovery. Part travelogue, and part family history, Displacement recounts Knisley’s attempt to not only connect with her grandparents, but to understand herself a bit better in the process.

Displacement

About these ads

The Best of 2014 Has Begun!

the best comics of 2014I attempt to hold off as long as possible before starting to cover all of the “best of” lists for the year. They’re already trickling out from various sites, even with more than a month and 6 Wednesdays to go! We’ll have our list on January 1 out of respect for all of the creators out there.

But, in the mean time, we’ll be covering the horse race in a couple of ways.

  • First, we’re compiling a list of all of the “best of” lists out there. Here’s this year’s list which has already started. The rest of the sites are all the sites we found in 2013. If you don’t see a list on ours, please let us know and we’ll add it.
  • Second, we take all of those lists, and make on master list. We’ve already started it. We mark how many times a series was mentioned, if they were ranked, and then we sort it out to find the best reviewed comic and graphic novels of the year.

To make this all easier to find, we’ve built a handy page where you can find the two posts above and check back for regular updates. You can also find previous year’s coverage.

Any guesses as to who will top this year’s list?

Which are the Best Comics of 2014?

We’ve been keeping track of all of the “Best Of” lists for 2014, but overall, where do all of this years’ releases stand? Which comics stand out as the best of the best?

Below is all of those lists combined and sorted by the top books (how many times they’re mentioned) and then if there’s a tie, by rankings and alphabetically. There’s also a column with the “ranking” of the book if a list had such a thing.

This list combines regular series, limited series, trade paperpacks, and graphic novels, so it’s not a completely fair comparison, after all some people just reviewed one or the other, but it’s pretty clear which releases have stood out this year.

This will be updated as more lists are added to the tally.

The List of Best of 2014 Lists

awardEach year we gather the various “Best Of” lists focused on comic books and graphic novels. We’ll have ours on January 1, so as to give everything released in 2014 a chance to make our list.

Below is the list of sites (and lists) we found last year. We’ll be focusing on this list, but if there’s a list we missed, either comment below, or send us a message in our contact form.

Here’s this year’s edition:

  • Adventures in Poor Taste
  • Alternate Cover
  • Advocate
  • Amazon2014′s Best Books of the Year: Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Asbury Park Press
  • A.V. Club
  • Barnes & Nobles
  • The Beat
  • Big Shiny Robot
  • Bleeding Cool
  • Bloody Disgusting
  • Bookish
  • The Bookshelf
  • Broken Frontier
  • Buzzfeed
  • CBR
  • Cidando Pop
  • Comic Attack
  • Comic Bastards
  • Comic Book Lounge
  • Comic Book Movie
  • Comic Book Therapy
  • Comic Booked
  • Comicosity
  • Comics Alliance
  • ComiXology
  • Courier Journal
  • Crave Online
  • The Curiosity of Social Misfits
  • Decapitated Dan
  • Digital Spy
  • Examiner
  • Forbidden Planet
  • Four Colors & The Truth
  • Geek Sushi
  • Giant Fire Breathing Robot
  • Girls Gone Geek
  • Goodreads
  • Grand Folks Herald
  • Graphic Novel Reporter
  • Graphic Novel Resources
  • Heat Vision
  • The Horn Book
  • Huffington Post
  • IGN
  • Images and Nerds
  • Ines Estrada2014
  • iO9
  • Kirkus Reviews
  • Konyves
  • Library Journal
  • Multiversity Comics
  • Nerdist
  • Nerdy Book Club
  • Newsarama
  • NewsOK
  • NPR
  • Panel Patter
  • Paste Magazine
  • Publisher’s Weekly – Best Books 2014
  • Rob Kirby Comics
  • Salon
  • School Library Journal
  • Slate
  • So Magazine
  • Spartantown
  • Standard-Examiner
  • Talking Comics
  • Time Magazine
  • Too Busy Thinking About Comics
  • The Transcript
  • Unwinnable
  • Uproxx
  • USA Today
  • Vice
  • The Village Voice
  • Washington City Paper
  • Washington Post – The top 10 graphic novels of 2014
  • Weekly Comic Book Review
  • Whatculture!
  • Wired
  • WXL
  • YALSA – Great Graphic Novels 2014
  • YALSA2014 Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens

We’ll be updating this with lists as we see them, but feel free to add lists in the comments or contact us!

Preview: Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1 HC

Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1 HC

Imprint: Archaia

Author: Josh Tierney
Artists: Giannis Milonogiannis, Atelier Sentô, Mindy Lee, Sourya Sihachakr, and Valentin Seiche

The Starless Queen is plotting an invasion of Spera, and has sent the merciless General Zeal to secure its capital. Unfortunately for the Queen, her daughter—the exiled adventurer Princess Pira—and Pira’s best friend Princess Lono have discovered her plot and will go to any lengths to stop her. Along with their friends—the fire spirit, Yonder, and the ruthless cat Chobo—Pira and Lono must set off on a perilous journey to warn the Speran King, up monster-infested mountains, through villages full of crazed warriors, and down dark tunnels walled with madness itself.

Spera is a stunningly illustrated mash-up of all the best things in life: webcomics, young-adult fantasy, retro video games, pulp adventure comics, and fairy tales. Fans of Zelda, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Frozen, author Tamora Pierce, and Lumberjanes will love this series!

Spera_AOTS_cover

Preview: Royal Blood

ROYAL BLOOD

STORY BY: Alejandro Jodorowsky
ART BY: Dongzi Lui
PUBLISHER: Titan Comics
FORMAT: 112pp, FC, HC
ISBN: 9781782760979
PRICE: $16.99/$18.99 CAN/£13.99 UK
RELEASE DATE: Wednesday November 19, 2014

AN EPIC COURT REVENGE STORY OF DECEPTION AND DARKNESS BY LEGENDARY AND HIGHLY ACCLAIMED CREATOR ALEJANDRO JODOROWSKY!

Wounded, betrayed and left for dead, King Alvar returns to his kingdom to regain his stolen throne.

Hungry for revenge, Alvar finds himself in the middle of a bloody political game for power. To keep his throne he must crush his enemies who would destroy him with their machinations.

But his own horrific appetites may prove his undoing…

Royal_Blood_cover

Alejandro Jodorowsky’s Royal Blood – A Grand and Operatic Tragedy Of Betrayal, Lust And Warring Kingdoms!

ROYAL BLOOD

STORY BY: Alejandro Jodorowsky
ART BY: Dongzi Lui
PUBLISHER: Titan Comics
FORMAT: 112pp, FC, HC
ISBN: 9781782760979
PRICE: $16.99/$18.99 CAN/£13.99 UK
RELEASE DATE: Wednesday, November 19, 2014

An epic court revenge story of deception and darkness by legendary and highly acclaimed creator Alejandro Jodorowsky!

Wounded, betrayed and left for dead, King Alvar returns to his kingdom to regain his stolen throne.

Hungry for revenge, Alvar finds himself in the middle of a bloody political game for power. To keep his throne he must crush his enemies who would destroy him with their machinations.

But his own horrific appetites may prove his undoing…

Preview: Mouse Guard: Baldwin the Brave and Other Tales HC

Mouse Guard: Baldwin the Brave and Other Tales HC

Imprint: Archaia

Writer: David Petersen
Artist: David Petersen

Whether you’re of claw, wing or scale, fairy tales and fables never cease to warm our hearts and fill our imaginations. Every year, we look forward to Archaia’s Free Comic Book Day Mouse Guard short story by Eisner Award-winning creator David Petersen. Now, four of the stunningly illustrated fables are collected for the first time, alongside two brand-new Mouse Guard tales in a beautiful hardcover.

If you like fantasy stories that not only feature action and adventure, but also a lot of heart, you’ll instantly love Mouse Guard. Fans of J.K. Rowling’s The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Stuff of Legends or classics like Wind in the Willows will love this collection of tales meant to be read again and again.

Every hero was once a child, listening to stories of the heroes who came before them. It is the same with the Mouse Guard. Six mouse fables are spun to a few familiar youngfurs, reminding us all to be brave, stay true to ourselves, and follow our hearts. Brand-new stories include “Service to Seyan,” set in the land where Mouse warriors travel after death, and “Oh Day Away,” a tale of the insect faeries of the Mouse world!

Mouse_Guard_Baldwin_Brave_coverA

Check out the Cover to Avengers: Rage of Ultron

This Spring, from the star-studded creative team of Rick Remender, Jerome Opeña and Dean White comes an original graphic novel that will take Earth’s Mightiest Heroes to the brink and beyond. Marvel has released the very first look at the cover to Avengers: Rage of Ultron OGN!

Gorgeously rendered by Opeña & White, this full length original graphic novel marks another stellar offering from Marvel’s all new OGN line, featuring the world’s most popular super heroes brought to life by the best creators in a high-end, oversized format.

Speaking to Marvel.com, Remender said:

This cover holds a ton of secrets. There are Avengers from two different eras, and the story takes place in both of those eras. This is some of Jerome and Dean’s best work and the story promises to be nothing short of Earth shattering for the Avengers.

Time and again, Ultron has reformed. Each time more powerful and more deadly than the last. Now, with complete control over the central computer core of Saturn’s moon Titan, only the Avengers stand in the way of total annihilation at the hands of Planet Ultron! Home of the Eternals and birthplace of Thanos, Saturn’s moon Titan now bends to Ultron’s will. Only Ultron’s inventor, Hank Pym holds the key to defeating his own creation – but at what cost?

Be there for the rise of Planet Ultron this April for Avengers: Rage of Ultron OGN!

AVENGERS: RAGE OF ULTRON OGN
Written by RICK REMENDER
Art & Cover by JEROME OPEÑA & DEAN WHITE
On Sale April 2015!

Avengers_Rage_of_Ultron_OGN_Cover

Blackjack returns after almost 20 years from Dover Publications!

Dover Publications has announced the next book they’re going to be reprinting. Blackjack: Second Bite of the Cobra originally came out almost 20 years ago, and was a mini-series which was never collected. Blackjack was created and written by Alex Simmons, with artwork by Joe Bennett. It’ll be released in 2015.

Second Bite of the Cobra, the first story in the decades long Blackjack saga, is a tale of blood and vengeance, which stars Arron Day, alias Blackjack, an African-American soldier of fortune seeking revenge on a charismatic Bedouin warlord known as The Cobra. This current collection will feature a new foreword by Joe Illidge, a new afterword by Tom Sniegoski, and a new cover by Scott Hanna!

blackjackcover

« Older Entries