Tag Archives: dynamite entertainment

David F. Walker Returns to Shaft

ShaftsRevengeDynamite Entertainment has announced that critically acclaimed author David F. Walker will continue the legacy of Ernest Tidyman’s iconic private detective John Shaft in an all-new comic book series, Shaft: Imitation of Life, illustrated by Dietrich Smith. The first issue will debut in February 2016 alongside Shaft’s Revenge, the first Shaft prose novel in 40 years (also written by Walker), coinciding with the nationwide celebration of Black History Month.

Imitation of Life takes place following the events of Walker’s 2015 comic book miniseries, Shaft: A Complicated Man – a six-part storyline that won a 2015 Glyph Comics Award and was nominated for the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity. After a high-profile case puts him in the headlines, private detective John Shaft searches for something low-profile to keep him out of the spotlight and out of danger… and takes a missing person case that proves to be more difficult than he thought. At the same time, he is hired to be a consultant on a low budget film that may or may not be based on his life, and proves to be as dangerous as any job he’s ever had. But when there’s danger about, John Shaft won’t cop out – even if it means squaring off against sadistic gangsters that want him dead.

The premise of Shaft’s Revenge: When the Godfather of crime in Harlem reaches out to Shaft for a favor, the hardboiled detective finds himself caught in a web of violence and murder. No one is safe as the bullets start to fly and the bodies start to drop, leaving Shaft with only two options: kill or be killed. It’s a two-fisted tale of retribution as Shaft cuts a bloody path through city, settling old scores and faces the demons of his past.

Shaft - Imitation of Life - Character Model


Preview: Aliens/Vampirella #2

Aliens / Vampirella #2

writer: Corinna Bechko
artist: Javier García-Miranda
cover: Gabriel Hardman
incentive cover: Gabriel Hardman (B/W cover)
FC • 32 pages • $3.99

With the Xenomorphs awakened – the Martian base is in mortal danger. But can Vampirella win the trust of her human companions in time to launch a counter attack?


NYCC 2015: Grumpy Cat Heads to the Con and Announces New Comic Series

Dynamite has announced that the one and only Grumpy Cat, “The World’s Grumpiest Cat”, will be a making a special appearance at this year’s New York Comic Con. Catch Grumpy on Thursday, October 8th, from 1:30pm to 3:00pm at Dynamite Booth #2129. This will be Grumpy Cat’s first-ever appearance at a comic book convention. Photo ops will be available on-site; details on arrangements will be outlined at the booth.

The appearance is timed to help commemorate the release of Grumpy’s first-ever comic book, The Misadventures of Grumpy Cat and Pokey #1, which will be hitting comics retailers worldwide, as well as leading digital distributors, on Wednesday, October 7th. Issue #1 features Grumpy and her brother, Pokey, in the first of her all-new misadventures in a three-issue miniseries shipping monthly October through December.

Dynamite has also announced plans for a follow-up to the hit three-issue miniseries. The new Grumpy Cat comic book series will launch in February 2016. Look for details in Diamond Comics’ December 2015 Previews catalog, advertising products slated for February 2016 release.

Grumpy Cat #1 Cover L - Ken Haeser - NYCC Exclusive

Preview: A Train Called Love #1

A Train Called Love #1

writer: Garth Ennis
artist: Mark Dos Santos
covers: Russ Braun
incentive cover: Russ Braun (B/W cover)
FC • 32 pages • $3.99

Valerie’s getting dirty phone calls, but when she goes to take revenge she meets Myles, the man of her dreams. But Myles is up against Emil and Gustav, mentally unstable guns for hire. And Valerie’s sister Penny’s friend Marcy just wants to play her own songs, but no one in the bar tonight cares- least of all Penny’s loser boyfriend Marv and his buddies Chip and Jev, who want their homeboy Mike to play the race card in a dubious scheme to get rich. But Mike has just fallen foul of a certain organization with a lot of Ks in its name. And then there’s Mister Fluffy.


Preview: Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files: Down Town HC

Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files: Down Town HC

writer: Jim Butcher, Mark Powers
artist: Carlos Gomez
cover: Stjepan Sejic
FC • 144 pages • $24.99

Chicago wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden and his new apprentice, Molly Carpenter, intend to end the havoc caused by a mad sorcerer — one whose ambitions would have the Windy City streets carved out as his own private kingdom. But when the magical upstart enters into an alliance with the notorious mob boss “Gentleman Johnnie” Marcone, will the fast-and-loose Dresden and his young charge survive unscathed?

This graphic novel collects the critically acclaimed, six-issue series in one volume, and features a bonus section with Jim Butcher’s original story outline, sketchbook artwork from Carlos Gomez, cover gallery with roughs from Stjepan Sejic, and more!


Preview: Vampirella Annual 2015

Vampirella Annual 2015

writer: Nancy A. Collins
artist: Aneke
cover: Jay Anacleto
FC • 48pages • $5.99

No longer the Queen of the Nosferatu, Vampirella is free to begin a new chapter in her life—as a field agent for The Kabal, a covert supernatural organization comprised of monsters that polices their own kind in order to maintain balance between humanity and the world of the occult. Her first mission is to rescue a fellow Kabal agent kidnapped by a group of mad scientists calling themselves the Prometheus Society, who demand the release of their fellow member, Dr. Faustus. But first she must coerce a former field agent, Lazarus the Walking Dead Man, into returning to the Kabal before going toe-to-toe with the likes of Dr. Moreau, Dr. Caligari, Dr. John Dee, and a certain Dr. Frankenstein. Let the Monster Rally begin!


Preview: Swords of Sorrow: Red Sonja / Jungle Girl #3

Swords of Sorrow: Red Sonja/Jungle Girl #3

writer: Marguerite Bennett
artist: Mirka Andolfo
cover: Jay Anacleto
incentive cover: Jay Anacleto (B/W art)
FC • 32 pages • $3.99

As the ice storm howls and unleashes a crescendo of destruction, Sonja and Jana howl right back. They have better lung stamina. Just you watch. Mistress Hel plays her final endgame, unleashing powers beyond all control for the fate of the island and all its people! Sonja and Jana aren’t going to take that lying down, are they?


Preview: King: Prince Valiant #4

King: Prince Valiant #4

Nate Cosby (w)
Ron Salas (a)
Jonathan Lau (c)
Fans & retailers, order the cover of your choice!
FC • 32 pages • $3.99
Jonathan Lau B/W Artretailer incentive cover
Stephen Downey Exclusive Art retailer incentive cover
Stephen Downey B/W Art retailer incentive cover

The entire universe is in peril. Trillions of lives at stake. There’s an omniscient and omnipotent darkness coming. It has never lost a battle. But don’t worry…Prince Valiant has a sword…


Doc Savage Returns this December in… The Spider’s Web

Dynamite Entertainment has announced the return of the legendary action hero, Doc Savage, in an all-new storyline, debuting in December with Doc Savage: The Spider’s Web #1. Chris Roberson, who previously scribed Dynamite’s Doc Savage: Man of Bronze series, returns for the hero’s brand new adventure, joined by interior artist Cezar Razek.

In Doc Savage: The Spider’s Web, the intrepid explorer and scientist (alongside his trusted team) responds to a devastating earthquake in South America, only to discover that the disaster was no accident… and it seems to be linked to a menace that Doc faced many years before! As his investigation begins, Doc finds that a number of closed cases that he had considered to be isolated threats were in fact part of a larger web that he never suspected before now.

Readers were first introduced to the pulp action of Doc Savage in 1933, courtesy of Doc Savage Magazine by Street and Smith Publications. His adventures have appeared regularly in a variety of media (including novels, comic books, radio serials, and film) over the eighty years since the character’s inception. Raised from the cradle to be the pinnacle of mental and physical perfection, Clark Savage Jr. travels the world using science and sinews to right wrongs, aid the oppressed, and liberate the innocent. With his team of able associates at their headquarters high atop the tallest building in the world, he is tireless in his pursuit of knowledge and justice.

Dynamite will celebrate the debut of Doc Savage: The Spider’s Web with several cover options, allowing retailers and comic fans to satisfy their particular pulp action tastes. Wilfredo Torres provides Cover A for the first issue, while Marc Laming provides Cover B. A “Blank Authentix” edition will also be made available, featuring a blank cover perfect for aspiring artists, convention guests, etc. Finally, Dynamite will create rare incentive variants and high-end collectible editions available through qualifying retailers: Black-and-White and Virgin Art editions by Wilfredo Torres, and a Black-and-White edition by Marc Laming.

Doc Savage: The Spider’s Web #1 comes to shelves in December.

Ande Parks and Esteve Polls Give us the Seduction of the Innocent

Dynamite Entertainment has announced that Ande Parks and Esteve Polls, the acclaimed creative team of The Death of Zorro and The Lone Ranger, will reunite for an all-new comic book series, Seduction of the Innocent. Gritty and sometimes depraved crime fiction in the tradition of James Elroy and EC-era crime and horror comics, the series will debut in December 2015 with cover artwork by Eisner Award-winning artist Francesco Francavilla.

Set in the San Francisco of 1953, Seduction of the Innocent introduces Thomas Jennings, an FBI agent who has just arrived in the city, fresh-faced and ready to tackle crime in the big city… or so he thinks. In fact, Jennings is not nearly prepared for what he’s about to encounter. The city’s crime lords are being systematically murdered, and the killers waiting to fill the void are the pure stuff of Jennings’ nightmares. Jennings will be forced to question every belief he holds dear to protect his wife and unborn child from the madness.

Seduction of the Innocent #1 will be solicited for release in December in Diamond Comic Distributors’ October Previews catalog.


« Older Entries